We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location, sound sleep :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mespil Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mespil Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mespil Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 178 hotels in Dublin
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location, sound sleep :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed in the Mespil on a whim for the new year, stayed 2 nights and was plesantly surprised. The hotel is located about 10 minutes walk from St.Stephen's Green, which is ideal. The room was clean, warm and we got a great night's sleep as it is lovely relaxed hotel. The hotel bar has a chilled out vibe and although we didn't eat at the hotel, the menu looks good. Beside the hotel are a little row of restaurants / coffee houses. This hotel was great value as well, and i will definitely be staying here again when i head up to the capital

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable 2 night stay with us and you were impressed with the hotel and the location. Great to see that you found the room relaxing and liked the atmosphere in the bar. We are fortunate to have a good selection of restaurants, coffee shops and bar beside the hotel – all offering good value dining options.

Great to hear that you will definitely stay with us again next time you are in Dublin and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    477
    185
    43
    19
See reviews for
141
297
45
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham, uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights in Dec2012-Jan 2013. Good location , about 15-20mins walk from the city centre but there is a bus stop round the corner so no problem if you don't want to walk (€6.50 bus day pass).
Our room was quiet, clean and really comfy.
Wifi is available throughout hotel and is fast enough . You can also use computers with Internet downstairs and it is free plus if you need to print something there is a printer available.
The staff is very helpful and friendly .
Unfortunately didn't have a chance to use their restaraunt because after reading trip advisor reviews we decided to try Thai take away few metres away from the hotel: it was really good ( surprisingly there were no Thai staff working in that place but whatever nationalities they are they do a very good job!)
Would recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to read that you enjoyed your 5 night stay with us and that you found your room quiet, clean and comfortable. Great to read that you were impressed with the customer computers in the lobby and free wifi throughout the hotel. Thank you for the very kind comments in relation to our staff, which I have forwarded to the team. Good to hear that you enjoyed the local Thai restaurant…close to the hotel.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here using an online deal which was amazing value.
The staff are welcoming and friendly and helpful and smiling always.
The rooms are spotless. The bathroom was immaculate. Lots of hot water. Free hotel parking.
The breakfast was yummy. Lots of everything. Although a buffet, it was hot and freshly cooked. I had fresh fruit scones that were divine.
Great location. Walk into city in 15 mins. no need for taxis.
Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: canal view at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. We very much appreciate your very kind comments in relation to our staff, which I have forwarded to the team. Great comments too from breakfast...which is good to hear and again location was convenient for you – 15 mins walk to the city.

Great to hear you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The mespil is good value for a clean, centrally located hotel. The rooms are always tidy, clean, the bathroom spotless, and I've never had a problem with noise. I've stayed here a few times for nights out and it's perfect. Can walk to Grafton St & home again, no problems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you have enjoyed your recent stays with us and that you find the hotel central, clean and comfortable. The location is an ideal walk to Grafton Street and we hope we will see you again in the New Year on your next visit to Dublin.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night in November and it was our first time to try this location. We got a very good deal on a voucher scheme and bottle of prosecco and chocolates were included in the room price. Car park is free and usually you will find a spot I think unless you are checking in very late. Our room was a good size with double and single bed. View was of the back of the hotel which means it is quieter as the front is on a busy main road. Bathroom was basic with little room for storage of toothbrushes etc. Heat was high in the room but radiator is controlled by you so easy to switch off. Lily O'Brien chocolates left in the room and we had our bottle of prosecco in the bar. Breakfast was ok, nothing to write home about but service was quick and tables were available for everyone that turned up. Would recommend if you are heading into town, going to a match in Aviva or concert in RDS. Very reasonable rates and good location.

Room Tip: If you want to be in a quieter room, ask for the back rather than the front rooms, views are not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the location perfect for the city centre, Aviva and RDS. Great to see that you enjoyed your Prosecco and chocolates and found the hotel ideal for your needs in Dublin

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clashmore, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The staff were very welcoming, the room was a fine size and great shower along with comfortable bed and quiet location. For the money it really is outstanding. I wouldn't even consider anywhere else to stay in Dublin. It's only a 10/15 min walk into St. Stephen's Green where there's loads to do, shopping, pubs, restaurants etc...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will definitely return. Location, comfort and value all scored highly with you which is great feedback and thank you for the very kind comments in relation to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

stayed here a few times, latest Dec 2012, and find that the hotel is fairly convenient for dublin city centre and probably one of the most central hotels with free parking (that i'm aware of...) rooms are clean but the last room we had, the en-suite could have done with a bit of a refurb. overall, we cant complain and will stay here again as it is only a 10 min walk to grafton street area. also, reception staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you really found the location and parking ideal for your needs when visiting Dublin. Thank you for kindly mentioning our reception team and I will forward your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mespil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin
Address: 50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#62 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mespil Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mespil Hotel is a modern hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green /Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Grand Canal Theatre and the RDS. Temple Bar is a further 10 minutes walk. The Mespil Hotel offers 255 bright, spacious guest bedrooms, free WIFI Internet access & guest car parking (limited availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mespil Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.