We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uppercross House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Uppercross House Hotel to your Saves list
Uppercross House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Clean & cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spent one week here on holidays with our 2 young children. The hotel is in a good location as it is fairly close to the city and the surrounding south Dublin suburbs. We alternated between the buses and driving (the hotel has parking) depending on where we were going. The room itself was quiet, clean and modern. The breakfast area felt very homely (our kids would sometimes go down in their jammys). We also sometimes ate dinner in the restaurant. The food was always very good. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    68
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
22
48
18
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent 3 nights here while exploring Dublin.It is set in the southern suburbs at Rathmines. We did not have a car but from the nearby bus stop there were frequent services to all parts of the city with a journey time to the city centre of about 10 minutes.
We had a room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel which was quiet , quite small but well appointed with bathroom with bath and shower.
The hotel bar restaurant serves good local fare, but there is a choice of restaurants and bars nearby.
If you don't want to be right in the centre this is an excellent choice..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello 1066,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Uppercross Hotel following your stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was our first stop overnight in Ireland. My son was getting married just around the corner. David, and Ann Marie were so helpful in both the booking overseas and being flexible when our plans were changed due to illness. We especially enjoyed a early morning chat with Donna. Thank you so much for all your help. Say hi to Donna from Jack and Emily!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Second time staying here and very pleased. We were kindly allowed to check in early. The room was clean and comfy. All staff encountered were lovely and friendly and happy to give advice re transport etc. Love the rambling set up of the hotel and bar. A bit old fashioned and quirky but this is what gives it its charm. Not flash by any means but good value for money overall. Would recommend to others as a decent budget hotel in a good location with good transport links and a friendly, homely atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights and weren't disappointed. A friendly hotel with excellent food and choice of drinks at Mother Reilleys attached to the hotel. Comfortable room, helpful staff and reasonable rates. Bus or taxi outside to get into town ( 40 min walk) Breakfast seven in the upstairs restaurant by helpful and efficient waitresses, nothing too much trouble. A very enjoyable stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is an odd place. Friendly greeting. Offer of smoking/non smoking room which is a bit 1980s. Asked for non smoking but the room stank of cigarette smoke from the hazy days of being able to chuff away inside. Unfortunate really. Room was clean-ish. Hole in the roof near the door and lino on the floor was a first. TV was dodgy signal in the hotel lobby. Breakfast looked good but didn't get it as it was expensive. Would I recommend it? No - based on old room that needs redecorated. Nice staff though

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blessington, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Clean, comfortable and friendly. Great bar. Close to city. Value for money. Dave and crew do a great job. Never fails to deliver. Very comfortable beds. Stayed there recently with some American visitors and they too were suitably impressed.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi MartyMcFly2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to facilitate all your needs.

We really appreciate any feedback from guests as it enables us to evaluate our services for your fellow travellers.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Uppercross House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uppercross House Hotel

Address: 26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Family Hotel in Dublin
#60 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Uppercross House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppercross House Hotel is a beautiful 3 star boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of Rathmines and very close to Dublin City. We offer a warm welcome and easy access to all attractions. Our hotel has 49 en-suite rooms and an award winning bar and restaurant “Mother Reillys”, The hotel is located 3km from Dublin City in a popular and vibrant district of Rathmines which offers an array of good restaurants, café-bars, pubs, shops, fitness centres & swimming pools. The AVIVA Stadium is within walking distance (2.5km).We are serviced by excellent transport on our doorstep, the nearest bustop is directly across the road and the Luas tram stop is around the corner.We pride ourselves in our friendly hospitality and comfortable surroundings. Why not stay and find out for yourself?We offer FREE secure car parking, and FREE WIFI for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Agoda, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Uppercross House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppercross Hotel Rathmines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uppercross House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.