We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and Dated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mespil Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mespil Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mespil Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tired and Dated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Mespil as we were here for a wedding nearby. We had stayed here before a few years ago and were more than happy to return but this time we were disappointed. The rooms were tired and dated and really could do with upgrading, in fact the hotel itself could do with an make over!
The rooms were of an average size, clean, tea/coffee facilities/fruit; the wi fi was not the best (which we did require and the phone didn't work - didn't really buy the reason given to us by the hotel staff either). The bathroom again was quite dated but adequate.
The breakfast was repetitive and unimaginative - however it does seem to provide a carvery lunch which all the nearby office workers come along to. The bar staff were friendly but prone to spilling drinks (pints of guinness and coffees!), not good and no coasters on the tables, we had to hunt for them at the bar so the lounge was a little messy. Food was also nothing to write home about, we only ate here once and will not again.
What this hotel does have going for it is the following: location is brilliant, the air coach goes nearby - plenty of buses and the dart is not far. The Baggot Street area is terrific for bars and restaurants, you will be spoiled for choice.
The other good thing about this hotel is that it has underground parking which in this area is a premium and there is a car hire outlet a 2 minute walk away on Haddington Road.
As there are other hotels in the area we will not return and the price was also not that competitive - we only stayed here again because we had stayed here before.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    489
    194
    49
    20
See reviews for
155
323
49
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I enjoyed my stay here. The location was perfect for me - close to the city centre (about 15 minutes walk to St. Stephen's green) but out of the hustle and noise of areas like Temple Bar, so I was able to get a peaceful night's rest. The hotel is also served by a shuttle for the hop on/hop off tour buses and day tours.

Directions from the airport via the air coach bus were perfect, and reception friendly enough. The halls and lobby are approaching tired, but the room itself was great. Clean, quiet, and peaceful after a day out exploring the city.

I would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We flew into Dublin and were happy to see smiling faces at the reception. We had initially booked 3 rooms but had to cancel one at the last minute. The reception proposed an alternative for our 3 nights and allowed us to visit a two bedroomed apartment/suite that I would say is as good as any suite I've stayed in. After a good nights sleep we headed down for breakfast. This will be my only gripe against the hotel. Whilst I start with some muesli , yoghurt, fruit, full Irish and then some toast juice and tea, €12 seems more than reasonable. However, the kids who love the cooked breakfast ate like little sparrows (1 sausage, an egg, 1 rasher of bacon and some beans) the €12 is steep to say the least. I think that there should be a kids price of say €8/9. €12 is way too much.

Checkout was fine too and we were very happy to have been offered the luggage facility so that we could do some (more) shopping.

Would I go back?

Absolutely. Very enjoyable experience

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed in this hotel twice with my girlfriend and both times it has been a good experience. The hotel is nice and clean and the rooms are quite nice. It is a bit of a walk to get into the city centre but it is still within walk able distance. The restaurant is lovely and the breakfast buffet is also what you expect from an Irish hotel. The bar is quite a peaceful place to have a drink and alcohol is about the price you expect from Dublin (which is expensive). I would recommend to anyone visiting Dublin. On my second stay the wifi wasn't working which was a pain but I am sure they have fixed it since then.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tum Tum WA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely hotel. Rooms very nice, great breakfast and charming staff. Location excellent. We were able to walk anywhere that we chose. The view from our room was the canal. Breathtaking! As this was a stay on our guided tour, I do not know prices but it was a great place to begin and end our trip to Ireland

Room Tip: Remember to bring your own wash cloth!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the canal views from your room. Thank you for the kindly mentioning our staff and good to see that you enjoyed breakfast each morning.

We hope you enjoyed your tour of Ireland and returned home safely with some great memories of Ireland.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Take the Hop-On-Hop-Off bus right from the hotel, and you can see all of Dublin , then pick where you get off to visit. Even if you're a teetotaler you'll enjoy the Guinness Storehouse and the Old Jameson Distillery tours.Trinity College & the Book Of Kells are a must-see.The front desk staff are very helpful in arranging other tours.

Room Tip: Just make sure that you take the breakfast - with so many items offerred, you'll be able to skip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us while discovering Dublin. The Hop-On-Hop-Off bus is a great way to see the city and stops at all the main attractions also. Thank you for the kind comments re our Front Office team.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon again to the Mespil Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Traveling from the states, we were looking for a nice place to stay for a few nights. This hotel is a prime example of "looks can be deceiving." The rooms are NOT as regal as the website indicates; requiring upgrades to the fixtures and beds. We had to wait over an hour for our room to be ready and staff was less than helpful in getting us to our room on time. The location is a 15 minute walk from city center, so don't expect to get to town right away- taxi was the best mode of transportation to the pubs and nightlife.

If you truly want to experience Dublin, choose another hotel that is closer to the city and the nightlife, you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with the hotel during your recent stay. Our location is 15 minutes walk to the city centre via St Stephen’s Green and this walk is generally enjoyed by our guests as it is through Georgian Dublin. Or alternatively there are some very good bars and restaurant close by.

I hope you had a safe journey back to the States and enjoyed your holiday in Ireland.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mespil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mespil Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mespil Hotel is a modern hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green /Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Grand Canal Theatre and the RDS. Temple Bar is a further 10 minutes walk. The Mespil Hotel offers 254 bright, spacious guest bedrooms, free WIFI Internet access & guest car parking (limited availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mespil Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;