We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Trinity City Hotel to your Saves list
Trinity City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night....room was spacious and very clean....had bar food which was good and breakfast was buffet style with good offerings....the decor of the hotel is really nice, unique and well maintained....all the staff were friendly and helpful...would recommend and I will stay here again..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    858
    270
    85
    33
See reviews for
283
908
89
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Very central to everything, temple bar, grafton st and merion sq .

Really pleased with this hotel, it was really funky. Beats a std boring hotel, loved the touch of adventure with the design.

Staff helpful and polite, breakfast was delicious.

Also loved the Christmas trees.

It's great when you choose well, and I would recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week in December, and was extremely happy with the stay. First, the location is phenomenal - just across the street from the back of Trinity College and less than a 10 minute walk to Temple Bar, Grafton Street, Henry Street, Merrion Square, etc. For being in such a central location, I was happy to discover that the actual street it's on (Pearse) is actually very quiet and so you don't get the street or pedestrian noise at night that you would in other nearby locations. Literally 30 seconds around the corner is an Ulster Bank ATM, a SPAR (convenience store) with a deli and coffee shop inside.

Second, the hotel itself is super funky with a fun and unique lounge, cool bar, and large restaurant area. There is also a courtyard - obviously closed when I was there - that is inexplicably full of random animal and cacti statues. The hotel offers a variety of room types and is actually fairly large but feels like a small boutique hotel. The breakfast buffet is decent but not amazing, and costs 12 euro which is, like pretty much every hotel in Europe, ridiculous, but I've seen worse. There is free wifi in all the rooms and public areas, hairdryer and nice toiletries in the bathrooms, and a a fair selection of channels on flat screen televisions. The bathrooms are a good size for a European hotel as well, which was appreciated. I didn't have too much interaction with the staff, but what I did have was very pleasant.

The only (very minor) complaints I have are that the lighting in the rooms isn't so great, so if it's dark outside the only place you can properly see yourself is in the bathroom. Also, within the hotel there are four different "groups" of rooms - Trinity, Tara, Courtyard, and Georgian. The Trinity and Tara rooms are accessed by the elevator immediately next to reception. I stayed in room 406 my first night, when I was by myself, which is a single room. This room seemed fine, but when I moved to a double room, which I was sharing with a friend, we were in a Courtyard room which was MUCH nicer - cleaner, more modern, and better decor. The Courtyard rooms are accessed via a locked door past the lounge and then up a separate elevator bank. I never did figure out exactly where the Georgian rooms (suites) were, but the photos certainly looked nice.

In sum, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms seem a bit nicer than Trinity or Tara rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
I appreciate the thorough review of our hotel, and I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Just to clarify about our room types, the Tara rooms are our most recent addition to the hotel and this is the wing that also houses our Executive rooms. The Georgian Suites are in listed Gerogian buildings on Pearse st, accessed from the area between the bar and restaurant.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed at the Trinity Capital for my wifes birthday in October for one night. The location is fantastic, right beside Trinity, and easy walking distance to both Grafton Street and O'Connell street, which suited my wife for the shopping. The hotel is comfortable and warm, and the decor is good. For an hotel bar, there was a decent atopmshere. There is a bar just round the corner, Mulligans of Poolbeg street which serves the best pint of Guinness in Dublin by a mile. O'Neills, just up Pearse Street (not the hugh one in Suffolk Street) is a lively bar which serves a good pint as well.
The only negatives are that there was no bath in our room. In addition, I let them know in advance that it was my wifes birthday in the hope they would drop up a bottle of wine or something like that. They sent us up a card instead which was a bit scabby. Otherewise, they would have got 5 stars, especially for the prices which was about 70 Euro as far as I can remember. Thats a bargain for this location and hotel.

Room Tip: back of the hotel is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
Not all of our rooms have bathtubs, I would recommend requesting special features like baths in advance of arrival.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinlough, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just spent last night in the Trinity Capital Hotel, Wow, what a hotel, definately worth trying, decor so different, staff friendly, evening meal in restaurant great, breakfast that will keep you fed all day, near Grafton Street, can't wait to go back, just so nice to stay in a place that has character and that is a little bit different.

Room Tip: Rooms over the Fire Station are quiet, we were on a girly package so we were upgraded to and executi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel as I was going to an event in the O2. I'm delighted to say I've discovered a gem of a hotel in the Trinity Capital. Location of the hotel is excellent, just a 5-10 minute walk to Grafton street. The hotel provides secure car parking for €10 per 24 hours. If you wish to avail of this you need to call into reception first to pick up a permit.

I stayed here with a package that included free transfer to the O2 which is a great service and a nice touch.

The twin room was compact but very modern and clean with tea/ coffee making facilities etc. the decor of the hotel is very colourful and interesting. The whole premises is spotlessly clean.

All the staff we encountered were very friendly and courteous and must be commended.

Breakfast is a full Irish buffet with breads, cereals and fruits also. Although the food was tasty it was a little on the cold side. Aside from that I would recommend this hotel highly and intend to stay here again in the new year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We are happy to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel in the new year.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Had a great stay.... Comfortable bed, funky decor and nice bar. Cracking breakfast and friendly staff. Close to all the action..

Only issue stay away from the doubles on spirts and stay on the guiness at the bar.... Pricey

Less than 300m from the tour buses and templebar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trinity City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.