We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Trinity City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Trinity City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 177 hotels in Dublin
WI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Location to sites was great. Breakfast was very good- and included in otel price- a lot of variety & even allowed us to start brkfst. before posted hours. Even had ice at brfst. Staff was friendly $ allowed us to store luggage as we arrived early in the day. Free wifi. No a/c but it was not needed in late Sept. Common giant computer in lobby. Only real negative was fire brigade next door was noisy at times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    805
    790
    248
    78
    30
See reviews for
261
842
84
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just got back after staying at the Trinity Capital Hotel, and would definitely stay there again.
We arrived at the hotel at about 10am, and the staff were so helpful, letting us leave our bags at the hotel while our room was getting prepared. The reception staff told us about Dublin and everything we needed to know for our trip.
We went back later in that day and had a quick coffee in the hotel bar (which is very nice, but slightly overpriced) before going up to our room.
The room had everything we needed. It was spacious, very well presented and the bathroom was ideal. The decoration was quirky but that added to the good vibes that the hotel gives you. Had a really good nights sleep, the location is ideal as it is far enough away from the main strip, but only about a 5 minute walk.
Breakfast was very good, food was really nice and all the waiting staff were great.

All in all, the hotel was really good and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Dublin. It has everything you need, and more, from a hotel, and for the price, I doubt you can beat it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLLINGWOOD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

so much fun, centrally located, the staff in the bar were great, front of the house helpful, rooms were great and lobby was stunning. would def. stay there again....and central to everything.
We didn't eat at the hotel because their were so many options right around the hotel, but the dining was always packed. rooms were very clean, and the beds confortable. i did not hear the fire trucks at the station right next door. close to the temple bar and public transat. what a great
hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Usually when you arrive in a European city in the early morning you drop your luggage off at your hotel and then find yourself at loose ends until you claim your room later in the afternoon. But when my husband explained that I was at hospital being checked over after a medical scare on the flight, the staff immediately made available our room. The lobby was charming in an Alice in Wonderland way. The room was comfortably appointed with good lighting, one aspect hotels often fall down on. Some reviewers feel that the location by a fire station contributed to noise, but we didn't hear any street noise at all. And the location close by Trinity College made walking about the city easy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

We always try to have rooms ready for guests who arrive early, and I'm delighted to read that we were able to help you out with your early arrival.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I spent 4 days in dublin. I choose that hotel because it was quoted as 4 stars and close to the town centre. Location was good but the standard of the rooms did not correspond to the stars rated, no minibar in the room, toilet not properly flushing, the hotel surely needs renovation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm sorry to read that you did not feel the hotel is of a four star standard, we are very proud of achieving this accolade and feel that we offer the services and facilities connected with the four star standard.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It looks great - but who builds a Hotel over a Fire Station?? Our room would have been fine except it was stinky hot and airless. So we could choose to either suffocate - or be kept awake by the Fire guys playing volleyball, chatting and laughing all night. Not to mention the obvious siren/call/alarm noises.
If you are deaf and/or don't need to breathe then the Hotel is great. The location is great. Service is fine ...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm sorry to read that you found your room to be too hot, we have airconditioning in our executive rooms and suites, for the other rooms we do offer fans at reception on request.
The hotel is located next to a fire station, this does not bother most of our guests and I'm sorry to read that you felt it detracted from your stay with us.

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for three nights for the 2012 Dublin Marathon. The hotel was lovely and quirky. We loved the theme throughout the hotel and the rooms were a good size. The staff were great and very helpful. It was really relaxing in the bar area and the manager was great and really looked after you. The receptionists changed are room for a bath and not a shower, as we were doing the marathon. Would highly recommend this hotel to our friends and hopefully be back for 2014 marathon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, General Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your recent review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dublin and the Trinity Capital Hotel for the next Marathon or earlier!

Best Regards,
Denyse Campbell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trinity City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;