We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly hotel with a warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uppercross House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Uppercross House Hotel to your Saves list
Uppercross House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Monaghan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A friendly hotel with a warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Uppercross House hotel on a Friday night. The receptionist was friendly, efficient and within minutes we were being shown to our room, we were both pleasantly surprised with the size and overall freshness of the room, It appeared to have been newly decorated, There were the usual amenities, tea, coffee, biscuits, the two bottles of mineral water was a nice touch! and there were toiletries in the bathroom, including a shower cap which a lot of hotels no longer provide.
I liked the friendly, sociable feel of the place, apart from the very friendly staff there is also a cosy lounge with comfortable seating, free tea and coffee, newspapers and a selection of books for you to wile away the hours, if you find any free time as Rathmines has a lot going on. The meal in the bar was really good and great value and I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel and there was some road noise.. and noise from late night revelers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    74
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
25
51
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Arrived and was greeted with a warm welcome and attention to detail. Check in was a breeze, we were shown to our room by A courteous member of staff or maybe it was the owner.
It is a pet friendly hotel.
Rooms were clean and spacious, staff are terrific,
The reception area is spacious and comfortable, plus coffee available for complimentary, there is also free usage of the internet in lobby.
Breakfast was good, girls were attentive, friendly, polite and could not do enough for the guest.
Free carpark.
Its an ideal spot for exploring Dublin or just chilling out,
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppercross, Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Yolanna2010,

I appreciate you taking the time to post such a great review of our hotel. I will be glad to pass your comments onto our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Uppercross House Hotel.

Kindest Regards,

Eimear Lawlor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Two night stay. Room was well used but very clean. Bed felt a little damp. However hospitality was fantastic. Staff could not do enough for us or our dog. Food and coffee was delicious. After a long day spent in Dublin centre staff were happy to provide a cold bowl of water and lots of fuss to our dog. Dog was allowed in the room. We were even able to find two taxis prepared to take us and the dog where we wanted to go. Only a 10 min taxi ride from hotel to Spire in the very centre of Dublin. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strängnäs
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hotel was fine and the staff friendly and serviceminded.
The only bad ting was the description on how to get there from the airport. It sad take Airlink nr 747 and then take bus nr 74. There is´nt any bus in Dublin whit the nr 74!! Please change yor website now!

// Mr & Mrs Hallberg

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppercross, Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Hallberg,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Uppercross House Hotel and for the kind remarks about our staff and service. We are sorry that you had difficulty locating our hotel. We are somewhat confused with your reference to the 74 bus from the city centre as this is not mentioned on our website. You will see below the directions that appear on our website:

Directions by bus from Dublin Airport to City Centre

You can take the following bus routes from the airport to the city centre:

16A, 41, 46X, 747 & 748. The 747 & 748 buses go directly to the city centre without stopping, they are more expensive though.

Directions by bus from Dublin City Centre to Rathmines

You can take the following buses from the city centre to Rathmines. Please be aware that you must have the exact fare as they do not issue change.

From College St (Beside Trinity College)

15, 15A, 15B & 15C. Get off at Pizza Hut in Rathmines, walk around the corner towards Tesco's, cross the road and walk up until you see the Uppercross House Hotel & Mother Reillys.

From D'Olier St
14 & 14A. These buses are not as frequent as the 15's, but they do leave you right outside the Hotel. Just get off at the first stop on Upper Rathmines Road.

Other bus routes include th 65, 65B & 83.

Because you may have booked through a third party booking engine, you might have got the directions via their website. If this is the case could you please let us know and we can contact them directly.

Again, we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards,

Eimear Lawlor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here after a recommendation from another place that had closed. It's pretty depressing, dated, untidy, lazy service, everything a b&b shouldnt be but unfortunately is.

I'd say save up your hard earned cash and look elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppercross, Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Uppercross House Hotel.
We are a 50 bedroomed Hotel that comprises of 3 Georgian Houses to the front and modern buildings to the rear.

We pride ourselves on our good hospitality and friendliness hence we are very disappointed that you found this not to be the case. We have an ongoing and maintenance and refurbishment program in place.

If you would like to contact us directly via email (enquiries@uppercrosshousehotel.com) or phone 00353 1 4975486 with details of your stay ie. name, date, room number etc we can investigate further.

We are very sorry that you left feeling unhappy.

Yours faithfully,

Eimear Lawlor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this hotel and will be our last.
My wife daughter myself and our little dog travel to Dublin frequently and have stayed at this hotel on 3 occasions.The first 2 times we stayed we found it just ok but our 3rd visit was a disaster.Because we have a little dog I rang 3 weeks in advance to book a ground floor room however on arrival the women on reception refused to tell me what room we had been allocated untill I returned to my car in the pouring rain to fetch my credit card details of which I had already given when I booked.She was extreamly unhelpful and unfriendly.When my card was presented she then informed me we were in a secound floor room.As it was too late in the day to find another hotel we decided to stay under protest.
The breakfast the next morning was disgusting it was flooting in oil and the egg was burnt around the edges all you could taste was the oil.
As many Dublin hotels are very keen to do deals my advice is shop around to find much better value.
We will never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppercross, Manager at Uppercross House Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Mr Halpin,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied during this stay, despite being a repeat customer.

We do our best to satisfy our guests request each and every time, but it is not always possible. Unfortunately we have a limited number of ground floor bedrooms suitable for dogs and during the weekend you stay we were fully booked and all ground floor bedrooms were already allocated. Our floors are not particularlly big, having only 9 rooms on each corridor. You were allocated a room on the 1st floor, direcly beside the lift & stairwell - not a far distance from the back door where you would have needed to let your dog out.

Upon checkin, every effort was made to see if there was anyway of reallocating your room to ground floor. It was certainly not our intention for you to feel that we were in any way unhelpful. You were indeed asked for your credit card for verification purposes. Like with every other hotel, we must check the credit card number used for security upon checkin to be certain that our records are correct and to allow our guests the facility to charge bar or restaurant charges to their rooms.

We strive to keep our rates competitive in this very difficult market. A rate of €120 for 3 people on a bed and breakfast basis (with no charge for the dog) in a busy weekend in Dublin would certainly stand up as great value in Dublin.

With warmest regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here. We hadn't booked a reservation and somebody told us about the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the rooms and the friendliness of the staff. It is very convenient to downtown (one bus or a leisurely walk) and there are many amenities within a 5 minute walk. The pub/restaurant that is attached to the restaurant served very good food at a reasonable price. I would definitely stay here again on my next trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Uppercross House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uppercross House Hotel

Address: 26-32 Upper Rathmines Road, Dublin 6, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in Dublin
#79 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Uppercross House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Uppercross House Hotel is a beautiful 3 star boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of Rathmines and very close to Dublin City. We offer a warm welcome and easy access to all attractions. Our hotel has 49 en-suite rooms and an award winning bar and restaurant “Mother Reillys”, The hotel is located 3km from Dublin City in a popular and vibrant district of Rathmines which offers an array of good restaurants, café-bars, pubs, shops, fitness centres & swimming pools. The AVIVA Stadium is within walking distance (2.5km).We are serviced by excellent transport on our doorstep, the nearest bustop is directly across the road and the Luas tram stop is around the corner.We pride ourselves in our friendly hospitality and comfortable surroundings. Why not stay and find out for yourself?We offer FREE secure car parking, and FREE WIFI for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Uppercross House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uppercross Hotel Rathmines

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uppercross House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.