We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hotel...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Uppercross House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Uppercross House Hotel to your Saves list
Uppercross House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not a hotel...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here over the weekend and my overall impression was meh. Our room was clean but the floor was tiled and the general feel was that it was old...our bed rolled around the tiled floor and the window overlooked a wall...! The staff were all very friendly, the parking free and again it was very clean but it wasn't a hotel room. It was B&B standard at best and the breakfast was poor. It's really not too hard to get decent sausages in Ireland (..and carpet..) but I could have bounced mine off the floor. It has a great location for a stroll into the city center but I wouldn't stay again to be honest. Needs a little TLC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear starryeyed99

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied during your stay with us.

In reference to the tiled floors, half of the hotel has bedrooms with tiled flooring as they have underfloor heating in them and many guests find this preferable especially those with allergies. The other half of the hotel has carpeted bedrooms with centreral heating system for those who prefer carpet under their feet.

It is unfortunate that the breakfast did not meet our usual standards. We take pride in our service and are very disspointed that we did not meet these standards on this occasion. We will certainly look into the matter to see where the problem lied.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel so we can continue to better ourselves for your fellow travellers.

Kind regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    68
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
22
47
18
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in may and to be fair, the hotel were quick to reply to emails and also very accommodating when we needed to check in early. However, the breakfast is not value for money and at that price it should be a buffet breakfast, not a few rations! The rooms are not the quietest either as we and our relatives in the next room could hear the occupants walking in the rooms above. It was more like heavy people and I'm being polite there!
Overall you get what you pay for, next time I'd pay extra to stay somewhere that's value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sanjeev

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. I am sorry to hear you were dissapointed with the selection of breakfast and that it was not value for money.

The breakfast which includes a full buffet and full Irish breakfast. This includes a selection of cereals, fresh and tinned fruit, juices, yogurts, eggs (fried, poached, boiled, scrambled), grilled rashers, tomato, sausages & pan fried mushrooms. We also provide hash browns, beans and omletes for vegetarian options. I am sorry if this was not made clear to you, we do however, provide a breakfast menu on each table.

Some of the rooms in the older wing of the hotel do have wooden floors so there is a possibility that you had some disturbances from any (noisey) guests above. This is rarely an issue. We hope it did not hinder your sleep too much.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my elderly grandmother who didn't want to leave! Hotel is bright, clean, spacious rooms, plus friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was really good - continental or Irish full breakfast. Restaurant and bar, Mother Reillys, had excellent home cooked food and had a great atmosphere. Location was out of town though on major bus routes and was a pleasure to see another neighbourhood - even with an 85 year old in tow it was all very easy.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppercross, General Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear EnglishMigratoryBird

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. Im delighted to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and that our staff in the hotel and bar were so helpful.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great hotel, staff were friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Breakfast was good full Irish plus good selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and juice. Attached is a great pub called Mother Reilly's serving good food and fresh pints through clean lines.
Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Very clean throughout the whole hotel with a big lounge/reception area with pictures of the family on the wall.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at the Uppercross for the second year in a row to attend the John Ford Film Symposium 3 day event in Dublin. Having booked the hotel through trivago.ie we were very pleased with the rate we got. Our room was spacious and clean. Breakfasts were generous in the mornings and there is a buffet as well as a cooked breakfast. Staff were all extremely helpful, polite and friendly. And of course I must mention Mother Reilly's bar..definitely worth a visit. We got the bus to and from the city centre from across the road from the Uppercross and were never waiting more than ten minutes for one. I recommend the Uppercross Hotel for a friendly, clean, comfortable enjoyable stay. Definitely at the upper end of its hotel star rating. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uppercross House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uppercross House Hotel

Address: 26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Dublin
#59 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Uppercross House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppercross House Hotel is a beautiful 3 star boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of Rathmines and very close to Dublin City. We offer a warm welcome and easy access to all attractions. Our hotel has 49 en-suite rooms and an award winning bar and restaurant “Mother Reillys”, The hotel is located 3km from Dublin City in a popular and vibrant district of Rathmines which offers an array of good restaurants, café-bars, pubs, shops, fitness centres & swimming pools. The AVIVA Stadium is within walking distance (2.5km).We are serviced by excellent transport on our doorstep, the nearest bustop is directly across the road and the Luas tram stop is around the corner.We pride ourselves in our friendly hospitality and comfortable surroundings. Why not stay and find out for yourself?We offer FREE secure car parking, and FREE WIFI for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Uppercross House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppercross Hotel Rathmines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uppercross House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.