We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but won't be rushing back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Isle Hotel

Save Saved
You added Green Isle Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Green Isle Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Naas Road | Newlands Cross, Dublin 22, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Ok but won't be rushing back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice little pool and gym in the hotel.

The room was fine but quite noisy as it overlooked a very busy main road.

We stayed here on a Saturday night and there was a wedding on- with lots of noise, litter, broken glasses in the corridors etc. lots of complaints from our party about the noise from drinker guests

The food was fine - nothing too exciting & breakfast was average.

All in all- it was ok but I won't be hurrying back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    90
    109
    79
    104
See reviews for
149
85
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I certainly wouldn't be in a hurry to stay in this hotel again. The main thing was the noise levels. When I got to my room there was a connecting door on both sides of the room. You could hear the TV and people talking next door very clearly. When their mobile phone went off it was like it was in our room. In the morning at about 9.30 the cleaners came out and were shouting at each other in whatever language they were speaking from the rooms and down the corridor, no chance of a lie on of any kind with that going on. Its not somewhere you would stay for more than one night and then you would only stay for some kind of purpose i.e. a wedding night or business trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, once on our way to Killarney and once on the way back.
To be honest the first stay was ok, the food was good and the service was excellent
It was the second night that was horrendous.
Here is the story:

We stayed one night at the Green Isle Hotel on the 8th September on our outward journey to the Ring of Kerry with National Holidays.
The hotel was pleasant enough, the room was spacious, well decorated, the staff were friendly and the meal was delicious.
We were looking forward to staying there on the return journey although we knew that our time there was at a premium as we had to depart from the hotel at about 6:40am to get to Dublin for the 8:10am ferry.

On arrival at the hotel on the Friday night it was almost impossible to get in because of the drunken yobbish cancer deliverers blocking the doorway with their rowdy behaviour and intransigent attitude, being obstructive in not letting us pass with cases.
On the outward journey the staff had been welcoming with the room keys.
This time the room keys were on reception, “Go and find your own key.”

We came down for the meal at 7pm. There was ONE waiter to serve 36 people. The meal took over an hour and half to serve and sometime after 8:30 we abandoned coffee as most of us wanted to get to bed before 9 as we had an early start.
Clearly the hotel attitude was that the wedding was more profitable than the coach load of people who may, but I sincerely hope not, come again

Then it all kicked off.

About 10pm there was an almighty row from several groups of drunken Irish loutesses passing our room. The woman in the next room to us, shouting out of the window “come up to room 210”
I thought there were about 10 people in room 210 the amount of noise coming from it and I decided to ring reception, but the phone didn’t work.

Eventually about 11pm, I went to reception in my dressing gown and there was this so called security guard. I asked him if he could sort out the racket in room 210 and he advised me that this was a party and he couldn’t control what was going on. So why did they have a useless security guard who was clearly the worse for alcoholic wear if he can’t control the crowd,
He said there were only 2 of them. About as much use as the proverbial chocolate fireguard.
He did something on a radio and then walked off.
I went after him and challenged him but his puerile statement was that this was a hotel and people come to a hotel for a drink.
Stupid answer from the imbecile, people actually come to a hotel for a sleep and go to a pub for a drink.

Clearly the man doesn’t understand logic.
I went back to the room and at 12:20 had to get up again and I knocked on the door of 210 to ask them to be quiet, There were just 2 girls in there. In fairness they did apologise and said that the would go downstairs.
It remained quiet for a while in the corridor but the volume of noise from the drunken yobs on the steps outside the hotel continued, keeping us awake.
It seemed that the only way for the louts to get to the main reception area was to pass through the second floor corridor.

About 2:30 a set of drunken girls went past our room screaming and woke us up again.

I filled in a report regarding the hotel and threw it at the person who said he was the duty manager. He said not to blame him it was nothing to do with him. Yes it is, he is the duty manager and if he can’t manage then he ought to be sacked. That is what management is about MANAGING!!!
He said I wasn’t the first person to complain but it was higher management who were at fault. SO I will be writing to HIGHER MANAGEMENT.

According to the ladies in the group the toilets were a disgrace with underwear discarded and the toilets smelling of urine etc.

Room Tip: Make sure that if you do have to book here you make sure that there isnt a wedding booked for the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Husband, Son & I visited Green Isle Hotel for nostalgic reasons & decided to have food. I had Salmon @ €15.50 sitting on pool of water with onions & some mushrooms & big lump of mashed potato. The other two has Irish beef burger & chips €14.50 each the dearest burger & chips they ever had and typical frozen burger in bun with leaf of lettuce & chips. My son remarked it was an outrageous price for the quality of food. The chef/cook could do with being trained or even take a look at some of the cookery programs on TV & pick a few tips on how to present food. The girl who served us was smart & attentive. Will not be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Check in , 3 people behind reception , just my husband and I the other side and it still took 15 minutes to get a room key
Room itself , large disgusting stains covering most of the carpet , remote for TV held together with brown cardboard and tape, phone broken , one towel in the bathroom for two adults . The hotel is so close to the dual carriageway you can be fully guaranteed no sleep.
Restaurant - don't even go there.
This is one dirty hovel of a hotel and I am sorry I wasted my time and money staying here.

Room Tip: Don't stay here - chose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a group and while it may look quite classy the standard of service here is appalling. Whatever they say they are unable to cater for large groups. At dinner, the food was served so slowly. By the time we got our dinner a lot of tables had their dessert finished with half an hour!! An hour and a half we waited for our dinner and when a complaint was made the manager tried to say it was asked to be served that way!! Has to be the coldest hotel ive ever been in and tea tended to taste like coffee which is rather gross! In general staff were rude and dismissive to our group and I would never go there again. Cups were served dirty. Just ridiculous. Please do not go here as they do not deserve the money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Rooms were not great. Cracked basin and bath. Could have been cleaner. Only two out of six latches remaining on the window which meant it couldn't be closed properly to keep out the noise.
Bar was good with friendly staff. Outrageous price of 4.80 for a pint of Guinness.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Isle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Isle Hotel

Address: Naas Road | Newlands Cross, Dublin 22, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 177 hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Isle Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the gateway to Dublin - Newlands Cross Naas Road. 270 bedrooms, bar,restaurant refurbished ballroom banquet up to 700, over 40 meeting rooms, swimming pool, saunas, steam room and gym and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Green Isle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Isle Conference Leisure Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Isle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.