We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel to your Saves list
O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Iasi, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice location, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I could walk to Stephen's Green Park and city center ( 5-6 minutes ). It's a good location, quiet though facing the main street. Had breakfast in the morning and the choice was good. Lunch was also ok in their pub , served fast even if they had to attend a big group in the restaurant. There was this nice waiter, italian , that gave us a few hints on where to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear DConstantin

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review following your recent stay at the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Martin Dagger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    393
    142
    33
    15
See reviews for
153
369
45
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed for 1 night and will definitely stay again.

We thought everything about the hotel was excellent from the minute we walked into the lobby.

The receptionist was very friendly and helpful (Rachel I think her name was, dark haired girl) the few times we had dealings with her and its because of the excellent service I am writing the review.

The room was very spacious. The King size bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean.

The location is perfect too and only a quick walk from the city centre.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear GHearne

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and must thank you for the lovely review. I have thanked Rachael personally for he excellent customer service work. We love to see specific staff mentioned as we all find that so encouraging. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Martin Dagger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I would recommend this hotel great location, fantastic breakfast.
parking nearby in lockup car park if required. the car park has a special rate with the hotel.
well run hotel great rooms.
the hotel is close to all amenities even the O2 Point theatre is within walking distance.

Room Tip: no swimming pool or spa, that did not bother me or my wife as we were only there for one night. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Edmond_11

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and must thank you for the lovely review. We do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Martin Dagger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed one night on a business trip. Quick and friendly check in. Room spacious and had all the right services. Good shower, big comfortable bed (2x twins locked together), modern flat screen TV with most required channels, trouser press and iron and board and enough towels for one. The hotel is styled in wood panelling and has a olde worlde feel without being old. Also had nice bar area we used and like most places in Dublin not cheap for a pint (€6 !?). Minor gripe would be charging for WiFI (€6.99 for 12 hours) and despite turning off aircon / heating room was too warm in middle of night but didn't affect sleep. Excellent location - 10mins to Grafton St and 15mins to Temple Bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear TartanTeddyBear

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you choose to return to the hotel on your next visit to Dublin. If you do so please book your stay on our own website as Wi-Fi would be included in the rate. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon .

Kind Regards
Martin Dagger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I needed a hotel at the last minute and got a late bargain with this. Very central; location, secure parking nearby and very nice staff. The room was very spacious, clean and well appointed. I will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Bazerelli

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the positive comments and hope hope to see you back at the Davenport soon!

Regards
Dion Carstens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

After a misunderstanding about a booking the O'Callaghan management were very quick in responding and not only fixing the problem but ensuring that I would be confident in coming back and would be looked after.

The location of this hotel is excellent for being in the heart of Dublin. The hotel itself is grand on the outside and immediately inside . My initial room however was in need of updating. Upon bringing this to the attention of the staff another room was immediately made available.

I would be confident of booking this hotel again.

It's a short stroll to all the points of interest in Dublin and cannot be beat for location.

I would agree with other reviews in that it may have been a four star at one point, but not now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Quiglm

I am happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us at the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel. I am also very pleased to hear you were well accomodated by the management and staff alike and that we made your stay comfortable and memorable. Both the staff and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Dion Carstens
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A Really nice stay. Reception were very friendly, we arrived just before the time you can check in, but they were happy to check us in before 2pm. Location of the hotel was great could easily walk to temple bar and city centre. The Dublin tour bus stops outside Marrion square literally 2 minutes away and you can buy tickets at reception. I would really recommend the Davenport to anyone looking for a hotel in Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davenportgm, Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear IanH

Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. I am glad to hear you will be recommending the hotel in the future and do hope to welcome you back to the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel soon.

Best regards

Martin Dagger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#37 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#51 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.