We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough...if wi-fi is not important.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Massena
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough...if wi-fi is not important.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our room was booked through a self-drive tour agency that my daughter and I took throughout Ireland and Scotland. I noticed that in the hotel's on-line information, they said there is free Wi-Fi if you book through their on-line site. As we booked through a tour group we asked them to check with the hotel to see if we could still get free Wi-Fi. They said they assumed it would be no problem. When checking in the young lady at reception seemed to have heard many complaints from customers about the Wi-Fi not being free (as it was in virtually every B&B we stayed in as well as most every shop/store/restaurant and pub we visited....even in the Highlands of Scotland). I was incredulous that in this day and age, a higher end hotel does not include it. Well, to make a long story somewhat shorter....the manager did agree to give us free Wi-Fi for our two day stay. I thought that was very kind of him. The hotel lobby was very nice and the elevators was quick. Our room was lovely and the bathroom was big and well laid out. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioner was very efficient. The location was very central and I would consider staying again, however, only when they come around to free Wi-Fi. The breakfast was mediocre but the dining room was lovely. All except for one young woman, the staff was very helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Davenport Hotel again in the future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    352
    132
    32
    14
See reviews for
143
323
38
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bermuda
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Davenport is in a great location (one block from Merrion Square - the corner with the Oscar Wilde statue) for sight seeing in Dublin. We could easily walk to everything we wanted to see in the city. The hotel has lots of old world charm but with comfortable new beds, fluffy duvets and a good shower. The front desk staff were very friendly and extremely helpful in providing directions and recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Operations Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear glashead,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Davenport Hotel.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we get to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a long weekend break in Dublin and found the city charming. The Davenport is a nice hotel to stay in while in the city, being quiet but close to a large proportion of the sights.

I think the title of my review says it all though.

The rooms were comfortable, of a pretty good size and made for a pleasant and private stay. That's where the positives end...not that there are major negatives, there aren't, just points for improvement.

The wifi is awful. 30 mins free each day - fair enough, but I wish I could have got access to it! My partner persisted and even then, was disappointed by the hurdles and speed.
The TV in the room shouldn't have been there if an appropriate service couldn't be provided. On several occasions the screen crackled and flickered, advised that "the sky box is due to enter standby" and even that the channel was "locked"...on all channels on my last morning. The volume was not consistent across the channels and lots were duplicated. Also, and I have no idea why it did this, it switched itself on in the middle of the night to reveal static...
The bathroom was pleasant, however I would expect water to drain quicker down the bath plug, a better quality of toilet paper and perhaps a nicer toilet seat!?!?
Housekeeping did a good job of keeping our room clean and tidy during our stay which was welcome after a day of exploring the city, but calling at 8.30am on a Saturday morning is a little extreme. I will hold my hands up, I didn't not put the 'do not disturb' sign on the door, but I had locked it, however this did not prevent the maid from unlocking the door with her key rather than the just using her door card! :-s

A pleasant stay, but not a 4* stay. Those small details are important and necessary to pay attention to!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Operations Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear oodlesofdoodles,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to hear that overall you did enjoy your stay with us, but am naturally disappointed to hear some of your comments, most of which are very easily rectified. I have taken your constructive feedback on board and will be discussing this with the team here at the Davenport.

We do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel if you are looking for a safe, quite, and clean accommodation. I was traveling alone and wanted a nice clean and quite place to return to. The bed was super comfortable and having the en suite was just what this traveler wanted. This is located in an area of the city that feels more like a neighborhood. You are a 5 minute walk from Trinity college and the heart of Dublin's shopping district. Very close to several great pubs that allow you to enjoy a pint with the locals and not the tourist crowd. The staff was very accommodating. Even allowed to check in prior to the 2 o'clock check in time. Of course had my room not been available I could have left my bags at the desk. I can not recommend this place highly enough. I will be letting my friends know and formy next trip I already know where I will stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Operations Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Lori B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripdvisor.

I am delighted to read your fantastic comments about your stay. We will always offer rooms available before the 2pm check in time once we have them.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Charming hotel wih convenient location...minutes from Trinity College, National Gallery of Dublin and Kilkenny where many Irish made products are sold. I really thought the hotel staff were very helpful and courteous! I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Operations Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear kteacheflowers,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to hear that you had such a fantastic stay with us. We are very lucky to have such a great location and are in walking distance to all of the local attractions and shopping areas.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel was great!
- SUPER comfortable bed, clean room, nice shower, quiet
- great location 5 min walk from Grafton street
- staff was moderately friendly. The man at the front desk was very nice - the lady could have smiled but small detail!
- it was raining most of the time we were there and the hotel leant us an umbrella which meant we were still able to see the city
- ONLY complaint was the 10 euro/day charge for wifi - it is such a pet peve of mine when hotels charge for wifi in the rooms!
- having said that there is a computer in the lobby that you can use so this somewhat makes up for it
Side note: we discovered a great little French bakery/pastry shop on the main street that you walk on to get to the touristy areas - Nassau I think the street is called. The pastries weren't quite as good as those we've had in Paris, but close and the espresso was the best we found during our whole trip! It was called Hansel and Gretel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Operations Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear tkemp111,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a great stay with us and I will pass you kind comments on to all involved.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Davenport Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had this hotel prebooked for family reunion. Staff is so great and helpful; stored our luggage for 2 days without any charge. Does have a pub across the street on the North side of building and even on a Sunday evening there is 'high life'.
Very central for the South side of the river;
You will have to pay for wireless - every other place on our trip was free.
Has power receptacles for other electrical plugs which is great

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooley05, Operations Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear wood95,

Thank you for posting your review of the O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel.

I hope you all enjoyed your family reunion here with us, it was a pleasure to have such a nice group staying with us. We are always glad to assist with storing your luggage while you are visiting other parts of Ireland.

We do hope to welcome you all back for your next reunion.

Kind Regards,

Graham Cooley
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Dublin
#25 Family Hotel in Dublin
#28 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#35 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.