We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations in the heart of Dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge to your Saves list
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 25 Bachelors Walk, Dublin 1, Ireland (North City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
1 review
“Great accommodations in the heart of Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed at the Arlington for 5 nights during December 2012. I had my12 and 14 year old daughters with me. The hotel is in a great location in the heart of Dublin on the River Liffey. Great shopping, reataurants, historical attractions within walking distance of the hotel. The room was clean, spacious and overlooked the river. I awoke one morning to see 3 Santas rowing down the river. What a delightful way to greet a Dublin day! The Arlington staff were so helpful, kind, hospitable. Irish hospitality at its finest. Many thanks to the Arlington staff for making our stay in Dublin so memorable and so much fun!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    608
    248
    83
    44
See reviews for
197
581
70
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Perfect hotel for exploring Dublin city. There is a car park close by with a special daily rate for the hotel so you can walk everywhere. The rooms are fine, nothing special, but clean and tidy. The lifts are very slow especially at breakfast time. The breakfast buffet is amazing, the breakfast serving staff are friendly and very " Dublin" especially the lovely lady who seats you. We didn't eat dinner here, but did go to the bar for the end of the irish dancing show late every night, good fun. Very good value hotel and I would use it again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willenhall
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the 2nd time i have stayed at the Arlington. 1st time was for a hen weekend with 11 other women, this time was with my husband, son and his fiance, so 2 totally different trips but enjoyed both . Our flight arrived at 9am but we couldnt check in til 2. The very helpful receptionist said we could leave our bags there, which we did.
We hopped on the green tour bus and went to visit the Guiness Storehouse, which is well worth a visit. If you make it to the top of the building you get a free pint of Guiness, which i have to say went down a treat. Word of warning...if you dont like heights, which i dont, be prepared for the glass lifts and steep escalators!! Brilliant shop although the things they sell there can be bought at any of the Carrolls Gift Shops in Dublin for a few Euros cheaper. Eventually made our way back to the Arlington and checked in. We had rooms 123 and 128. These were both on the 1st floor. We could here the music from the nightclub in the bowels of the building but this didnt really bother us. The food was excellent. Staff very helpful. The Irish dancing and music in the club underneath was excellent, even my husband enjoyed that and he is hard to please!!
Taxi from there to airport cost 30 euros which really isnt too bad as the bus was 28 euros for the 4 of us. On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed the trip
Would i go back to the Arlington? Definately.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have less nightclub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

just come back from dublin today . we didnt stay in the arlington hotel o'connell bridge but had a meal there last night. well to say we wish we hadnt bothered i would have enjoyed a burger king more. the roast dinner was belly pork (more fat than meat) 2 of the tiniest roast potatoes i have ever seen .cauli and broc and mash. we ate it as we were hungry . the steaks were no better and you normally cant go wrong with a steak . i would not go there to eat again for a meal even if it was free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location as a base to explore Dublin. Room and food very good. Only minor negative was staff had no personality, service not bad though. Overall really enjoyed the stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a triple room. The room was large, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good with plenty of selection. All the staff were very efficient and could not do enough for you. The show in the evening is very good. The hotel is very well situated. We did the hop on, hop off bus which is good value -make sure you purchase from hotel reception as its cheaper than buying from the tourist office.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Cant fault location - its right on the river across from Temple Bar. Airport bus (which runs every 15 mins or so) drops you on O'Connell Street just 5 mins walk to the hotel.
Arrived a little early for checkin but reception invited us to leave our bags and have a drink in the bar or head out to the city.
Room overlooked the the youth hostel next door and we expected some noise but didnt hear a thing. Room itself was a little dated but clean (the TV was something from 80's and took 10 mins to warm up). Bathroom looked like it had been updated more recently and was vey clean.
Had a couple of drinks in the bar and found it expensive and managed to catch the end of the Irish show one night and it looked really good.
At breakfast you are greeted by a Irish lady who is full of character and 'craic' (no doubting who is in charge in there).
Plenty of choice at breakfast but getting a cup of tea or coffee can be a challenge when its busy as you have to wait for a staff member to get it for you, but there is plenty of juice to keep you going while you wait. Hot breakfast is served - carvery style and the lads cooking the eggs at a weekend were a sight to be seen, they no sooner put them out and they had to start a fresh batch. Certainly earned their money.
Really enjoyed our stay and looked forward to the organised chaos as breakfast almost as much as the food they served.
Would recommend for the location, breakfast 'experience' and value for money (being so handy for all the sights).

Room Tip: Room overlooking Youth Hostel didnt have a great view but was quiet when I stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Address: 23 - 25 Bachelors Walk, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#62 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Dublin
Arlington Hotel o Connell Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.