We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice just outside of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin to your Saves list
Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stillorgan Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #26 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A good choice just outside of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I attended a wedding at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised at the high quality of the hotel which is set in beautiful grounds. It is easy to reach from the airport via the Aircoach with a stop just outside the gates. There are of course more central options if your primary objective is to explore the city of Dublin itself.
My double room was spacious, well-equipped and comfortable with an extremely comfortable bed.
Breakfast had a good selection although the hot options were more lukewarm than hot which meant after 5 minutes on a cold plate, everything was quite greasy and congealed.
Staff were very friendly the reception team were very helpful, even conjuring up an emery board for a midnight broken nail emergency (although quite why the vanity pack comprising an emery board and cotton buds had not been in the room in the first instance was a bit of a mystery as they obviously had branded packs available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front of House Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while attending a wedding and also for taking the time to give us your constructive review.
We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope we will have the chance to welcome you back one day.
Many thanks & kind regards
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    338
    137
    53
    35
See reviews for
262
373
39
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

When we first arrived in Ireland for our CIE Coach tour, we had the luxury of staying at this wonderful hotel. We were able to check in immediately and rest enough to recover from the jet lag. It was exquisite inside and out down to the floral rose pattern in the carpet and the beautiful marble. As I recall the history of this facility, it was created to be an Abbey. It was beautifully recrafted to be comfortable while preserving the elegant setting . The Irish breakfast was delicious at hearth side. It was the perfect beginning to a wonderful week of exploring the enchanting Emerald Isle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front of House Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and also for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to offer you are early check in prior to the start of your tour of Dublin and around Ireland.
We do hope you will return to us one day.
Many thanks and kind regards
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here because of its location within walking distance (or a short bus ride) to the university campus where we were attending a conference. The site is several miles outside of the city center, but easily accessible by buses (which also go to the airport). The hotel appears to be a converted and expanded country house, set far back from the road on a large lawn. The public areas are lovely and there is a bar/restaurant in a glass addition which maintains the nineteenth century feel. It is very pleasant to enjoy a drink or a meal on the terrace overlooking the grounds (which are perfect for a garden party.) (Although the servers were easily overwhelmed by a large crowd). Our room was large, clean, and comfortable with a roomy bathroom (the first we had after traveling through NYC and Scandinavia!) Breakfast is served in a sub-ground floor restaurant which was a little worse for wear; the food was fine. This would be a good choice for people traveling by car or with business at the university.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front of House Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while attending the conference at UCD, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the Hotel. Thank you also for taking the time to give us your feedback, we really appreciate your constructive comments.
We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back to us one day, if I can be of assistance when booking, please do not hesitate in contacting me by emailing caitriona.mcgroary@radissonblu.com or by dialing 353 1 2188159 direct line.
Thank you again.
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was a return stay for us. In the past I have valued their lovely staff, great food, charming location, and quiet rooms. All of these were still true - except for the quiet. Since sleep is a key part of why I rent a hotel, I was seriously disappointed. In the first two calls to the front desk, the management told us they would 'investigate' the noise and inquired if perhaps it was 'the ice machine'. They said they would see if they could quiet it down and see how it was after 10 minutes. Our own investigation showed that our room was located under the party room - with party just getting started. Although the staff did move us eventually, and we did get some sleep in the end, I am VERY disappointed in the fact that we had a noisy room to begin with, and that the management did not immediately resolve the situation with the first call. We were not the only guests complaining of party noise at checkout.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front of House Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for returning to stay with us and also for taking the time to give us your constructive review. I am very sorry that you had to room move during this stay due to noise from another room, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
I do hope this isolated incident will not deter you for coming back to us as we greatly appreciate you as our guest. Please contact myself directly when returning to Dublin and I will assist with the necessary arrangements, I can be reached by emailing caitriona.mcgroary@radissonblu.com or by dialing 01 218 8159.
I look forward to hearing from you then.
Kind regards
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a lovely time at this hotel. The grounds and neighborhood are pretty to take a walk. The bus goes by the park at the front of the hotel and is convenient to get into town. The DART train is just down Booterstown Road if you want to go to Howth or Dun Laoghaire. The hotel is just a 10 minute taxi ride into the center of town as well.

Radisson is lucky to have such nice employees working for them. All of the ladies at breakfast are on the ball and quick to help. The ladies at the front desk are just as helpful. Our favorite person for good advice was Thomas, the concierge. He didn't mind us Americans asking all of the pesky questions and he had good advice on where to go. He was particularly helpful finding a links course for my husband and son to play. We would most definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front of House Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently and also for your kind review.
I am delighted you had a nice time with us and enjoyed the service we provide. Thank you also for mentioning our colleague Thomas, I have forwarded him a copy of your review and he too extends his sincere gratitude.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to us again one day.
Many thanks
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed with the family for a weekend recently for my Daughter's wedding and it was just magical. The attention to detail by management left no stone un turned making the two days just perfect for everyone who attended. cannot wait to see the photographs as the setting and flowers were stunning. All of the staff were attentive, pleasant,helpful, relaxed and calm which created the wonderful atmosphere. Food was delicious, rooms were spacious, spotless and very comfortable. A special thanks to the Manager Donal Lydon who could not have done any more to make our stay perfect. Thanks to Graham and Trevor and the rest of the staff also. hope to see them all soon again.
Gráinne Bray, Meath

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front of House Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing our Hotel to host your daughters wedding, we are delighted to be part of this special occassion. Thank you also for the kind review which I have forwarded to our team here at the Hotel especially Donal, Graham and Trevor who greatly appreciate the mention.
We would like to extend our best wishes to the happy couple and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the near future.
Again many thanks.
Kind regards
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I visited the Radisson Blu St Helens Stillorgan Road Blackrock Dublin recently for the Reception of my daughters marriage. It was an amazing experience to be there for two wonderful nights.
The staff who looked after us were so professional yet warm and welcoming. Our every need was attended to and they all seemed so willing to ensure the occasion and our stay was memorable and comfortable. I cannot speak too highly of them all. Bar staff, reception staff and household staff bent over backwards for us. My daughter and her husband left there with the nicest memories of their wedding reception that will live with them for the rest of their lives.
The management of the hotel linked in with us on several occasions to ensure all was as we expected but it was much more and service was exceptional.
I would recommend this beautiful hotel in it's amazing setting to anyone who wants excellence in hotel service.
Thank you to you all at the Radisson Blu St Helens.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the stunning gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front of House Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing us to host your daughters wedding here at the Hotel, we are delighted that you all enjoyed the food and service we provide.
We would like to extend our congratulations and best wishes to your daughter and her husband and we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you all back to us soon again.
Many thanks also for taking the time to give us your review and kind feedback.
Best Wishes
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Address: Stillorgan Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#28 Family Hotel in Dublin
#29 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5* Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel is an 18th century Georgian Manor House situated in 4 acres of formal gardens. From the moment you enter the lavishly clad Carrera marble entrance hall of St. Helen’s you’ll notice the difference. Because few, if any, of the great mansions of Ireland have so successfully combined the rich historichospitality of traditional manor living with the luxurious comforts and expectations of today’s modern lifestyles. Relax and enjoy a magnificent diversity of surroundings which combine warm welcoming fireplaces, soft armchairs, the romantic ambiance of a lofty minstrels gallery & the elegant old world charm of the library together with so many modern luxurious facilities. Everywhere at St. Helen’s you’ll be pampered with superior comforts and you’ll enjoy a friendly professional service which is second to none. St Helen’s has an unsurpassed reputation for providing guests with the very finest rooms and suites. Our 151 air-conditioned bedrooms have beenrecently upgraded to the highest standards of comfort and luxury. Features in all bedrooms include Egyptian cotton sheets, extra long beds, pillow top mattresses, duck down duvets, over sized pillows, luxurious towelling and furnishings. All our bedrooms enjoy a 24-hour superior room service which is described as one of the very best in Ireland.A wonderful experience awaits you everywhere and at any time of the day or night in St. Helen’s. We pride ourselves on our attentionto detail, our services, our facilities and, above all, we are proud to share the magnificent legacy of St. Helen’s hospitality and comforts with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Rezidor, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu St. Helen`s Hotel, Dublin Hotel Dublin
Radisson Dublin
Radisson Sas Dublin Hotel
Dublin Radisson
Radisson St Helens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.