We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money-couldn't fault it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Isle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Green Isle Hotel to your Saves list
Green Isle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Naas Road | Newlands Cross, Dublin 22, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
cork
1 review
“Value for money-couldn't fault it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

I stayed at this hotel as i was attending a family party ...and was a bit worried looking at the some of reviews. Have to say was genuinely suprised .the bedrooms are lovely and plenty of space.There were four of us - 2 adults and 2 kids.the party was very enjoyable and the staff and service couldn't have been better or more friendly. there is apool and we all had a swim the next morning then we took the kids to the zoo on the Luas.
short but very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    126
    136
    100
    130
See reviews for
210
114
25
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Didn’t expect this hotel to be up to much looking at reviews but was pleasantly surprised.

Rooms are very spacious and clean. Staff welcoming and helpful with directions etc. Very easily accessible on the N7 and great value for money - we only paid €59 for two of us!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letterkenny
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

we stayed in room 238? or 258 on the second floor a family room overlooking a flat roof full of old mettle junk. i went to use the iron it was all cracked and had esposed wires. the towels we had three 1 large towel 2 small, that was for three children and two adults( more towels would be supplied if asked for ). The main corridor leading to our room was a filthy the carpet is all rolls in the middle one could actually trip on this and the only non dusty part of the carpet was were people walked. the carpet was white with dust. i asked for a tea spoon to eat a yoguart at breakfast to be told they were all ou,t my mother ask for hot water was told he would have to go to kitchen and would take a while.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

I had booked this hotel on 16th April as we (myself and boyfriend) got a great deal. €49per person which included 2 course meal, accom, and breakfast. I booked through lidl-breaks.ie So I paid a depoist of €15euro rest payable upon arrival. On the day, 8th May, I rang hotel just to double check they had our reservation- they didnt. The receptionist said she couldn check the computer in the office until 1.30pm- I rang at 12.45. She took my number said she would ring me at 1.30pm. However at 2.20pm, still never got a call so I rang back, same girl answered, she said she forgot to check she would go asap and again asked for my number. I got a call 10 mins later saying they had my reservation(as i had re-emailed it). I was stressed out to say the least as I was taking my boyfriend as it was his 30th bday. However we arrived at hotel at 3.30ish. Paid in cash, got given a room, when we got to room there was suitcase in room, wardrobe full of clothes, I was getting more annoyed by this point, went back to reception to be told by the girl who checked us in" oh i didnt realise accomodation were room moving that room". Why give it to us in 1st place!? So we got new room, the room was lovely in fairness. Albeit not clean to my standards, being a manager of a hotel myself. We took advantage of the pool,changing room not clean, hair on floor, dirt/fluff behind toilet door. Pool itself was freezing- not even luke warm, so I saw the jacuzzi... just as cold, sat in steam room for 10 mins to get some heat! After the 20-30 mins in pool trying to warm up we went for food. Got 2 paninis €13.00 I thought was bit steep for just 2 turkey paninis.
Anyway we went back to room to get ready for our dinner, Shower was great, very powerful-no complaints there. Went for dinner at 8.45. Food was lovely, waiter was friendly.. Although 1 complaint from dinner we wanted a bottle of Rosé wine but didnt have it. There was entertainment due to start at 10pm-didnt start till 10.45pm, When it did start, we could barely understand what song they were singing very muffled and tv's a bit high.
Breakfast next morning, not too bad, however not much selection for continental, no croissants, danish, scones, yoghurts. just cereal, some fruit, brown bread and juice... We usually get breakfast in bed but at €10 per person for room service, €20 was a bit of a joke!

Overall I was not happy from before we went, as I was that upset and stressed when I was told they had no reservation I had to tell my boyfriend where we were going as I was surprising him for his 30th birthday. Then he didnt want to go cos I was upset that it had gon wrong before even getting there!

I would not recommened this hotel for a leisure, business, or even a function stay. I am taking it further as I would not wish this experience upon anyone.

Oh and when checking out, I locked the room key in room, so asked receptionsit what floor could we get lift to? Was told you need a key card for lift to car park so cos Id locked mine in room, we had to walk up the ramps of the car park-needless to say a bit dangerous.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Stayed 2 nights for weekend darts event. 1st night Friday there was 21st birthday party on downstairs. we had asked for a quiet room but from midnight on people started arriving at the room across from us with bags of drink bought outside the hotel. It got very noisy and rowdy quickly with about 12 people well drunk in a room meant for 2. I guess somebody else phone the desk as a "security man" arrived and told them as they had about 10 too many in the room they could be a bit quieter. We tried to sleep but more arrived to make numbers about 20. I then rang desk to speak to somebody in charge but a very hard to understand foreign sounding gentleman told me there was no duty manager available but he'd send security man up. This time he almost apologized for asking the 20 of them to be quiet and I observed him through the spyhole looking in our direction saying they had complained and off he went. We then had our door kicked a few times during the night as he may as well have put a bulls eye on it.
We didn't phone desk anymore as it was pointless and eventually got to sleep about 5am. I complained at desk next morning and a very disinterested lady said she did see something written down about it. Again I was told no manager available but one would find us later. This of course never happened. That night was again not great but not too noisy.
On checking out on the Sunday I asked why nobody came to see us and if a note had been left with my bill but of course nobody behind the desk could answer me. We paid our bill in full and were told this invisible manager would be in touch with us after when we got home but a month later and nothing. I have seen retorts from the manager on here before but I don't think even he has can explain away the last few complaints that have appeared. I have read on here of a similar further nightmares endured at the hotel and it seems there is a total breakdown of any type of structure there and no accountability whatsoever. It is rundown, seedy but worst of all a dangerous hotel to stay in. Keep Away !

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

From 27 March to 28 March of the night we were in this hotel, at two o'clock at night the three men invaded the door without knocking and apologized. I was there alone and without clothes, because at that time my boyfriend go to smoke, and I was one. One of the men told me to put on my clothes, as manager (Padraig Blithe) want to speak to me. One of the men explanation in that room in this hotel three men use or keeping drug addicts or something like this. Later, we left the hotel in a hurry, as to remain there after the entire event was no longer possible, not suggesting anyone to visit and stay in this hotel. Staff there rude and unpleasant.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GreenIsle_GM, General Manager at Green Isle Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2010
Request has been submitted to tripadvisor to have this comment removed as it is untrue. Manager in question was not on duty on the night mentioned and no such incidents took place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed at the Green Isle in October of last year when we visited Ireland for a family function. The hotel and staff were really nice, we had a fantastic time. Our room was very nice, the breakfast was lovely. We had even booked for evening meal but as we got carried away in th bar with our long lost cousins, the staff at the hotel very kindly let us forgo our evening meal and sent sandwiches to our room later on.

I would highly recomment this place and in fact am going back on Saturday yipee xxx

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Isle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Isle Hotel

Address: Naas Road | Newlands Cross, Dublin 22, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Isle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the gateway to Dublin - Newlands Cross Naas Road. 270 bedrooms, bar,restaurant refurbished ballroom banquet up to 700, over 40 meeting rooms, swimming pool, saunas, steam room and gym and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Green Isle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Isle Conference Leisure Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Isle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.