We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent solid hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mespil Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mespil Hotel to your Saves list
Mespil Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 172 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A decent solid hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

A big rambling hotel but perfectly good for what we needed. It's a decent walk into town but easy enough if the weather is nice.

We were given a smoking room that we didn't request but the room itself was perfectly serviceable. Breakfast service was very good and an added bonus that we hadn't expected in what was a very good price.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Mespil Management at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2009
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin.

We are sorry to hear that you were allocated a smoking room instead of non smoking when you arrived at the hotel. Our reception staff would have been more than happy to assist you had you have preferred to move to a non smoking room.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed breakfast at the hotel and found it to be good value for money.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.

Thanking you for your recent review,
Janet Moore
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    647
    263
    64
    27
See reviews for
218
438
66
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

We stayed two nights. The room was nicely furnished, comfortable, and everything worked. The free wi-fi was fine and the food ok, although we only eat one meal in the hotel apart from the breakfasts which were great. A good tip is to buy a 25 euro season ticket which covers three days usage of Dublin buses including tours and the the bus which travels to and from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Mespil Management at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2009
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin.

We are happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay at the Mespil Hotel. We offer complimentary WIFI access throughout the hotel and it is fast becoming a requirement for majority of our customers.

We hope that you enjoyed your eating experiences with us and any comments you may have are welcomed. The “Freedom” ticket for a three day Dublin bus pass is highly recommended and we sell the tickets directly at reception.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Thanking you for your recent review,
Janet Moore
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West of Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Having lived in Dublin for 20 years I was returning back (after a 4 year absence) for a holiday with my spouse & small baby. I chose this hotel primarily for location & value. The reviews here were impressive also.
We were not disappointed - we stayed in one of the two-bedroom apartments (with microwave for sterilising bottles) and were delighted with the whole experience.
The staff especially the polish porter were so pleasant & helpful.
The rooms were spotless in our large apartment - over two floors. Free parking was a welcome addition - we will definately be back - well done Mespil.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Mespil Management at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Mespil Hotel. Our apartments offer space and additional facilities, which come in useful when you have small children with you.

We hope that you enjoyed your first visit back to Dublin and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mespil when you visit again.


Thanking you for your recent review,
Janet Moore
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

I honestly could not make one negative comment about this hotel,I would be nit picking if I did. From the moment you set foot in the hotel you are made feel welcome, the reception staff are effecient but not rude when checking you both in and out. All other menbers of staff are polite and curtious and I mean all members. The level of housekeeping is extremely high, the hotel is immaculate in all areas. The breakfast is to die for, with plenty of choice to suit everyone. I feel that I would be doing this hotel an injustice if I didn't write a review of it. I will definetly be returning, in fact I have already booked it for New Years Eve and I would recommend it to everybody

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Mespil Management at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2009
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Mespil Hotel. Customer Service is our priority at the hotel and we are happy to hear that you experienced a warm welcome and friendly staff.

You positive comments about the hotel service will be communicated to all departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on New Years Eve.

Thanking you for your recent review,
Janet Moore
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Very disappointing. The Hotel is sold as 3 stars but the room is 2 stars.
Toilet could not flush properly, room was not cleaned properly, and rubbish not picked up, used spoon not replaced.
We were asked to pay more than the original invoice but all was cleared when I showed the email confirmation (what if I did not have it?).
Hotel is 30min walk from O'Connell St and 20min from Grafton St, not that near when you are tired from sightseeing. Would not consider going again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Mespil Management at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2009
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin.

We are disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your stay at the Mespil Hotel and I assure you that the comments you have made will be discussed in detail at our Operations Meeting.

We are sorry for the poor impression this visit has left you with and hope that you might give us the opportunity in restoring your confidence in us by visiting the hotel in the future. I would be delighted if you would contact me direct about a future stay where I am confident you will find everything to your satisfaction.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Thanking you for your recent review,
Janet Moore
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed at the Mespil in September - we were in Dublin for a christening and the family rooms and rate make this the place to stay. The location is super - a short ten minute walk to Grafton Street and in a nice quite part of Dublin. The room was perfect, breakfast great and the staff were all very nice. We will defiantely stay here again soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Mespil Management at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2009
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Mespil Hotel and thank you for your positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thanking you for your recent review,
Janet Moore
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

From the outside the Mespil Hotel would not win a beauty contest. However, the rooms were bright, airy and clean and good value in a vastly over-priced city. The Irish breakfast buffet had a good variety of choices and was hot and well cooked. Cereals, juices and Continental breakfast options are also available. The breakfast room can be a bit crowded but that was not really a problem. The walk to the city centre is through Georgian Dublin and takes about 15 mins. You can also walk along the canal to Portobello which was lovely on an Autumn (Fall) morning. Taxis are plentiful and Dublin taxi drivers are a delight to talk to about everything from the weather to the latest views on thhe political scene. We had a late flight and could leave our luggage in the secure luggage room all day with no problem. Our daughter, who did not make it back to the hotel until after we had checked out (after a long night partying) was able to get changed and ready to travel! The staff were very helpful and fiendly. I would definitely recommend the Mespil for a good value weekend in Dublin. Book your tickets now, the craic is great!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Mespil Management at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2009
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Mespil Hotel and that you found our prices to be good value.

Breakfast is one of our busiest times in the hotel and we want to ensure that our guests receive a good start to their day with our buffet breakfast. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed it.

We hope that we will get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mespil Hotel again in the future so that you can enjoy another weekend in Dublin.


Thanking you for your recent review,
Janet Moore
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Grand Canal Hotel
#48 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,182 reviews
Pembroke Townhouse
#72 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#34 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#18 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 829 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin City Inn
Dublin City Inn
#101 of 172 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mespil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Family Hotel in Dublin
#72 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#75 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mespil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mespil Hotel is a modern hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green /Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Grand Canal Theatre and the RDS. Temple Bar is a further 10 minutes walk. The Mespil Hotel offers 254 bright, spacious guest bedrooms, free WIFI Internet access & guest car parking (limited availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mespil Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.