We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Dublin Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mespil Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mespil Hotel to your Saves list
Mespil Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Value Dublin Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Mespil Hotel is a good location when visiting Dublin easy walk to the centre but benefit of being quieter. The rooms are comfortable and always clean and big enough. The Manager and staff could not have been more helpful and alwyas keen to help me. I will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park are quieter and there are a few smoking rooms available on request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to see that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay when visiting Dublin. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our staff and Manager as it is always great to receive positive feedback.

Great to hear you will return and stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    533
    218
    53
    22
See reviews for
172
352
52
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The rooms were clean with no frills, but comfortable. I wouldn't describe the room as overly large, but just enough room for 2 people. FYI it doesn't seem any hotels in Ireland are equipped with clocks, so bring your own. The hotel is located on a quiet street, so there's no traffic noise. But it most be a popular location because taxicabs are always lined up outside waiting for a fare. The hotel is located quite a distance from the main points of interest in downtown Dublin, but I managed to walk it each day (walked all the way from the hotel to the Guinness factory -so it is doable).

The hotel offers a wonderful breakfast buffet with a large variety of choices, from pastries, breads and cereals, to fried eggs, sausage and bacon. I don't know the cost for the breakfast, it was included in my room. There's also a nice bar attached to the hotel, although it's not the really nice quaint Irish pubs you can find just a block or two away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to read that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us while discovering Dublin and yes it is a good walk to the Guinness Storehouse…so I would recommend the Hop On, Hop Off bus next time as it would drop you closer. Great to see that you enjoyed the full Irish buffet breakfast and found some quaint Irish pubs close by.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back next time you visit Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed in the Mespil Hotel in Dublin just for one night on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel location suited perfectly as it is within walking distance of both the Luas and the Dart. Buffet breakfast quite good with beautiful selection of fresh fruits. Complimentary morning newspaper available.
Pleasant staff. Hotel bar could do with a makeover..quite dated.. but bar food good.
Would stay in the Mespil again for location and value.

Room Tip: Stayed in a room overlooking road but noise not a problem due to double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our location suited your needs, close to both the Luas and the Dart. Great to see that you enjoyed the buffet breakfast, complimentary newspaper and found the hotel good value for money. Thank you for the kind mention re our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, when visiting Dublin to catch a show. The hotel is an easy walk from the Grand Canal Theatre, nearer in fact than the ones that the Theatre offer as part of the ticket deal! The hotel is also an easy walk to Stephens Green, also it is located by the Luas so you can get to Dundrum shopping centre with ease. It's beside Baggot street bridge so you can also walk to the Aviva stadium. The hotel is clean, our room was quite, the bar and foyer is quite modern, we didn't eat in the restaurant as there are plenty of nice eateries nearby, all budgets catered for! The staff were very friendly. The only negatives (and not enough for us not to return) was that the carpark had limited spaces, and the toiletries supplied were fairly basic, the towels (whilst clean) were fairly thin. Minor gripes - don't let them put you off - just bring your own shower gel!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the location ideal…close to Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Aviva, Stephen’s Green and the Luas. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our staff and your positive feedback has been passed to the team. Your points re towels and toiletries have been noted and forwarded to the Accommodation Manager for review.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here for a night on a Living Social Deal. We were not expecting much as the price was so good but were pleasantly surprised to find a very convenient hotel, a very nice room with a view of the canal and charming staff at reception, cannot fault it. The hotel also includes free parking which was a bonus as we arrived at lunchtime and went into Grafton St for lunch and shopping. Parking in the city is so expensive that this was a great added bonus. The free bottle of prosecco was very welcome and chocolates too, can't ask for much more. And the breakfast was quite substantial, coffee not the best but that's the only negative. It's a great place for a night in the city, hope to go back again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and that all aspects of the hotel impressed you. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our reception team and good to hear that you found the free parking a bonus.

Best news of all…you will return again and we look forward to welcoming back on your next visit to Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here recently with friends and found the staff in reception quite rude and off hand. There was no smile checking in or how was you stay on checking out. We felt we were disturbing them on both occasions. We had food in the bar area and had to ask for the table to be cleaned and cleared of dirty dishes. For the money this hotel is charging it needs an over haul on both decor and customer service.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. I am surprised with your comment regarding our reception team as they generally receive very positive feedback from guests however your comment has been noted and forward to the Front Office Manager.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed for 2 night at the Mespil hotel during February 2013 on a business trip.
It doesn't look great from the outside but was perfectly functional and clean.
I felt like the main areas of the hotel including the frontage needed a bit of a face-lift, but the room was nicely furnished and was better than expected. Overall, a nice enough place to stay on business, but not somewhere I would recommend for couples wanting a romantic trip to Dublin. The price was reasonable enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us while on business in Dublin. Good to hear that you found your room comfortable, nicely furnished and good value for money.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next business trip to Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mespil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mespil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mespil Hotel is a modern hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green /Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Grand Canal Theatre and the RDS. Temple Bar is a further 10 minutes walk. The Mespil Hotel offers 254 bright, spacious guest bedrooms, free WIFI Internet access & guest car parking (limited availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mespil Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.