We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Save Saved
You added O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 177 hotels in Dublin
GreenLeadersBronze level
belfast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this charmingly elegant hotel for two nights to celebrate my birthday. Our room was large and airy with a ginormous bed and two very comfortable chairs. This made relaxing at the end of a day spent walking around Dublin very restorative! The bathroom was elegantly fitted, clean and warm. After a very good night's sleep we enjoyed a generous breakfast with very helpful staff, keen to make our meal enjoyable. I found the reception staff particularly helpful and full of helpful advice. The hotel is situated a very short walk form Pearse station making it very convenient. We found two delightful restaurants nearby - Pasta Fresca in Chatham Street off Grafton Street and La Mere Zou on St Stephen's Green. The latter was very very pleasant and the food tasty and good value. All in all a great value stay and I certainly want to come again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    318
    114
    30
    14
See reviews for
131
286
35
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

My boyfriend and I went to Ireland over New Years, and we stayed at the Davenport in Dublin for the last two nights we were there. The hotel is not exactly close to the heart of Dublin, and in winter time, this was a little cumbersome. I'm sure the walk would be great in the summer. I loved the look and feel of the hotel. It was traditionally decorated and the doors inside were old-style - very cool. The bed was comfortable, and the room wasn't huge, but it was roomy enough. The bathroom was nice, but the tub could really use some recaulking. The grout was pretty dirty. And since the place is old, the walls were thin enough to hear other guests. Overall, I liked the place ok. I might try a different O'Callagan when we go back, just to see how they compare.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2011

Booked the O'Callaghan Davenport for our anniverary. We were going to a Leinster game in the Aviva Stadium and wanted to be that side of the city centre. The girl in reception was very friendly and we were upgraded to a Junior Suite when she heard that it was our wedding anniversary. She had excellent English and could not have been any more helpful. The room was perfect, large, comfortable and a nice bed. Breakfast was not included in our rate but still found the whole experience a very pleasant one. I have also stayed in the O'Callaghan Alexander and this hotel is definately a huge step up from it. The only issue I would have with this hotel was the convoluted parking which is a little bit away from the actual hotel itself. But i suppose parking is an isssue with many hotels in the city centre. Another thing actually was the fact that you had to pay for wireless internet access, this should not be the case in any hotel worth its salt...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Dark rooms, not recommendable for business purposes. Very small gym. Good restaurant but slow service.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed at the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel for 3 nights in the middle of January. Very convenient location for the Air Coach stop from Dublin Airport on Merrion Square North. The hotel is a little walk (between 5-10mins) from Grafton St/Trinity College, but its easily walkable and the Georgian terraces around Merrion Square are very pretty if you walk towards St Stephens Green, not to mention the impressive National Gallery of Ireland.

We were lucky enough to be allocated a large room on the corner of the top floor, with the room being double aspect and with a generous area for seating in front of the TV. My brother was in another room on the floor below and his room was half the size, with no view to speak of. You can see from the Fire Escape maps on the back of the door that some rooms are larger than others.

We paid 54EUR per night, booked with the" More EURO 4U - 3 night saver" which is very good value for central Dublin, especially given the price we paid for meals out etc.

Staff were very helpful when one evening we had no electricity in our room and they offered to move us straight away before managing to find the fuse which was at fault.

There is a computer in the hotel lobby for free internet access. We did not use any other hotel services so cannot comment on these.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed at the Davenport for two nights,excellent central location,clean and comfortable rooms,John at the desk was very helpful,girl in the bar-Kate very friendly and excellent service,food simple but tasty,24 h room service,night reception nice,outstanding value!The only negative is that the service in the breakfast room is pretty poor and one of the managers(blond short hair girl) very unpleasant and scary.But overall a realy good hotel and i feel 100%comfortable recomending The Davenport

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We stayed at The Davenport hotel for two nights.Excellent central location,clean and comfortable rooms,John at the desk was very helpful,girl in the bar-Kate friendly and excellent service,nite reception tired but very nice,food simple but tasty,24h room service,outstanding value!The only negative is that the service in the breakfast room is pretty poor and one of the managers (short blond hair girl) very unpleasant and scary!But overall a realy good hotel and i feel 100%comfortable recomending The Davenport.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Dublin
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#42 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.