We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but practical” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mespil Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mespil Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mespil Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Basic but practical”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Billed as a mid-market establishment, this is OK if you do not need much in the way of services and are just looking for somewhere to sleep during a short leisure visit. It is out of the city centre, but located in a fairly lively area with some interesting pubs and restaurants. Tends to attract rather a lot of stag- and hen-parties and is also a favourite of weekend sport enthusiasts. some rooms need a bit of re-decoration. Bathrooms are small. Always plenty of taxis outside and the airport express coaches stop about 200 metres away.

Room Tip: Go for high-floor front rooms - quiet and pleasant views over the Grand Canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location worked well for you with good pubs and restaurants close by Access to and from the hotel is convenient with a taxi rank just outside the front door and the AirCoach stop is just a short walk at Leeson Street Bridge.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    495
    197
    49
    20
See reviews for
157
327
49
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night under corporate rate of€80 whilst in dublin for company do in South Georges street.Stay away quite a bit thru work & would have to say that the €80 corporate rate is a bit steep for what I would perceive as a hotel that needs a bit of a decor uplift for starters.Dull grey doors & carpet as I walked down the corridors to my room.Room decor drab and very very basic.Outside window of bathroom skeletal remains of dead bird outside the window on balconySign on window "unable to open due to health & safety reasons" which I suppose is reasonable in 1 sense but would hate to be trapped inside should a fire break out within the premises.Breakfast was basic & have to say tasted ok.Checked on trip advisor reviews of hotel before I booked but would be hesitant to stay again .I am sure it's location is its main attraction and staff are friendly but not great value for money in this day and age.A glorified "Assembly line type hotel "how I would perceive the Mespil hotel and I am disappointed to have to review the Mespil premises in this way.Maybe I missed something but call in the Brennan Brothers ""At your Service " programme for help and advice .Sorry

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us, however thankfully it was not all negative…you were impressed with our staff and location. I know most comments I reply to remark on our good value – so I am not sure why you did not feel the hotel was offering good value for money.

I appreciate your comments and it is disappointing that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights Dec-Jan. Hotel was really nice and clean. Room was very spacious, clean and warm had had great night's slepp. All the staff were very friendly. Great Location about 10 min walk to St Stephen's Green. Breakfast was lovely lots of choice so you won't go hungry. Would definetly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to read that you had an enjoyable 5 night stay with us and that you had a relaxing stay. Thank you for the kind comments in relation to our staff and also the positive feedback in terms of our location and the hearty breakfast we serve in the Glaze Bistro.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed in the Mespil in December. Delighted to find it very easy to reach by car - not being used to the capital's traffic, and car park was a bonus. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfy, mod, bright and clean, and the bathroom spotless. Got a lovely meal in the evening and the breakfast was fab. 15 minute walk to Grafton street so great location. Can't think of any faults. Great value and will definitely be staying at the Mespil again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and found our location ideal and easy to find by car. Thank you for the very kind comments in relation to our staff, and good to see that you enjoyed both dinner and breakfast in the hotel

Great to hear that you will definitely stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here in March last year on a boys trip for the rugby at the RDS, had a great time.
Stayed here again in the summer with my wife and two kids (11&8), again thoroughly enjoyed.
The hotel is located about a 15 min walk to Grafton St and likewise a 15 min walk in opposite direction to RDS for the rugby. For those that don't want to walk there is a taxi rank outside, or just at the end of the road numerous frequent buses.
I found the hotel staff very friendly on both my visits, we had a nice breakfast and the bar serves a cracking pint of Guinness and is very welcoming.
There is a starbucks next door for the coffee lovers and plenty of bars and restaurants within a few minutes walk. In fact when I was with the lads we preferred the nearby bars at Baggot St/Merrion Row to the overpriced Temple Bar.
For family trips I recommend the Dublin Pass for access to the visitor attractions and also worth considering pre booking bus passes for the duration of your stay. If you with kids a trip to the Zoo and the Aquazone are well worth it. You can catch bus from near the hotel or from St Stephens Green to most attractions.
Ten of us have booked to stay at The Mespil again in May for the rugby.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel has views over the canal, I always ask for these rooms. Reading other reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to read that you have enjoyed your recent stays with us and that you will returning again for the rugby in May – Heineken Cup perhaps. Thank you for the very kind comments in relation to our staff and good to see that you enjoyed breakfast and of course the Guinness in the bar!! Yes the hotel is ideal for families also with dedicated family rooms now available and your recommendation re Dublin Pass, Dublin Zoo and the Aquazone are all great attractions to visit.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in May for the rugby.


Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed in the Mespil on a whim for the new year, stayed 2 nights and was plesantly surprised. The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from St.Stephen's Green, which is ideal. The room was clean, warm and we got a great night's sleep as it is lovely relaxed hotel. The hotel bar has a chilled out vibe and although we didn't eat at the hotel, the menu looks good. Beside the hotel are a little row of restaurants / coffee houses. This hotel was great value as well, and i will definitely be staying here again when i head up to the capital

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable 2 night stay with us and you were impressed with the hotel and the location. Great to see that you found the room relaxing and liked the atmosphere in the bar. We are fortunate to have a good selection of restaurants, coffee shops and bar beside the hotel – all offering good value dining options.

Great to hear that you will definitely stay with us again next time you are in Dublin and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in Dec2012-Jan 2013. Good location , about 15-20mins walk from the city centre but there is a bus stop round the corner so no problem if you don't want to walk (€6.50 bus day pass).
Our room was quiet, clean and really comfy.
Wifi is available throughout hotel and is fast enough . You can also use computers with Internet downstairs and it is free plus if you need to print something there is a printer available.
The staff is very helpful and friendly .
Unfortunately didn't have a chance to use their restaraunt because after reading trip advisor reviews we decided to try Thai take away few metres away from the hotel: it was really good ( surprisingly there were no Thai staff working in that place but whatever nationalities they are they do a very good job!)
Would recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to read that you enjoyed your 5 night stay with us and that you found your room quiet, clean and comfortable. Great to read that you were impressed with the customer computers in the lobby and free wifi throughout the hotel. Thank you for the very kind comments in relation to our staff, which I have forwarded to the team. Good to hear that you enjoyed the local Thai restaurant…close to the hotel.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mespil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mespil Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mespil Hotel is a modern hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green /Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Grand Canal Theatre and the RDS. Temple Bar is a further 10 minutes walk. The Mespil Hotel offers 254 bright, spacious guest bedrooms, free WIFI Internet access & guest car parking (limited availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mespil Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.