We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge to your Saves list
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 25 Bachelors Walk, Dublin 1, Ireland (North City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Cork,Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hen night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Had a great hen night here .Great food and entertainment the irish music and singing was excellent.Two stags were staying same weekend so very busy but had great time.Very central location ,nice bar food too.Bus stop right outside door and
train station about 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    608
    248
    83
    44
See reviews for
197
581
70
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and we only had hot water for one night, we was offered a complimentary taxi to the airport the day of departure which arrived half an hour late as it went to the wrong hotel,making us late for our flight, the reception staff were quite unhelpful, however the breakfast staff were great very welcoming, probably wouldn't stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: back of hotel to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tramore, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here in October 2013 (myself, husband, 3 boys aged 4,8,11) and it was lovely. Breakfast staff were amazing, remembering the kids' names n all! Ate so well at breakfast we barely needed anything at lunch. Service was excellent whenever we needed it. Rooms were cleaned to perfection!. Water pressure was great. Some noise on the 2nd floor from the dance show/night club but we were at the back so it was minimal. The rooms were huge for Irish standards and we had 2 rooms on the 2nd floor which were inter-connecting (I think it was 208 and 209)...weird thing though...when we woke on the first morning and walked into the interconnecting room where the boys were, there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke! We don't smoke and the windows weren't even open! We mentioned it after breakfast on our way out for the day and when we came back it was gone (odd swiff of it now and again if you concentrated hard) so we thought problem sorted! Woke up on the second morning and same thing! Like as if one of our boys had been smoking LOTS in the room! (the oldest was 11yrs)...Both nights we heard someone putting money into the vending machine around 2-3am but then it continued...they didn't press any buttons to get a snack, they just kept putting money in! But when one of us (first night it was my son) got up to use the toilet, the money clinking stopped! Second night I heard the money again, so I waited and waited and someone kept putting money in and not retrieving anything!?!?! So I got up to use the toilet and immediately, it stopped...I didn't sleep after this! My husband would not be a "believer" of ghosts per say, but we both believe "something/someone" was in our room or very near. I would NEVER stay on this floor again and would NOT stay here without my husband/teddy bear to snuggle up to at night for fear of it happening again! I did not tell my kids about this as we may stay here again because of the central location, friendly staff, and cheap offers, but I personally would avoid rooms 208/209 at all costs! Other than that, amazing hotel...only lost one star in my mind because of the "ghost"

Room Tip: I believe 208 and/or 209 are haunted so stay if you want, but I won't be staying anywhere NEAR 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We arrived early afternoon to be told the room would not be available until 3pm, not a problem. Receptionist acknowledged we had paid for the room in advance but asked to swipe our credit card to secure payment of incidentals. We were asked to tap in our pin number which we duly did. As the transaction completed we noticed a debit of 69 Euros on the screen.... what ! We asked what the payment was for, the receptionist apologised - it was mistake, and were given a credit on the transaction. Returned for our room key at 3pm, given a first floor room, not a front view, smallish room, again not a problem. I opened the net curtain to find a variety of large ducting and a row of large noisy ventilating fans right out side the window - aaargh. Returned to reception - not a good start.

Dealt with quickly, efficiently and politely by reception, the room we were then given was on the fourth floor and it was superb. Breakfast is buffet style, fresh and plentiful. Staff are so welcoming and friendly. On the ground floor there is a huge bar & eating place which has live bands in the evening and has a real buzz about it, there is a great little heated veranda at the front of the hotel where you can take an evening drink.

The hotel is centrally located, looks out onto the Liffey and close to temple bar. Several of the must see sites are within walking distance. All in all would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If possible when booking request a high room to avoid traffic noise, the room we had was a side view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed on 13 November, and had a very good experience. We booked dinner to watch the nightly show of Irish dancing and music. Pleasantly surprised with the quality of the meal for mass catering, with great service from bar and food staff. The show was amazing, 2 hours of non stop dancing and singing, extremely professional and great enjoyment.
Breakfast choice was superb, made all the more enjoyable as served by hospitable and friendly Irish staff ( a rarity in modern Dublin)
Our bedroom was spacious with large comfortable bed and spotlessly clean.
The fabric of the hotel is definitely in need of some TLC, but this was more than made up for by our overall experience with great friendly service.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room overlooking the Liffey river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

we had a very nice room, free parking, free WiFi, right on the center of town,
close to everything, great bar inside the hotel, very warm and generous service and overall we had a great experience. we came back to this hotel again later on our trip :)

Room Tip: choose a room with a view to the river :) amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the O'Connell Bridge location of the Arlington Hotel. It was a nice old hotel in a perfect location for exploring Dublin. The room was a great size and overall very comfortable. Our view was pretty much the a/c units, so there wasn't much to look at (but then again, we weren't ever in the room). They have a live band in the pub some nights & that was pretty loud even in the room - but that seemed to be just weekends. Staff was very polite and helpful. Breakfast buffet was very nice. In the end, it was a nice stay... nothing (except location) stood out as exceptional - but nothing was bad either. Perfectly acceptable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Address: 23 - 25 Bachelors Walk, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#62 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Dublin
Arlington Hotel o Connell Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.