We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mespil Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mespil Hotel to your Saves list
Mespil Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Convenient Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Mespil Hotel is located in an area that is convenient to tourists. Our two rooms were not located next to each other for a family of five which was somewhat inconvenient. We enjoyed eating dinner in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Sorry to read that your rooms were not located beside each other, because we do our very best to ensure this. Once it is outlined at booking stage we can accommodate these requests in advance, so apologies that this was not ideal for you during your stay. Great to hear you enjoyed your family dinner in the restaurant.
I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel and we will ensure your family rooms are located beside each other for your next stay.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.
Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    533
    218
    53
    22
See reviews for
172
352
52
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork2008
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here recently and I was very disappointed overall as I have stayed at the Mespil many times before and I had no complaints.

For my staythis time in Dublin I wanted a hotel near city with parking………………guess what – hotel car park was continuously full as it is very small. On-street parking is available outside, expensive and hard to find a place weekdays.
The bar food and the service is very good and not overpriced; breakfast had a good selection to choose from.
My room, at the back of the hotel, had a constant noise all night long-it was like sleeping in Heuston railway station with the drone of a diesel train engine running all night………..my advice stay away from rooms at the back of the hotel.
My only other complaint was I got a knock on the door at 8am from the hotel cleaners to make up the room- a bit inconsiderate really.

So I left the Mespil very tired and very disappointed and doubt if I will return.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms at the back overlooking car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay, as you have stayed with us before with no issues. We are very aware the car park was extremely busy in the run up to Christmas but we only have limited space which we offer complimentary to guests and then pay and display is the available on the street. However it is good to see that you enjoyed both breakfast and the bar food and found our prices good value for money. Apologies for the knock on your door at 8am from our house keeping department and I have reported the noise issue to our maintenance department, as this sounds unusual.
I hope you will stay with us again in the future and if I can be of assistance with your reservation, please contact me.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.
Emma Allen
Mespil Management
sales@leehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Ireland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Well located hotel for the D4 area. We got a great on-line rate with breakfast so chose this hotel. Parking was limited but we got in without much trouble as we got their early in the afternoon. Check-in was efficient. Our room was big and clean with a kettle and tea/coffee provided. Breakfast was nice with the usual selection.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us in the Dublin 4 area and you found your room spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Good to see you enjoyed breakfast, the free parking and the hotel was good value for money.
I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel very soon.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Top Contributor
338 reviews 338 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 216 cities Reviews in 216 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Well located in d4
Walking distance to Stephens green
Free parking
Pleasant staff
Free wifi
Quick check in and out
Big room but a bit dated
Very good value
Didn't have food
Recommend this one for value
Breakfast 11 euro extra
Very close to bag got street

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the hotel well located and good value for money. Thank you for the kind comments in relation to our staff and good to know that you found the Free wifi and parking a bonus.
Great to see that you would definitely recommend the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Have stayed several times at the Mespil. Good location if doing business in the Trinity College area of Dublin. Located along the canal 2 minutes walk from a variety of local shops and restaurants.

Getting there: Although shuttle from Dublin airport says "a short distance" from stop, it was a bit farther away than I felt inclined to walk after a long flight and late at night. Suggest doing as I did, and getting off at Doubletree Dublin Hotel ("Burlington" Hotel) which has a taxi rank. For less than £5 I was delivered to the front door of the hotel. This is still loads cheaper than taking a taxi all the way from the airport into (rather, past) Dublin Town Center.

The front desk staff were courteous and helpful. Same can be said of all hotel employees encountered.

Decor is perhaps a little dated. But rooms are very nice and comfortable. All amenities that a business traveler would need. Rooms are quiet. Housekeeping does a consistently good job of cleaning and tidying rooms each day. Iron and board in closet inside rooms, so no need to bother housekeeping. Newspapers can be delivered to room each morning upon request.

Hotel restaurant and room service is okay. As always, a premium is paid for food services within the hotel. No better or worse than most hotels I have stayed in.

WIFi access throughout. No significant issues with bandwidth saturation. Typical constraints on high bandwidth sites such as YouTube, etc, but that is to be expected.

Even though I had rooms facing onto the street, room was still quiet and comfortable. Good soundproofing between the rooms as well.

There is a taxi rank right outside hotel - another pleasant surprise. However, because the canal is just outside in front, I chose to walk many times just to enjoy the scenery.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read your lengthy review with some helpful tips and positive feedback too. Great to see that you find the rooms comfortable and well equipped for business and that you very much enjoyed the location overlooking the Grand Canal. Thank you for the kind feedback in relation to our housekeeping team and front office staff which I will ensure is passed to everyone.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel very soon.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayo, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Hotel is warm and inviting. Check in was fast which was good cause I was tired and cold. The room was a good size, well proportioned and warm.the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. A good thing was that there was enough towels (hotels sometimes skimp on them). I have only one small complaint. When I went to use the bath it had a scum on it. It was not rinsed properly. But that might have being a one off cause everything else was clean. I would recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to read your review and that you had a comfortable and warm stay with us. Nice to see you enjoyed your stay and apologies for the bath not being rinsed properly – this must have been an oversight by the accommodation team.

Great to know that you would definitely stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel very soon.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayobridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for one night with family and had a great stay. Our rooms were spacious and comfortable and prior to our stay we had e-mailed the hotel re interconnecting rooms which we got. We also asked if there was anything they could do to mark the grandchildren's birthdays and on our arrival they received a selection box each which the children were more than happy with.

The hotel is in a good spot and the walk into the city centre was about 15-20 minutes leisurely walk. Along the way there were numerous pubs and restaurants to cater for all tastes and price ranges. A taxi back in the evening cost us €12.

The bar area was very comfortable and prices were no dearer than the pubs in the city centre. There was a car park at the back of the hotel which is on a first come first served basis.

The breakfast was delicious with good quality fare.

The staff were all very helpful and polite.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable family stay with us last weekend and nice to see the grandchildren enjoyed it too. Many thanks for the kind feedback in relation to our staff and I will ensure your comments are forwarded to the team. Great to see you found the bedrooms comfortable and spacious and the interconnecting rooms worked well for everyone.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel very soon.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mespil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mespil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mespil Hotel is a modern hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green /Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Grand Canal Theatre and the RDS. Temple Bar is a further 10 minutes walk. The Mespil Hotel offers 254 bright, spacious guest bedrooms, free WIFI Internet access & guest car parking (limited availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mespil Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.