We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Irish Welcome!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge to your Saves list
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   23 - 25 Bachelors Walk, Dublin 1, Ireland (North City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Irish Welcome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband & I stayed here 9 years ago, it was a surprise 50th birthday trip for him. The hotel played such a big part in making it a special occasion that we vowed to comeback one day. So we did at the end of September for 5 days. We arrived about 9.00 am & we were given a very friendly welcome & it was no trouble to leave our cases there till our room was available later on that day. It was a remarkable stay from start to finish. The room we had was just perfect - no. 323. So quiet we never heard a thing our whole stay! Which is remarkable as the area can be very noisy . Every member of staff were so friendly & couldn't do enough for you. We booked for the show which was amazing, greatly improved in 9 years. though it was good then. The irish singing by Puca & the dancing were amazing so we saw it twice!! I'm still playing the CD we bought after the show! The breakfast was great, there was a tremendous choice that would suit everyone, we were constantly being asked if there was anything we needed tea, coffee, toast etc. Nothing was too much trouble. It was a great start to the day! We also had a couple of bar mealsat the hotel while we were here and thoroughly enjoyed them. The Arlington is ideally situated for all sight seeing, shopping & but of course the "Temple Bar" area! Its about a 5 min walk to the airport bus stance which comes along every 15 mins. By far the best way to getting to & from the airport. All in all just a perfect city break. We will have to come back again only sooner this time!

Room Tip: Our room was 323 at the back, it was so quiet. I am a light sleeper & this can somtimes be a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArloManager, Manager at Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear KarenDBay,

Thank you for your nice review, it is great to have guests return to us after so long and enjoy their stay. Hopefully it wont be as long until your next visit...

Kind Regards,

Eugene Fortune
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    609
    248
    83
    44
See reviews for
197
581
71
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Me & my friends where on our 1st trip to Dublin for mine and a friends birthday & were orignally booked into a hostel 3 doors up from The Arlington Hotel (Abbey Court which by the way I would never go back there even if you paid me!!) it turned out our reservation had not been received and we basically had to find somewhere to stay last minute for 2nights (not to mention Ireland vs Germany where playing so everywhere was fully booked). We just happened to walk into this hotel with the hope the receptionist would be able to help us out and I can honestly say they went out their way to find something for us and after some very stressful few hours they managed to get us two rooms for the two nights & saved us from all the stress we had encountered earlier at the hostel & as soon as we checked into the room which by the way was fantastic, lovely views across the bridge & river, clean, great size beds, we were all able to relax and start to offically enjoy our time in Dublin which we definatley did...hotel was in a perfect location for the nightlife we had an absolute blast and would definaltey be coming back again not only to experience the irish nightlife & people but for the friendly & helpful staff we can't thank you any-more & made our trip very memorable. Thank you Meggy & Gill (reception ladies) love the scouse girls :) xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArloManager, Manager at Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi vicky123_32,

Thank you for your kind review, I am happy that the girls were able to help you out in your quest for a room and delighted that you enjoyed your stay.. I will be sure to pass on your thanks to Mags and Gillian.

Kind Regards,

Eugene Fortune
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Central lotation, easy to get to/from we have stayed here several times & would most certainly return again. Nice friendly hotel, rooms very clean & of reasonable size. The breakfast is a must, plenty of choice & as much as you can eat! Evening entertainment in the bar area was fantastic......traditional Irish dancers & folk songs that everyone joined in with, Note if wanting to eat in the evening a table must be booked & set menu with various choice although we felt that it was a better meal if taken before the evening show. Plenty to see & do around Dublin!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms away from the main road & not directley above the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArloManager, Manager at Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear robinmarion,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and our Dinner and Show. I will pass on your compliments and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Eugene Fortune
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here for a week and loved everything about the hotel. Room was very clean and everything was in good working order. The staff were very helpful and made sure we were happy with our stay. The buffet breakfast was great, had a different variety of food which was top class. Their night show of irish dancing and music was the highlight of the stay, make sure you dont miss out. All in all a great hotel with awesome service. Highly recommend staying here if in Dublin

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArloManager, Manager at Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Christopher T,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you found the hotel so much to your liking. Please keep us in mind for your next trip to Ireland,..

Kind Regards,

Eugene Fortune
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed at the Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge for a total of 3 nights & it was great. Everyone was so pleasant & accommodating. The room was spotless & even though it may not be the most modern hotel in Ireland, it may be the greatest. I checked in very early & the front desk staff made it a point to have a room ready for me. Jane & Mags were espescially helpful when I came back for a 2nd time & needed a room for 2 nights. The O'Connell Bridge location was solidly booked but they secured a room in a very busy Dublin at their sister hotel, the Arlington Hotel Temple Bar. I highly recommend this hotel. It's central, clean & the nightly Irish music in the downstairs bar is always fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArloManager, Manager at Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear 100mphnyc,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for reviewing. I will be sure to thank Mags and Jane for looking after you so well. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Eugene Fortune
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The location is perfect for a trip to Dublin. The hop on hop off bus literally stops in front of the hotel. The rooms are decent enough. They are clean and have all the basics, but they are in desperate need of a renovation. The dinner show food isn't great, but the show itself makes it worth it. Breakfast was a little boring compared to the others we had on the trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Had no issues at all with the hotel itself, clean and in a good location. I agree with some comments about the reception staff and one female who was helping in the bar and grill who could do with a few lessons in manners. However luckily for her or maybe us two very nice guys worked in the bar for the rest of the night. I won't name and shame the two female staff that need to work on their manners as thanks to Killian and the other guy who's name badge only said Manager (think he said he was Czech) we had a fantastic first night at the Arlington. This was made all the more hilarious by the ex-staff party that came in later who were all as nice as the two behind the bar!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArloManager, Manager at Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Lynn1986,

Thank you for your review. I have passed my congratulations on to Killian and Yerka in the bar and also spoken to the Bar Manager and Reception Manager concerning the relevant staff that you highlighted. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Eugene Fortune
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge

Address: 23 - 25 Bachelors Walk, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#63 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Dublin
Arlington Hotel o Connell Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.