We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One * way too many on this gable wall” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Green Isle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Green Isle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Green Isle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Naas Road | Newlands Cross, Dublin 22, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One * way too many on this gable wall”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Leisure trip to this motel with family, Feb - 09. Family room small but clean over the bar/function area (no sleep until loud music stopped at 1.30am, verified by the night manager who kindly asked if we would like to change rooms ). We tried to bring the kids for a swim to the Leisure centre (franchised) but it was closing an hour early both Friday and Saturday evening than advertised in the brochure/pool reception area so I can't really comment on the pool. The restaurant closed early Sat night by one hour 9pm instead of 10pm. The reason given was because they were so busy ???? (what). Sat night people were puking in the foyer area which took reception staff 2 hours to arrange clean up but then they were busy dealing with Gardai enquiries. This hotel was unable to show more than one sporting event on different tvs at the same time in the bar/lounge area. All above comments give a reserved discription of our experience of the Green Isle and as the title says there are "One to many STARS on the gable wall", however the public park at the back of the hotel is fantastic, the kids loved it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    90
    109
    79
    104
See reviews for
149
85
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenmare, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

Location: side of motorway at edge of housing estate. There are no redeeming features about the location apart for convience from N7. To get to the nearest shop, turn right out of hotel and take second left and follow down end of street (walking). There is a newsagent, chinese takeaway, pizzeria and chip shop. It is not pleasant and I would not recommend going here unless you are desparate.

Hotel: Builder design, as in functional, not pretty.

Leisure Centre: Pool long enough for laps, .45m kids paddle pool with bars and a slightly bigger splash pool. No jacuzzi or sauna. The steam room I did not use as a staff member threw a bottle of bleach around it, whilst I was swimming. There is a gym which appears well equipped. There is no ambience, I would not want to hang here for a spa break. You need own towel and cap. There are many signs saying not to use the hotel towels. Bring your own flip flops, shampoo and conditioner.

Room: large, pleasant and quiet. comfortable Queen size bed, x2 desk. workdesk useful. Free brodband internet via cable (BYO). Nice bath.

Restaurant: Average. Only part ofthe restuarant seems to be used. Breakfast, cheap basic breakfast, not one to linger over. Only fruit is tinned pineapple and madarin segments which is the cheapest canned choice. I think they could extend themselves a bit and have one bowl of fresh fruit salad. There were four cereals in a dispenser. Milk, no soy milk. No herbal tea options. Toast and buffet hot breakfast. I had scrambled eggs, hash brown, tomato, bacon and it was fine.

Bar area: has been renovated with 20 somethings in mind who like bling. Poor service.

General: This hotel is fine for a business stop over or conference. Free parking. Narrow parking spaces.

The restaurant staff were very helpful and pleaant.

Reception evening staff not pleasant. I tried to ring reception 7 times from room phone (dial 0) nowwhere in guest guide or phone does it tell you this, so I tried my mobile and it rang out. Walked down and there was one girl on and she was ingoring calls. The duty manager was delightful and helpful and sorted out a simple problem with the room.

I would NOT recommend this hotel for any weekend breaks as it does not have the service, atmosphere or view to make it a nice. You would not want to walk outside the door. It feels like a conference centre not a 'spa break'. If you are doing one of the spa break deals go somewhere with character and/ out in the countryside.

If you want to visit Dublin this is not so handy in that you have to take the hotel shuttle to the Luas then its half hour trip on the Luas. Spend a bit more and/or stay within walking distance of a Luas stop at Leopardstown (Bewleys) or Tallaght or get one of the current deals in the city such as D4 hotels, Bewleys or Camden Court.

Tips:
BYO internet cable
BYO padlock, swim cap, goggles, towel and plastic bag for wet gear to pool
BYO shampoo and conditioner

I would stay here again for business as it suits my needs and if the same deal is offered at 65 Euro B&B.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Having just read some reviews of this hotel, I cant believe we're talking about the same hotel !!!!!

My hubby and and stayed here for the all ireland cup final. It was handy because we could take the LUAS straight into the city centre, so we didn't have to worry about parking or traffic jams.

The hotel was absolutely lovely, There was a bit of a queue at reception, but you expect that when the hotel is busy.

The room was large and spotlessly clean and the beds were really comfy. All the staff were really helpful and friendly.

Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it.

There was a great atmosphere in the holel, the bar was very comfortable and and we had a great bit of craic there.

We're looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

The room itself was comfortable but when we opened the window, the noise of the air conditioning unit was exceptionally loud - despite having asked for a quiet room. The next day when we complained, we were told that we should have rung reception and they would have had it turned off! THAT WAS NOT THE POINT - there were other rooms they could have put us - away from the noisy air conditioning unit - but it seems to us that our request was totally ignored!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Banner county
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Where do I start????...........As you approach the hotel a large banner tells you it has the standards of a 4 star hotel but when driving in the entrance you see the 3 stars above the sign.The first experience is the car park, old, tight to manoeuvre, and only half the lighting working.After that we reached reception to be met by a snob. Firstly she spoke through us to a guest she knew while checking us in and then as we passed by later she looked us up and down as if we were something that was caught on her shoe.

When we arrived in our room we were in a state of shock at the following:-
1) Half a toilet roll for 4 people.
2)Tiles falling off the side of the bath
3)The hair dryer hose was broken on both ends.
4)The wall light shades were badly stained.
5)The window handles were broken so we couldn't deaden the noise from the road.
6)Someone else's socks under one of the beds and a member of cleaning staff wage envelope also
7)TV picture dim as the tube was on its way out.
8)Room was generally filthy in appearance.
9) Dustbin was dirty when we got there and was never changed for the 3 days we were there
10) fire alarm went off on our first night at 11pm but no one from staff informed us that is was a false alarm.
11) Breakfast was UN-organised , cold and tasteless. Tea and coffee were dire.

I could go on and on. The general message from the previous reviews in never to return to this place again. I whole heartedly agree.............STAY AWAY

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

I can understand we stayed in the older part of the hotel but a hole for a vent in the corridor window come on..the window in our bedroom did not close at all and the bathroom ceiling was dirty. tv was so low it may as well have been on the floor and remote did not always wok. As for the Leisure Center, clean you pool please the scum line looked like it was never done. There are signs up saying no life guard on duty but im sure the staff can keep an eye on the pool instead of me having to save a kid for ya. im on a break away dont fancy doing you job for ya. Also a charge on towel hire could at least say you charge for them before we go down. Finally be warned there is a price hike on beer from Fri night to Sat night of about 40 cent.. Sorry but would not recomend staying there unless stuck..

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Booked a weekend break last minute at the Green Isle in August 2009. It was the only hotel available to us with a pool as we booked so late.

Deal included dinner on one night - this wasn't great - reminded me of okayish canteen food. Breakfast was also included - this was ok but a bit on the cold side.

Rooms - old and worn. Sheets and towels were clean but the rooms and bathrooms are in bad need of an update.

Location - fine if you have a car (which we did) as you definitely wouldn't be hanging around there by choice! Definitely not located in the nicest area in the world!

Staff:
- Bar and restaurant staff were friendly
- Reception staff - not overly friendly but ok
- Leisure Centre - met one of the rudest people ever at the Reception of the Leisure Centre on Sunday morning the 24th of August.

Leisure Centre:
Where do I begin................ The pool closed at 6 p.m. on Saturday and Sunday evening.
Went to the pool on Sunday morning - weren't allowed to use our own towels and had to hire towels at €1.50 each - that's ok - if we were able to use them ............you see this is where the problem began .............. when we hired the towels we weren't informed that the lights and hot water in the changing rooms weren't working...........so once we finished our swim we had to go back to the hotel room and shower there - a bit inconvenient with two small kids.

The following morning (Monday 24th August) we asked (quite politely) at the Leisure Centre Reception beforehand were the lights and hot water fixed ............ this is where the rudest person appeared .............. he muttered something about it not being their fault but the fault of the hotel then he stormed in to the changing rooms to find out (he didn't know) and when he re-appeared he muttered to nobody in particular "YA" - we asked " is that YA the lights and showers are working" to which he again replied "YA". At no time did he make eye contact with us. Only for the fact that my kids really wanted to go swimming I would have turned on my heel and left. Also they had no towels there on this morning.

The hotel is bad enough but the attitude of this guy to me was the final blow.

I will not ever be returing to The Green Isle and would urge anyone thinking of going there to not bother.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Isle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Isle Hotel

Address: Naas Road | Newlands Cross, Dublin 22, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Isle Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the gateway to Dublin - Newlands Cross Naas Road. 270 bedrooms, bar,restaurant refurbished ballroom banquet up to 700, over 40 meeting rooms, swimming pool, saunas, steam room and gym and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Green Isle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Isle Conference Leisure Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Isle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.