We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real taste of Spain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva

Viva
27 South Richmond Street | Portobello, Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 1 424 4043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 1,995 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $34
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish, Tapas, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Viva is a Traditional Spanish Tapas Restaurant right in the heart of Dublin city.We opened our doors to the public to share our love of good quality, great value Spanish food as we like to have at home.Opening in 27 South Richmond Street in Dublin 2 has given us the opportunity to keep to our ethos of good quality ingredients 100% Guaranteed tracable Irish and Spanish meats, Spanish cheeses, delicious Seafood, Premium Spanish Coffees, a wide selection of Teas, Traditional Deserts and a good range of Spanish, Argentinian and Chillean wines and Cavas...With seating for over 80 people and outdoor seating in the front and a private Terrace to the rear al fresco dining is a pleasure on a warm balmy evening or a long brunch with friends.All we need is a little sunshine and you would almost think you were in Spain give or take a few degrees!We love to cook and nothing gives us more pleasure than a customers gratitude and compliments to the chef.Taste is key and expanding our menu little by little offering you the best we can along with our keen pricing we know you will enjoy our food again and again. Viva!
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The real taste of Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

..thought I'd write this straight away while the memory is as fresh as the yummy food. Just spent a pleasant afternoon whiling away nearly 3 hours over a seriously good lunch. Tastiest tapas in Dublin and better than some I've had in Spain. The fabada stew was excellent and the accompanying wine delicious. The pleasantly decorated patio out back is like a secret oasis from the hustle and bustle. You'd be forgiven for forgetting you were in Dublin on one of the arteries into the city centre. As for the service - authentic, friendly Spanish lads who took the time to chat and laugh with us. The lunch deal is unbeatable value - €10 for starter, stew and tapa and the portions were generous. Best of all? The waiter's Mom cooked our food. Now that's the real taste of Spain!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazmask, Owner at Viva, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks Ann-Marie for your gushing review, were so happy to have customers like you who have passion for enjoying the food and the company as much as us. Hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Ramiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    47
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Full of authentic Spanish character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Love this place - Very friendly staff and the food speaks for itself. We went for a random early dinner and were well looked after. The place was quiet at the time so I'm looking forward to seeing it busy. Terrace out back - seats at the front and will be heading here the next time Dublin gets a sunny day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazmask, Owner at Viva, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you Clownty,
Youre welcome anytime.
Regards,
Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
“Best Spanish restaurant in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

There are few Spanish restaurants in Dublin and some of them are not truly Spanish (they cook Mexican nachos or burritos together with actual Spanish dishes...), but Viva España is an excellent choice.

The prices aren't expensive for Dublin standards and the quality is great. We had dinner with wine and desserts and spent around 17 euro each, which is ok for Dublin. Being from Barcelona, I would probably spend a similar amount there.

Also, the owner and the staff are truly Spanish, as well as the environment, which make it more authentic and welcoming.

We will definitely go back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gazmask, Owner at Viva, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you or should I say muchas gracias Miguel for your review.
So glad you enjoyed the vibe as well as the food.
Hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Gareth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Todo Bien!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

todo fue fantástico, tapas were great decent sized portions, excellent value for money will probably be visiting this place more often when i am in the area. A great place to eat if you just want something to nibble on as the portions are obviously smaller than a main meal as its a 'tapas'

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just like home !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

What can I say ? All my lunches at Casa Espana have just like in the bar around the corner in every village in Spain. Friendly service, home cooking and unbeattable prices ! The lentejas, tortilla and ensaladilla rusa taste just like you were in spain. It's an unpretentious place, and definitely the best and most authentic spanish food you can find in Dublin. Un saludo para el equipo :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Viva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.