We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic tapas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viva

Viva
27 South Richmond Street | Portobello, Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 1 424 4043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 1,892 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $5 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Viva is a Traditional Spanish Tapas Restaurant right in the heart of Dublin city.We opened our doors to the public to share our love of good quality, great value Spanish food as we like to have at home.Opening in 27 South Richmond Street in Dublin 2 has given us the opportunity to keep to our ethos of good quality ingredients 100% Guaranteed tracable Irish and Spanish meats, Spanish cheeses, delicious Seafood, Premium Spanish Coffees, a wide selection of Teas, Traditional Deserts and a good range of Spanish, Argentinian and Chillean wines and Cavas...With seating for over 80 people and outdoor seating in the front and a private Terrace to the rear al fresco dining is a pleasure on a warm balmy evening or a long brunch with friends.All we need is a little sunshine and you would almost think you were in Spain give or take a few degrees!We love to cook and nothing gives us more pleasure than a customers gratitude and compliments to the chef.Taste is key and expanding our menu little by little offering you the best we can along with our keen pricing we know you will enjoy our food again and again. Viva!
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Authentic tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend visited here on a Monday night when the place was understandably fairly quiet. We had a voucher for four tapas and two glasses of wine and ordered an extra two tapas and bread. The food was absolutely delicious and very fresh. The prawn pil pil and chorizo were my favourites. The bread is from the Bretzel bakery across the road and a must for dipping in all of the lovely sauces. The man who served us was extremely helpful and friendly and told us that his mother was the chef. Great to see an authentic, great value tapas restaurant-we will definitely be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    40
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Left with a smile on my face!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Lovely personal restaurant!! The waiter was Spanish and there were musicians playing the Spanish guitar which really made for a great experience. Will be coming back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service and truly homemade Spanish food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I wish I had found this restaurant earlier! As a Spaniard living in Dublin for many years I had always missed "mum's cooking" and at last I have found it. This restaurant is run mainly by a nice Spanish owner/manager who serves at the front and provides a very kind service, and his mother, who cooks in the kitchen and produces excellent and authentic homemade food. My girlfriend and I went in for a quick bite and ended up ordering 7 tapas and dessert and got stuffed. The food was so good we just kept ordering more and more. Everything was good, but especially outstanding were the stews based on legumes (lentils, beans, chickpeas). The tapas were all of a decent size and at an average of €5/tapa we thought it was very good value for money. We really enjoyed our meal. If anything, we may have liked a bit more of Spain in the decor, but anyhow the place looks warm and cozy. I'll definitely be back and will tell all my Spanish friends in Dublin. Friendliness and exceptional food at decent prices, what else can you ask for? Keep it up Viva, you are doing great!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best tapas in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Viva has to be the best tapas restaurant in Dublin.
Dined with a group of friends on Sat 24th November. Service was excellent, professional, efficient and friendly. The food was amazing with an excellent selection as well as a wonderful wine list which wont break the bank. Would highly recommend and looking forward to my return visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penarth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“visit during dublin marathon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

we ate at this restaurant during the marathon weekend. we booked a table and we ate on Friday night. We ate a special dish of lamb and supplemented with tapas. We were not drinking wine which was a shame as their wine list looked really good.
service very good
very good value for money
excellent tapas bar and will visit again

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.