We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Trinity City Hotel to your Saves list
Trinity City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Monaghan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Stayed here on Friday night with a female friend as we were in Dublin for a show in the Olympia.Lovely hotel and full of character , must say the staff were so friendly and welcoming. Its in an ideal location close to Grafton Street and close to all the action in the city centre. Small car park available to residents around the corner at only €10 for 24 hours 14:00 hours on day of check in until 14:00 hours on day of departure, you pay at hotel and get a token to display on your window. Rooms are definitely compact but who goes to Dublin City to sit in thier room?? Beds very comfortable. We had a smoking room overlooking the courtyard and you could have been anywhere , very quiet with no noise at all.
It is a boutique hotel and very reasonably priced given the convenient location. Check out the hotel as they appear to have offers on for weekends, overnight breaks etc.Didn't have time to sample the bar menu but it looked reasonably priced and on passing through the food looked and smelled very good. The entrance and lounge area is very impressive and different from the normal hotel lobbies, would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard at back were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. Hopefully you'll get a chance to eat with us as well!

Best regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    903
    287
    88
    33
See reviews for
299
961
92
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I recently stayed at the Trinity Capital for 2 nights. Wonderful hotel, great location..5 minutes walk from Grafton St. Reception staff are so friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them, very helpful with any questions we had. Staff in the bar are a bit all over the place...but that was my only small complaint. Rooms very clean. I will definately be returning on my next visit to Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future. I have passed on your remark about the bar staff to the Food and Beverage Manager.

Best regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed in this hotel on Monday 5th March for myself and my boyfriends birthday, we stayed in an executive suite. The room was massive, big bed, leather sofa and massive bathroom with a jacuzzi bath!!!! central location and the hotel even left a birthday note with a box of jelly beans in the room, we will definitly be back to stay here

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Trinity Capital Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us (and the jelly beans) and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I booked a room with two twin beds for two adults. All I can says is, the room is so small, it didn't have a chest of drawers, or a closet. It had a 1 1/2 x 1 1/2 foot gap behind the headboard on both sides of the bed. On one side was a bar to hang about two jackets, because an ironing board took up the rest of the room. The other side had four "Open" cubby holes for your shirt and undercloths. This means your luggage is out in the open.

On a positive note. The room is clean. The staff is "great". Very pleasant, and courteous. The location is perfect. Out of the noise of Temple Bar. Only a 7 minute walk to Temple Bar, and only a five minute walk to Grofton Street for shopping and Trinity College.

If it was just me, I probably would have given them a five, because of the staff, and the room would have barely been OK. Two people we just kept bumping into each other.

Room Tip: Check out the size of the room you are booking. You will probably need to upgrade if there is more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.
We have a large variety of rooms, and some have more storage space than others. The room you were in has the storage behind the headboard as this leaves more space within the room than a wardrobe would allow.

I am happy to hear that you were happy with the other aspects of your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you again in the future - in a room that is more in line with your expectations. On a general note I would recommend that should you be unhappy with any part of your stay with us please contact our front desk staff who will do their best to sort out any issues and make your stay perfect.

Best regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

If you want a 4-star Dublin city centre hotel that is within walking distance of Trinity College (two minutes), Temple Bar (three) and the GPO in O’Connell Street (five) that costs just €99 a room (single, twin or double) then the Trinity Capital Hotel is one for you. I booked online using my daughter's Laser card (with her permission, of course!) and when I checked in they asked for a confirmation email from her, which was fine. All staff were friendly and efficient, including the night porter - the person I was sharing the twin room with was arriving at around 4.00am and doesn't speak good English, but instructions left to give him a key and direct him to the room were duly fulfilled.

The room, bathroom, TV etc were all fine and there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel. The buffet breakfast was also fine (but nothing exceptional) and cost another €6.00 per person. By the way, there is no car park, but you can stop outside to enter and check-in, get a 24-hour parking voucher for €10 and park it 200 metres around the corner.

The decor of the reception areas is a bit odd, but who cares - you won't be in them for long as the delights of Dublin city centre are just a few steps away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

A group of 5 of us, all adults, were going to Dublin for 1 night for a van Morrisson concert in the O2. I went online to find a cheap hotel but because Ireland v Wales rugby match was also on in Dublin this weekend I was finding it difficult. I came across the Trinity Capital Hotel and it seemed to be priced reasonably for a city center hotel - €105 for a double room and €105 for a triple room excluding breakfast.

In our heads we weren't expecting much but when we arrived and checked-in we were all impressed with how clean and modern the hotel was. the hotel is even stylish and quirky with extra-large arm chairs in reception, statues of wild animals throughout the foyer, and 2 pianos also in the foyer/ bar area.

The rooms were very clean and ample sized with adequate sized en-suite with perfect power in the water from the shower. The beds were comfortable and the room had the expected bits and pieces, extra pillows and blankets, wardrobes, writing desk, tea/coffee making facilities, tv, free in-room safe, hair dryer, towels and toiletries, etc. The hotel also offers free wifi.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. My room was on the 6th floor and when we arrived the radiator in the room was on and the room was very hot. I immediately turned off the radiator, as there was no air-con I opened the window a small bit, enough to cool the room down. My friends were in a room a couple of floors below and their room was also very hot, no air-con and it was not possible to open the windows. However, we mentioned it to the staff on reception as we went out to the concert and when we came back the room was a lot cooler.

Buffet breakfast was €10 per person and we found it to be great value. It included both continental and hot breakfast such as sausages, bacon, scrambled eggs, beans, toast breads, croissants, various cereals, various types of fruit and yougurt and juices along with tea and coffee.It was served until 11am rather than the standard 10am like other hotels which was great to allow for a lie-in.

The location of the hotel is fantastic for anyone looking to stay in the city center. It is on Pearse Street, around the side/back of Trinity College Dublin. Its about 2 minutes walk to O' Connell Street and the same to Grafton Street. This means the hotel is in a perfect place for shopping, nightlife and sightseeing, however Pearse Street is very quiet so there is no problem with getting a good nights sleep.

There is a lovely bar in the hotel but it is not a nightclub so there is no problem of noise in the night time.

Overall I would highly recommend the Trinity Capital Hotel. We are going to another concert in Dublin in the summer but unfortunately the price for a double room is €199 per night so is outside of my budget.

Room Tip: There is no air-con in the bedrooms so ask for a room with a window that opens, in case the room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.
I am very happy to hear that we managed to exceed your expectations somewhat and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our Executive rooms do have air conditioning, but most of our rooms would have windows that open to allow air into the room. We also have fans available at the desk on request.
I'm sorry to hear that you found us to be too highly priced for your next Dublin stay, I can only assume you are going to a concert in one of the large arenas in Dublin, and the hotel is already very busy.
We hope to be able to welcome you again on some other occassion.

Best Regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the hotel for a long weekend and we had a really lovely stay. The hotel's decor was very striking and full of character. It's great to stay in a city hotel that doesn't look like every other hotel chain and which shows real attention to detail. Our room was clean and well maintained.

As well as the style of the hotel, we were very impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the receptionists we spoke to over the weekend, including the communication we had with them by email before we even arrived.

The hotel is excellently situated, with Trinity College and Grafton Street less than five minutes walk away, and Temple Bar less than ten. The bar and restaurant are lovely, though as you might expect from a city centre hotel, a little on the expensive side. The buffet breakfast is worth getting though,

The only slight issues we had were that we had not been expecting our room to overlook Dublin fire station! It was actually quite a fun view, watching the fire engines etc. and we didn't have too much of a problem with it, but we thought the noise from there could be a problem for other guests more sensitive to noise. Perhaps the hotel website should make clear that there's a fire station under the hotel which might occasionally cause disturbance (unless it does and we just missed it!).

As we arrived after 2130 on Friday night we had been looking forward to ordering room service pizza, which we'd been told could be ordered 24/7. However, we were informed by the kitchen that on that particular evening it would not be possible to do so until after 2300. The situation was well dealt with, as the receptionist provided us with takeaway menus and was very helpful, but it was a shame we could not order from the hotel as planned.

Overall, we found this to be a great, excellent value hotel and would happily stay again should we return to Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAKH77, Manager at Trinity City Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Trinity Capital Hotel.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the future. I apologise for any inconvenience caused by the hotel not being able to provide a room service pizza on your arrival, I am happy that it all worked out in the end though!

Best regards,
Mari Hove
Online Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#39 Business Hotel in Dublin
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trinity City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.