We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More to Love...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mespil Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mespil Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mespil Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Levittown, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“More to Love...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Traveling from the states, we were looking for a nice place to stay for a few nights. This hotel is a prime example of "looks can be deceiving." The rooms are NOT as regal as the website indicates; requiring upgrades to the fixtures and beds. We had to wait over an hour for our room to be ready and staff was less than helpful in getting us to our room on time. The location is a 15 minute walk from city center, so don't expect to get to town right away- taxi was the best mode of transportation to the pubs and nightlife.

If you truly want to experience Dublin, choose another hotel that is closer to the city and the nightlife, you'll be glad you did!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    507
    199
    49
    20
See reviews for
154
321
49
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night on a recent family break to Dublin. The staff were friendly and courteous, we had a really spacious room for the four of us, it was very good value for Dublin and close to city centre and plenty of good restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel did not live up to any expectations. It was not very clean, and quite dusty, and there was a strange odour in the room. Furniture and fittings were all dated and worn. I've stayed at Travelodges that were better, and almost half the price. It is not at all what is advertised, an example being the 'many canal views' that they promote. I requested a room with this view, and upon advising that there must have been a mistake in the room assignment, was told that you can't actually see the canal from the hotel. Would not stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Mespil Hotel is conveniently located near a small district with pubs, shops and other conveniences. The rooms are clean and good sized. Our stay include complementary breakfast, which had many food choices and was quite good. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the Trinity College area. The Grand Canal is across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the location, overlooking the Grand Canal and within walking distance to good shops, bars and restaurants. Great to hear you liked the breakfast buffet each morning and thank you for the kind mention in relation to our staff.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon again to the Mespil Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel itself was grand. Room was basic but would have needed a bit more attention during cleaning. Alot of dust on the furniture. Bathroom tap wasn't working very well. Trouser press broken (really would have needed it in the morning).
Bar staff in the evening nice...left us have our kids in the bar later then allowed. ..thank you.
Breakfast was questionable... hubby and both sons were sick. I was lucky as had mainly continental breakfast.
During check out the reception staff did not know or want to assist me with basic information, left me and my boys lost on the streets of rainy dublin looking for a bus stop. A let down really.
Would I stay there again No.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Sorry to read that you had a mixed experience while staying with your family. Our Front Desk team get very good comments about their helpfulness and I do apologise if you felt this was lacking during your stay. Our breakfast buffet is temperature checked regularly & recorded during breakfast service and I genuinely feel their illness was not related to this as we would be aware.

If I can help you with any future reservations I would be delighted to assist, as I feel your stay did not reflect the service we provide.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Hotel
sales@leehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this property for 2 nights as part of a Trafalgar Coach Tour. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Room and all of the public rooms were well maintained a very clean. Breakfast was plentiful and good choices. It is about a 20 minute walk to the central park of Dublin. It is in a nice quiet area. If you want to take public transport it is close by. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back area of the hotel and was very quiet and our windows could be open and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

We hope you had an enjoyable tour of Ireland with Trafalgar Tours and delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for kindly mentioning our staff and great to see that you enjoyed breakfast each morning and found the location quiet and central.

Many thanks for the kind recommendation and we hope you had a safe journey home.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
538 reviews 538 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 255 cities Reviews in 255 cities
397 helpful votes 397 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent 4 nights, staff friendly, room was good, several restaurants up the street and food in hotel, canal across the road, downtown walkable but u are 15-20 minutes away so some would want to stay closer. Bus stop near by. Breakfast good. Wi fi good in lobby, fair in rooms, but free. All in all a good stay in Dublin!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed the location…within walking distance to the centre and with a good choice of restaurants close-by. Thank you for the kind comments in relation to our staff and nice to hear you liked the breakfast each morning.

We hope you we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon again.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mespil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mespil Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mespil Hotel is a modern hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green /Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Grand Canal Theatre and the RDS. Temple Bar is a further 10 minutes walk. The Mespil Hotel offers 254 bright, spacious guest bedrooms, free WIFI Internet access & guest car parking (limited availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mespil Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.