We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mespil Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mespil Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mespil Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Freeport, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

My husband and I recently stayed for three nights at the Mespil Hotel in Dublin, Ireland. The location was in a quiet neighborhood not too far from center city. This was the best thing about the hotel. The room was not air conditioned with only a small window so in the unusually warm weather made the room quite hot. The problem we had with this hotel was a big one! We arrived at 7:30 pm dropped off our things and went out to eat, returning at 10:30. The next morning we realized that our digital camera (with more than 100 pictures from our vacation) was missing. We let the hotel staff know and they made some minimal attempts to help us, mostly telling us that we probably misplaced it or lost it in the city. Needless to say we were quite upset at ourselves for losing the camera. We purchased a new camera and toured the city for the next day. We did report the camera being missing to the Garda (police) and they were polite and helpful. Then at 9 pm the night before we were due to leave, we were packing when I realized that my ipod was missing. My husband reported this to the hotel staff, then after waiting more more than an hour the manager arrived at our room to check the card reader to see if anyone entered our room. Of course this only showed our key card and housekeeping's having entered. I was upset that the manager was grilling my husband as though we had done something wrong! He did finally contact the Garda for us. My husband spent an hour talking to the Garda at 11:30 pm where after hearing our story they reported to us that this was not the first time they had been to this hotel for this kind of situation. In fact they were there only two weeks before. The Garda were apologetic and very helpful. They wrote up reports for us to take home and delivered them to the hotel during the night. This was an expensive lesson to learn and we hope that you consider this when booking a hotel in Dublin.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    505
    198
    46
    20
See reviews for
151
320
48
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2006

We stayed at the Mespil for two nights and found the hotel to be good, but not great. Considering we booked the room seven months in advance, they were not able to meet our needs (queen bed, non-smoking room) even though they confirmed; we were told "the hotel never guarantees the bed size nor a non-smoking room." This is not an acceptable practice for a hotel. The walk to town center was a bit on the long side (15-20 minutes), but the area was quiet which is a plus. Unlike many other Irish hotels, breakfast was not included in the room price. If we were to return to Dublin, we'd most likely book at another hotel.

  • Liked — quiet room / quiet location
  • Disliked — they could not guarantee the bed size nor a non-smoking room
  • Tips/Secrets — book elsewhere
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland england
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

We stayed at the Mespil for two nights recently, during our first stay in dublin. Fab, we loved it. We arrived prior to the recommended check in time, but were found a non smoking room, 'executive, excellent size, very clean, and all dealt with by a friendly and efficient receptionist. Breakfast was busy with a small que to be seated, but not a single other complaint. About a twenty minute, but pleasant walk into the city, would recommend this hotel, definitely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2006

Stayed here in July. The location is central enough for Dublin. The huge attraction to this hotel is that the rooms are spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly and helpful.

The only negative side to it is parking for those guests with cars as the car park was small and full. Although there was plenty of parking on the street.

Also the city rate of €99 per night wasnt too bad although they do charge extra for breakfast which I thought was a bit of an atypical modern day Irish rip off.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is a excellent buy and in a good location if you do not mind a good walk. We stayed during the week and it was very quiet. I had to look twice at the bill because the price was so reasonable. We highly recommend this hotel and we would defiantly stay here again. The taxi from the airport to the hotel cost us around 20 euro. Be careful with taxi drivers in Ireland; unfortunately a few bad apples gives a bad name for the whole bunch. You can ask the cost to your destination before you go but if it is over what you were quoted there not a whole lot you can do about it. We were over charged twice. Oh yea, do not hesitate to drive a car in Ireland. It is the only way to see this beautiful country.

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2006

This is the third place I stayed during a week in Dublin, and is the one I'd go back to if I had to pick one. It's decent enough, but I resent paying over 100 euro a night (one person, excluding breakfast) without getting a bit more than that.

What's right? The staff on reception were good and efficient. I explained I was moving there after a night somewhere that turned out far too noisy (nearby nightclub or something), and they found me a nice quiet room. It was also large and comfortable and had a decent bathroom.

Couple of niggles. The shower was disappointingly feeble, and with a huge amount of window, there was only one small bit that opened. That made it too hot inside.

I didn't try the hotel breakfast, bars or restaurants, so can't comment on them.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in April 2006 (Thurs-Sun). Rooms were very clean. Buffet breakfast was delicious. Staff were as friendly as you could possibly get. Cafe just around the corner. Petrol station in same road. Newsagents just around the corner. Pub at end of the road - within 2 minute walk. Loads and loads of pubs on the way to to the city centre. Bus into town cost either 90 cents or 190 cents - can't remember which. Fair old walk to Temple Bar. On the Saturday night a taxi cost 12 Euros to Temple Bar at 8pm and 20 Euros back to the hotel at 4am. If you don't mind the walk into town or having to get a bus or taxi then this place is ideal. Proper.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mespil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mespil Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mespil Hotel is a modern hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green /Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Grand Canal Theatre and the RDS. Temple Bar is a further 10 minutes walk. The Mespil Hotel offers 254 bright, spacious guest bedrooms, free WIFI Internet access & guest car parking (limited availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mespil Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.