We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not business traveler friendly” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Trinity City Hotel to your Saves list
Trinity City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not business traveler friendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Staying at this hotel while on town for 1 night for work. Get in and the room isn't ready so I go and get breakfast. €12 for cold eggs and stale bread. After breakfast go back and still no room and the staff is incredibly unhelpful in letting me know when one will be available. I have a meeting and would like to shower, brush my teeth, and change after being on a plane for 8 hours. I have stayed at many hotels in Dublin and never had this problem before.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

Our check in time is 2pm and unfortuantely if the hotel has been full the night before we are not always able to accommodate guests who arrive in the morning. We do always try our best and on most occassions a room will be ready well before the check in time - it is however very difficult to tell in advance exactly when a room suitable for a specific reservation would be ready. It would only add to a guests dissappointment if we give a specific time and are unable to deliver on this promise.

I have sent your comment on the breakfast quality on to the Food and Beverage department - we do usually get very good feedback on the quality and value of our breakfast buffet.
Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    858
    270
    85
    33
See reviews for
283
908
89
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Booked 2 rooms for travel with friends. Stayed 3 nights-great facility and location, good breakfast and dinner. Very pleased. Returned to Dublin the next weekend for more nights at the end of our Ireland stay--armed with the confirmed reservation I made months earlier. Hotel now refused to honor reservation, claimed no rooms, computer went wacky and overbooked for the weekend (Dublin crowded for All-Ireland Gaelic football match at Croke Park). Sent us to the Abbey Park at no increased cost, offered to pay cabs. They apologized, we survived, but I still feel betrayed. We should have had a priority due to our early reservations, and they had my email and could have warned me of their "computer problem" rather than wait until I showed up with a carful of people and luggage. Very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your first stay with us, and I can only apologize again for the inconvenience caused on your return visit. It is not the hotels policy to overbook, however on occassion it does happen for different reasons. On the occassions when we have to move guests we try our best to contact guests in advance - unfortunately this can not always be done and I apologize for the added dissappointment caused with this lack of advance warning.

Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just spent a lovely weekend in Dublin staying at the Trinity Capital Hotel
Good points
Excellent location to explore the city
2 minute walk to the air coach bus stop
Amazing decor
Lovely Irish breakfast
Staff very helpful and polite

Bad points
The room was too hot
Asked for a fan that was sent to our room within 10 minutes, however even with the fan and the windows open the room was uncomfortably hot until around 3am then appeared to cool down this had a detrimental effect on our sleep

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, and we hope to be able to welcome you back again should you return to Dublin.
Unfortunately we do not have air-conditioning in all our rooms, however most of the year we don't get very hot weather - and it would not be an issue. We do have air-conditioning in our Executive Rooms and Suites.

Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights here at the start of our Ireland tour. It was in a great location. A couple of blocks walk to the front of Trinity College where you can catch the Hop On/Hop Off buses. Very close to Temple Bar and Grafton Street. We were upgraded to the Tara Rooms (very nice suites) by the helpful friendly staff and were impressed by the breakfast buffet. Full Irish breakfast plus lots of cereal, juices, toast, pastries, fruit. Quick service. Had drinks in the hotel pub one night and the friendly bartender was excellent at making our mixed drinks. Loved the decor. Had no trouble getting WIFI in our room. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to be able to welcome you back again should you return to Dublin.

Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This place is Awesome! From the decor to the comfort and convinient location! The beds were comfy the shower was hot and the breakfast (traditional Irish breakfast BUFFET) was good. I didn't interact too much with the staff so I can't comment there but I still can't get over how BEAUTIFUL the decor was. We are already planning to return to Dublin in a couple years and we will definitely stay here! All the good shopping and pubs were within walking distance...including the Guinness storehouse. Also, we were able to walk to the airbus shuttle from here. PERFECT!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to be able to welcome you back when you return to Dublin.

Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Va
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent two nights at the Trinity Capital Hotel. Great location, near Trinity College, Grafton Street shopping and temple Bar nightlife. We wnjoyed the interesting decor, sort of "Alice in Wonderland". The room was comfortable and well-equipped. Bathroom was large enough, but water pressure low. Wi-fi available in room, but slower than we are used to, spoiled as we are!
The staff was very pleasant and helpful, responded quickly to all requests and questions.
A nice stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to be able to welcome you back again should you return to Dublin.

Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The first thing you notice when you arrive is the wonderful location to so many sites in Dublin. The second was by far the decor of the hotel itself. Giant statues and seats, with purple and gold walls, and mirrors and art in the hallways. It was an experience all it's own. It was jaw droppingly gorgeous. The food in the restaurant was good too. The service itself was not bad, but nothing to write home about. The front desk was helpful, but the restaurant serving staff kept forgetting about us while we were eating. The room was nice and clean with modern amenities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for your review of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to be able to welcome you back again should you return to Dublin.

Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#32 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#35 Business Hotel in Dublin
#47 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trinity City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.