We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Garden Escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin to your Saves list
Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stillorgan Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #28 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Inuvik, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Garden Escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Radisson Blu St. Helen's in Dublin for 9 nights in July 2013. The hotel sits in extensive gardens, one of which is beautiful rose garden. While the hotel is not in the city centre, a bus just outside the hotel gate provides frequent and direct service to downtown Dublin.

The hotel staff is courteous, friendly and very eager to be of assistance. The buffet breakfast offers a typical Irish breakfast with ham, bacon, sausages, scrambled eggs, baked beans, grilled tomatoes and mushrooms. However, fresh fruit, cereal and yogurt as well as cold cuts and cheese and smoked salmon are also available. Upon request, pancakes, porridge and a variety of egg dishes are made to order.

The rooms are not of the typical Radisson Blu Scandinavian minimalist style, but of a more traditional (some say fusty) type. However, the beds are very comfortable and the bathroom amenities are of the same brand and quality as all other Radisson Blu hotels.

The hotel has a small business centre with complimentary internet access and a nicely appointed gym.

We were very comfortable, although the TV was a bit awkward to access as one must scroll through a number of screens to find the channel wanted. Also, the screen directory and the channel guide in the hotel brochure do not always match. I also had a bit of trouble with the handheld shower; at times it worked fine, at others it proved to be stubborn.

All in all, the beautiful setting, the attentive staff, the generous breakfast and the in-room coffee and tea maker (including shortbread) all make our stay very pleasant and memorable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front of House Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and also for choosing our hotel for your stay in Dublin. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay with us and that we have been able to meet all you expectations.
We do hope to welcome you back for another special break in the recent future.
Thank you again
Kind regards,
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    368
    145
    57
    37
See reviews for
283
415
42
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed one night at the Radisson Blu St. Helen's hotel in Dublin, wish I would have extended my stay an additional night. I have read other reviews where they say the hotel is 'old', 'dated', my opinion is that is part of it's charm! The building dates back to 1750, I wouldn't expect it to be a fully modern facility, however they have done a wonderful job of incorporating modern updates without losing the old world charm of this hotel. Throughout our visit to England and Ireland we stayed 6 nights in a total of 5 different hotels (including all three Radisson Blu's in Dublin), the St. Helens hands down had the most comfortable bed and room of the 5 hotels we stayed. When I awoke in the morning, I was so comfortable I didn't want to even get out of the glorious bed! It was truly the best night sleep I had on our entire trip. The hotel was also very quiet. When we arrived there was a wedding party going on, we were expecting to hear lots of noise in our room from the party go-ers, but not a peep was heard. The room was very nicely decorated, the furnishings, while not 'modern' (I wasn't looking for modern), were clean, comfortable and charming. The hotel is a bit away from everything, so unless you want to take the bus into town you are pretty much stuck eating at one of the hotel's restaurants, which like most hotel restaurants was somewhat upper scale and overpriced. (I feel this way about all hotel restaurants, not just the one at the St Helen's). The bus stop for the airport shuttle and the city center bus line is literally located directly in front of the hotel grounds. The hotel website mentions it is a three minute walk to the bus stop, but that walk is completely taken thru their beautiful grounds and gardens. You exit their gate to the sidewalk and you are at the bus stop. I was originally scheduled 2 nights at this hotel, then changed my mind to move to a hotel at the airport for my last night as I had a morning flight. I regret that decision, the trip from the hotel to the airport on the airport shuttle was very convenient, and i missed out on an extra night at this lovely hotel. If I return to Dublin I will definitely stay at the St. Helen's again, and would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the Dublin area. One downside I will mention, is it is well out of the city center, I didn't have an opportunity to try out the city bus line from the hotel to the city center, but if you plan any of the tourist day trips out of Dublin, they all leave very early in the morning (6:50), so I would have a small concern about getting from the hotel to the city center for an early morning trip, but again, I didn't test out what the city bus line was like for getting you into the center timely.

Room Tip: We paid the extra 5 euros to have a room with a view of the fountain, it was a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front of House Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and also for your kind review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here at the Hotel.
We too are looking forward to welcoming you back to us one day, please do not hesitate in contacting me directly when booking by emailing caitriona.mcgroary@radissonblu.com or by dailing 353 1 2188159 direct line.
We look forward to hearing from you then and again many thanks.
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legan, Longford, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We always celebrate our wedding anniversary in different hotels and this experience was worst.
We were expecting more from the 5 star hotel. We stayed in a 3* hotel last year and got better room and free chocolates(nice touch).
In Radisson Blue we got smelly room…look like the only smoking room on the floor with terrible view.
Hotel itself is nice and clean…but not 5* hotel. Room service was very nice and helpful.
We were overcharged for the mini bar…just didn’t want to argue for 1€.
In the bar my husband ordered pasta ‘’months special’’ and he was told that evening menu starts @ 5pm (it was 4.50pm)
Even that in the menu was clearly written all months specials served from 4pm!!
Other table was served at the same time and they got pasta!!!! Not nice.
Stay was ok, but not worth it to overpay for 5*

Room Tip: room with the fron view or garden view. and definetelly non smoking one if you don't smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front of House Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
I would like to thank you for staying with us and also for your constructive review.
I am very sorry to learn that you were overcharged when using the mini bar and also the service in our Orangerie Bar did not meet our standard. Please accept my sincere apologies.
I would also like to extend my best wishes on your recent wedding anniversary.
Should you decide to return to us, please contact myself directly by emailing caitriona.mcgroary@radissonblu.com or by dialing 01 218 8159 direct line as I would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to us again.
Kind regards
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you plan to spend a lovely time in a gorgeous and peaceful hotel you should definitely consider the Radisson Blu St. Helen's. I spent to nights with my wife there and we were very impressed with the building and all the staff. We had our dinner in Talavera and the food was very good but what really made us to feel at home was the waiter Renato who took care of us like no one did before! he was very helpful and extremely knowledgeable so if you wanna great service Renato is the man to look for!!! Thank you so much boy!! keep it up :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front of House Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and also for choosing our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I also forwarded a copy of your feedback to Renato who really appreciated the mention.
We do hope to welcome you back at St. Helen’s in the recent future.
Many thanks again
Kind regards,
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

When our tour group was boarding our coach to leave St.Helen after a wonderful stay in Dublin in August 2013, the hostess Catrina over heard me ask a fellow traveler where her cane was which she really did need for stability. She said she left it in town while shopping. Quietly Catrina pulled me aside and said she thought she had one in the hotel which another guest had left. In a few short minutes, she appeared with a beautiful walking stick for the traveler. The traveler was so grateful. I was so thankful to Catrina and amazed at her observation of the situation and initiative to try to help us. It is the little acts of kindness that can have such a great impact. Thank you Catrina for going above and beyond "the call of duty"!
Charlotte Gorun
Clifton NJ USA

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front of House Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Charlotte,
Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted that we were able to help.
We do hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time here in Ireland and that we will have the chance to welcome you back to us in the future.
Many thanks and kind regards
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1night staff were friendly, grounds are beautiful, our room was clean and comfortable although we didn't stay in the 5* rooms I cannot fault the room,, you'd know it was built on an old building but for me that makes it all the more nicer for a one night stay I couldn't ask for more

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front of House Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and also for staying with us. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
I do hope to get the chance to welcome you back at St. Helen’s in the recent future.
Many thanks again.
Kind regards,
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

After a rough start in Dublin , we booked into the Radisson Blu at St Helen's. What a gem! The setting was enough to "steal your heart away" and everything else was well beyond expectations.
The staff at the front desk, Thomas in particular, was excellent; the range of eateries and menus was excellent too.
Why more people don't know about this hotel, we don't know? Certainly we will be recommending it to all our Australian friends going to the Emerald Isle.
Excellent value, fantastic stay

Room Tip: Any room is good. Ours was beside the lift, but set well back with a small passage so we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front of House Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and also for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team has been able to meet all your expectations. I have also forwarded a copy of your review to Thomas who really appreciated the mention.
We do hope to get the chance to welcome you back at St. Helen’s in the recent future.
Thanks again
Kind regards,
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Address: Stillorgan Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Business Hotel in Dublin
#26 Family Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5* Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel is an 18th century Georgian Manor House situated in 4 acres of formal gardens. From the moment you enter the lavishly clad Carrera marble entrance hall of St. Helen’s you’ll notice the difference. Because few, if any, of the great mansions of Ireland have so successfully combined the rich historichospitality of traditional manor living with the luxurious comforts and expectations of today’s modern lifestyles. Relax and enjoy a magnificent diversity of surroundings which combine warm welcoming fireplaces, soft armchairs, the romantic ambiance of a lofty minstrels gallery & the elegant old world charm of the library together with so many modern luxurious facilities. Everywhere at St. Helen’s you’ll be pampered with superior comforts and you’ll enjoy a friendly professional service which is second to none. St Helen’s has an unsurpassed reputation for providing guests with the very finest rooms and suites. Our 151 air-conditioned bedrooms have beenrecently upgraded to the highest standards of comfort and luxury. Features in all bedrooms include Egyptian cotton sheets, extra long beds, pillow top mattresses, duck down duvets, over sized pillows, luxurious towelling and furnishings. All our bedrooms enjoy a 24-hour superior room service which is described as one of the very best in Ireland.A wonderful experience awaits you everywhere and at any time of the day or night in St. Helen’s. We pride ourselves on our attentionto detail, our services, our facilities and, above all, we are proud to share the magnificent legacy of St. Helen’s hospitality and comforts with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu St. Helen`s Hotel, Dublin Hotel Dublin
Radisson Dublin
Radisson Sas Dublin Hotel
Dublin Radisson
Radisson St Helens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.