We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trinity City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Trinity City Hotel to your Saves list
Trinity City Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hertfordshire, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Funky hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Stayed here overnight with my sister over from California, what a funky place!
The room was very good, nice decor, clean, lots of lights, nice bathroom, tea and coffee. Didn't eat there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    949
    921
    294
    89
    34
See reviews for
307
989
92
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Was offered to stay here with a friend. Very close to the city centre and main places to visit. The hotel lobby and the room were spotless and reception personnel were very welcoming and friendly. Much effort was done on decoration: it's certainly a question of taste but the mix of styles, although sometimes too kitsh, gave some character to the place. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very spacious. We loved the super high ceiling in the room. We also got a room on internal court so we had it very calm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Nebraska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We booked our accomodations through the recommendation of a travel agency, and we couldn't have been more pleased upon our arrival at Trinity Capital. We arrived in the morning, and they held our bags behind the desk securely so we could explore the city until our room was ready. The lobby, bar, and restaurant areas are impecably decorated with dark wood and deep blues and purples. Our room was perfect - they upgraded us to a room with a jet tub for no charge! The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was large, and we slept well both nights. We had their full Irish breakfast both mornings and were not disappointed and left with plenty of fuel in our bellies to tour the city. We would recommend this hotel to family and friends traveling to Dublin, and we would stay here again easily!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mocksville, n.c.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I stayed att his hotel as the photos presented a very pee Wee Herman meets Vincent Price decor.Had I heded the warnings I would have been better off. It was noisy, most of the night from the street. My room faced the street. I had the window open as it was unbearably hot.
I will say the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and the ambience kooky and cool.

Room Tip: Ask for off street room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This hotel was A-MAZING! From the funky decor, which we adored, to the friendly and helpful staff, to the awesome rooms and food, I can't say enough awesome things about this hotel. Walking distance to many cool places including downtown Dublin and the Temple Pub area. I would SO stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Had been to Dublin before and wanted to stay in city centre but found after looking at reviews, that a lot of hotels are noisy. The Trinity Capital is actually really central, under 5 mins walk from Grafton Street/Temple Bar area. One of our rooms overlooked the fire station at the rear of hotel and the other overlooked the main road but we didn't find noise a problem. I would say the only complaint we had at the back room was the water pressure and temperature control in shower was terrible. The bars and reception areas are spectacular with something different to look at all the time - very impressive. Bar prices were same as other bars we'd been in and food was good. We stayed bed & breakfast. Large choice at breakfast of cereals, fruit etc and also full irish breakfast which was self serve. We also ate dinner in hotel one night which was lovely. Recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

As I live in Dublin, I did not stay in this hotel but booked my friends and family in as I am a student in Trinity College... They loved their stay in the hotel, although not staying there I had the pleasure of being there quite a lot... The furniture is very intriguing and the interior of the hotel is interesting.. Rooms were nice, but we did find them a bit too hot with the worlds smallest window.. I ate there with my family on one of the set menus, the food was ok, nothing to write home about, average enough and would have had nicer elsewhere for the price... Would stay there again..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trinity City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity City Hotel

Address: Pearse Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly Trinity Capital Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
#43 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinity City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trinity City Hotel is a uniquely stylish boutique property located in the heart of Dublin City Centre, opposite Trinity College. Our 198 guestrooms offer everything that you would expect including super-fast, complimentary 200MB WiFi, luxurious cotton bed linens with fluffy duvets, en-suite bathrooms with luxurious toiletries, flat screen TV, electronic laptop safe Tea and Coffee making facilities, hairdryer and ironing facilities and a work desk We want our guests to feel at home throughout their stay at the Trinity City Hotel and our range of 4 star guest rooms are designed with guest comfort in mind. Guests can choose to upgrade to one of our beautifully appointed Executive Bedrooms and Suites or our Georgian Suites with the elegant proportions of Dublin's most famous architectural style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Trinity City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Capital Dublin
Trinity Capital Hotel Dublin
Hotel Trinity Capital

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trinity City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.