We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge to your Saves list
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 25 Bachelors Walk, Dublin 1, Ireland (North City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
“Great location, average hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The first five days of my trip to Dublin were on my own, staying at the Arlington. I've now checked into the Doubletree on Upper Leeson Street to join a tour. I'll compare the two hotels. The Arlington is an older, smaller facility. My third floor room was a good size and clean but not luxurious. The bed was a little hard and the linens a little rougher than the Doubletree. No facecloth was provided but I had my own so I didn't ask for one. The towels were plentiful but thin. Noise was a problem. I was at the back and there is pub nearby. Without double glazing I could hear everything. There was no security latch on the door and TV was rather small, maybe 24 inches compared to the Doubletrees 40 plus inches. The Doubletree is much newer and clearly caters to businessmen and the more affluent. The Arlington Hotel can't be beat for location however. Mere feet from O'Connell Street and five minutes to Temple Bar, I walked everywhere. Lots of restaurants and pubs around plus convenience stores and supermarkets. Overall the Arlington Hotel is "average" but I gave it a "very good" for location. Stay here if luxuries are not important and you aren't a light sleeper.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    608
    248
    83
    44
See reviews for
197
581
70
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke On Trent
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Arlington O'Connell has a great location right on the river close to both Temple Bar and the main centre. I was slightly disappointed with the quality at the price we paid; our room was small and slightly cramped, but it was clean and functional. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. The cabarets can be pretty loud, which didn't matter in the room that we were in but could impact on some rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Had booked with a friend to go to a gig which was subsequently cancelled, but decided to go ahead anyway. Fantastic location and easy to find from airport buses. Rooms a wee bit dated, but the whole building has an olde wolde charm and te staff were courteous and efficient. Yes, there are better hotels in Dublin, but not in this proce range. Great breakfast, too.

Very handy for pubs and shopping. Personally, didn't do any shopping, but had a fantastic pub crawl round some of the best pubs in Dublin. Intend to return for more and will definately stay at the Arlington if I can.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed at the Arlington Hotel June 2013. The hotel was a short taxi ride away from the airport and the location was brilliant. Just outside the front of the hotel there's O'Connell Bridge, take a right and you can explore Temple Bar within a 2 minute walk, Trinity College in about 10 and Dublin Zoo in an easy 20. If you're travelling with young children there's also a bus stop right outside of the entrance to the hotel providing services to all of Dublin's main attractions.

Nightly there was Irish entertainment provided. The main restaurant where breakfast is served to guests and cafe/bar lunches are provided transforms into a bustling den of live songs, dancing and refreshments by night. We started each night off downstairs and often returned back to it the atmosphere was that good!

Our room was situated in part of the hotel that had access to stairs only, there is a lift but that only caters to part of the building. Have this in mind when checking in if anyone in your travelling group has specific needs. The room was very large, with a view overlooking O'Connell Bridge.

A great base for exploring Dublin!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Brilliant location! Breakfast was great too. Stop for the hop on bus is directly outside the hotel and about a 5 minute walk to temple bar. Hotel wasn't very modern but I would not say it was dated, this wasn't a problem with us anyway - it was a very nice hotel and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This hotel was very nice! Rooms were large and spacious! Breakfast was excellent! Location is perfect for exploring Dublin, shopping or going to 02! Only thing I would say the room I stayed in was beside the lifts and the lifts ping when they open although I booked last minute so I didn't mind! Overall very good value for money!

Room Tip: Room away from lift as lifts are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I spent one night here for business: my single room was a bit small, and as it was on the first floor the bar entertainment was quite loud at times (though not as loud as those girls who laughed hysterically until about 2.30 a.m.!). The décor is also a bit dated, as are the creaking floors.
On the plus side, it's extremely convenient for Dublin, and the breakfast was good (the full Irish and the continental are priced separately, which is good). In particular I must praise the lady in charge of breakfasts: friendly and efficient, with a word for everybody and a keen eye for service.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the further from the noise of the bar entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Address: 23 - 25 Bachelors Walk, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#62 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Dublin
Arlington Hotel o Connell Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.