We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mespil Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mespil Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mespil Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here using an online deal which was amazing value.
The staff are welcoming and friendly and helpful and smiling always.
The rooms are spotless. The bathroom was immaculate. Lots of hot water. Free hotel parking.
The breakfast was yummy. Lots of everything. Although a buffet, it was hot and freshly cooked. I had fresh fruit scones that were divine.
Great location. Walk into city in 15 mins. no need for taxis.
Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: canal view at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. We very much appreciate your very kind comments in relation to our staff, which I have forwarded to the team. Great comments too from breakfast...which is good to hear and again location was convenient for you – 15 mins walk to the city.

Great to hear you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    489
    194
    49
    20
See reviews for
155
323
49
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The mespil is good value for a clean, centrally located hotel. The rooms are always tidy, clean, the bathroom spotless, and I've never had a problem with noise. I've stayed here a few times for nights out and it's perfect. Can walk to Grafton St & home again, no problems.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you have enjoyed your recent stays with us and that you find the hotel central, clean and comfortable. The location is an ideal walk to Grafton Street and we hope we will see you again in the New Year on your next visit to Dublin.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night in November and it was our first time to try this location. We got a very good deal on a voucher scheme and bottle of prosecco and chocolates were included in the room price. Car park is free and usually you will find a spot I think unless you are checking in very late. Our room was a good size with double and single bed. View was of the back of the hotel which means it is quieter as the front is on a busy main road. Bathroom was basic with little room for storage of toothbrushes etc. Heat was high in the room but radiator is controlled by you so easy to switch off. Lily O'Brien chocolates left in the room and we had our bottle of prosecco in the bar. Breakfast was ok, nothing to write home about but service was quick and tables were available for everyone that turned up. Would recommend if you are heading into town, going to a match in Aviva or concert in RDS. Very reasonable rates and good location.

Room Tip: If you want to be in a quieter room, ask for the back rather than the front rooms, views are not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the location perfect for the city centre, Aviva and RDS. Great to see that you enjoyed your Prosecco and chocolates and found the hotel ideal for your needs in Dublin

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clashmore, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The staff were very welcoming, the room was a fine size and great shower along with comfortable bed and quiet location. For the money it really is outstanding. I wouldn't even consider anywhere else to stay in Dublin. It's only a 10/15 min walk into St. Stephen's Green where there's loads to do, shopping, pubs, restaurants etc...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will definitely return. Location, comfort and value all scored highly with you which is great feedback and thank you for the very kind comments in relation to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

stayed here a few times, latest Dec 2012, and find that the hotel is fairly convenient for dublin city centre and probably one of the most central hotels with free parking (that i'm aware of...) rooms are clean but the last room we had, the en-suite could have done with a bit of a refurb. overall, we cant complain and will stay here again as it is only a 10 min walk to grafton street area. also, reception staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Great to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you really found the location and parking ideal for your needs when visiting Dublin. Thank you for kindly mentioning our reception team and I will forward your comments to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel in the near future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I stayed at the Mespil 7/8 December. Very good as usual. Good to see some decoration been done. But please please can some plumber get the same hot water in the bath tap to the shower valve. Two cold showers, thats ok in the summer but not in the depths of winter. I had the same problem last year........

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Apologies about your ‘cold shower’ that is quiet unusual but I will mention it to our maintenance team. Not sure if you could kindly remember your number and email it to me as that would ensure we get the right room – thank you. However you mentioned that your stay was very good – so I hope on your next visit we will surprise you with a nice hot shower.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
sales@leehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford IRl
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Needed to stay in central Dublin for a family dinner! Booked online with minimum fuss! Arrived at 4pm and parked at hotel car park,which is a huge plus.Check in was effortless,very nice reception staff! First floor non smoking room,whilst not big was very adequete! The big thing goin for this hotel is the location! Within walking distance of everything! Good value for money hotel,no frills but very comfortable!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mespil_Management, Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel Dublin.

Delighted to read that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us and that you found our location ideal. Great to hear that you found the hotel good value for money and that the car parking was a major plus. Thank you for kindly mentioning our reception staff.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mespil Hotel on your next visit to Dublin.

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

Emma Allen
Mespil Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mespil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50-60 Mespil Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mespil Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mespil Hotel is a modern hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green /Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Grand Canal Theatre and the RDS. Temple Bar is a further 10 minutes walk. The Mespil Hotel offers 254 bright, spacious guest bedrooms, free WIFI Internet access & guest car parking (limited availability). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mespil Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.