We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, charming, superb.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin to your Saves list
Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stillorgan Road, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #32 of 172 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“great, charming, superb.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Here i liked the atmosphere, i've been there in the winter (march '13), was cold and rainy outside and then after a shower you enter the bar/orangeraie...it's so cosy, so charming, just to imagine what was Ireland 1 century ago (at least for rich Irish people).
The girls at the reception are nice and helpfull.
The food is, as usual, in Ireland, limited to burgers and fish & chips. Those are not so tasty (apparently there are two kitchens, so fries are coming from one kitchen and the fish from the other, result, one of the two is cold), but again the atmosphere in the Orangeraie restaurant is so nice, you can forgive (a bit) the quality of the food.
The gardens are just wonderfull (but it was raining), enjoy in summertime.
It was very cold in the room and there was no way to get the heating system on, i called the reception, they told me to wait 30 minutes, i told i would put an extra blanket. The bathroom is getting a bit old but is still ok in 2013.
We had a meeting room (for 20pax) reserved in the hotel, the meeting rooms are not very well situated and very difficult to find for the guests. Staff was a bit intrusive as they brought the coffee pots during the presentations disturbing everybody, this is because ther was no space outside the meeting room for coffee break.
rate 109€/night in the week

Room Tip: a bit noisy in the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you most sincerely for staying with us and also for your kind review. We are delighted that overall you enjoyed your time with us.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of assistance when booking again by emailing caitriona.mcgroary@radissonblu.com or by dialing 01 218 8159 direct line.

Thank you again.
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    414
    160
    66
    46
See reviews for
333
468
47
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Excellent hotel - especially if you want to relax outside the city. City buses every 20 min into Dublin if you don't have a car. Hotel has family rooms that sleep 4 in one room - a definite plus for families trying to avoid renting two rooms. Spent 3 days and really enjoyed the hotel; staff and service was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you most sincerely for staying with us and also for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of assistance when booking again by emailing caitriona.mcgroary@radissonblu.com or by dialing 01 218 8159 direct line.

Thank you again.
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Gorgeous grounds surround the Radisson and create an air of sophistication upon arriving.

We were slightly let down by the front of house staff in reception on check in, they were not as helpful or friendly as one would expect for a 5 star hotel. But I have to say, the rest of the staff more than made up for the slight shortfall.

The bedroom was immaculate. Well heated, spacious and very well laid out. Beds were extremely comfortable, which made it hard to get up in the morning!!

Breakfast provided ample choice, cooked breakfast were tasty and fresh. Lots of choice of cereal, fruit, pastries and cheese/meats if a cooked breakfast is not your choice. The staff at breakfast were attentive and prompt.

I had some Spa treatments booked and Keeva in the Pure Radiant Beauty Salon was an absolute joy. She was friendly and professional, and the time flew with her positive attitude and craic. Even when I smudged my nails she was more than happy to redo them despite it being entirely my fault. Karen had me for my massage and she completely put me at ease, and I would highly recommend the treatment for any mum-to-be.

The Orangerie is a stunning room, lovely views of the grounds and great location for a light lunch. The burger is definitely recommended!

We dined in Talavera that evening and we cannot fault the meal at all. Zuzanna was a great hostess and really made the experience a memorable one. Food was rustic, tasty fare.

Reception had different staff on check-out and they were more helpful than check in.

Well recommended for any couples looking a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your choosing to stay with us and also for taking the time to let us know your kind comments. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff Zuzanna, Keeva and Karen in particular greatly appreciate your review and indeed all our guests feedback as it is the best measure of how we are performing.
Many thanks.

Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh northern ireland
Level Contributor
242 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

we stayed here in a suite and found the hotel to be full of old world charm. breakfast was excellent as were the staff. we ate in the italian restaurant which i found disappointing .overall i would stay again but would eat elsewhere

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing St. Helen's for your recent visit to Dublin.
I was delighted to read you enjoyed the wonderful charm the hotel has to offer. We greatly appreciate your review and indeed all our guests feedback as it is the best measure of how we are performing.

Kind Regards,
Caitriona McGroary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely rooms& grounds.overall a lovely stay with staff v helpful.downside is the food in the resteraunt being v poor and the bar a long wait for very ordinary food.bedrooms very well decorated and v comfy bed.not ideal hotel for families as no leisure facilities etc...but more suited to a couple/business.need a car as not central.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing St Helen's for your recent stay in Dublin and also for your feedback. I was sorry to read the food in the restaurant did not meet your expectations.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of assistance when booking again by emailing caitriona.mcgroary@radissonblu.com or by dialing 01 218 8159 direct line.

Thank you again.
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business and I was very impressed by this great hotel. Checked in and was made very welcome by the staff.
My room was superb with everything you could want, large comfortable bed with great pillows, flat screen TV, mini bar, free wi fi (very easy to connect), robes, etc.
Had a bar meal with a collegue and it was superb as was the guiness.
Second night we ate in the restaurant and the food, wine and service was 1st class. Try the rissotto as a starter and a fillet steak 10/10.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great hotel with excellent service and fine food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you most sincerely for staying with us and also for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and your fillet steak, Our chef was delighted to read you review.

We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of assistance when booking again by emailing caitriona.mcgroary@radissonblu.com or by dialing 01 218 8159 direct line.

Thank you again.
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was a wonderful hotel and one that was a pleasure to return to each night after a day of exploring Ireland. I took my daughter to Ireland for her 16th birthday. We pulled up to the hotel at 6:00 am after a long flight from the states. We arrived ( our luggage did not ) tired but excited. My first impression...nice, my daughters first impression......WOW !!!!! The hotel is impressive but I was more impressed with the staff. Arriving as early as we did, our room was not ready. Seeing how badly we needed to stretch out ( and seeing that our luggage had yet to finish it's voyage ) they allowed us to relax in a different room while waiting for ours. We were able to shower and take a nap before we had to go shopping for clothes as ours would not arrive for two days, but back to the hotel. The rooms were large, well appointed and comfortable. Water pressure was top notch. Housekeeping was a let down but nothing we could'nt live with. The front desk staff were very friendly and efficient. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay outside of downtown Dublin but close enough to get to the Temple Bar District in only a few minutes. I would book into this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caitriona21, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently and also for your kind review.
We are delighted that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay at St.Helen's on her special birthday occasion.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.
Thank you again.
Kind regards
Caitriona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.0 mi away
The Beacon
The Beacon
#21 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
4.3 mi away
The Croke Park Hotel
The Croke Park Hotel
#3 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stillorgan Park Hotel
Stillorgan Park Hotel
#61 of 172 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,035 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#20 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,824 reviews
1.7 mi away
InterContinental Dublin
InterContinental Dublin
#15 of 172 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin

Address: Stillorgan Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Dublin
#20 Business Hotel in Dublin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#40 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5* Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel is an 18th century Georgian Manor House situated in 4 acres of formal gardens. From the moment you enter the lavishly clad Carrera marble entrance hall of St. Helen’s you’ll notice the difference. Because few, if any, of the great mansions of Ireland have so successfully combined the rich historichospitality of traditional manor living with the luxurious comforts and expectations of today’s modern lifestyles. Relax and enjoy a magnificent diversity of surroundings which combine warm welcoming fireplaces, soft armchairs, the romantic ambiance of a lofty minstrels gallery & the elegant old world charm of the library together with so many modern luxurious facilities. Everywhere at St. Helen’s you’ll be pampered with superior comforts and you’ll enjoy a friendly professional service which is second to none. St Helen’s has an unsurpassed reputation for providing guests with the very finest rooms and suites. Our 151 air-conditioned bedrooms have beenrecently upgraded to the highest standards of comfort and luxury. Features in all bedrooms include Egyptian cotton sheets, extra long beds, pillow top mattresses, duck down duvets, over sized pillows, luxurious towelling and furnishings. All our bedrooms enjoy a 24-hour superior room service which is described as one of the very best in Ireland.A wonderful experience awaits you everywhere and at any time of the day or night in St. Helen’s. We pride ourselves on our attentionto detail, our services, our facilities and, above all, we are proud to share the magnificent legacy of St. Helen’s hospitality and comforts with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu St. Helen`s Hotel, Dublin Hotel Dublin
Radisson Dublin
Radisson Sas Dublin Hotel
Dublin Radisson
Radisson St Helens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.