We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfield Deli & Eatery

Mayfield Deli & Eatery
Terenure Road North | Dublin 6W, Dublin, Ireland
01-4926830
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,579 of 1,886 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: European, International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Had brunch here with my better half last weekend. The place was busy and there was a nice buzz in the place. The service was good and the food was tasty. I had the breakfast pie, which was quite nice. Seems to be a popular place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    25
    17
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

had dinner Saturday October 25th at Mayfield. First time here , had wanted to visit for some time. Was not disappointed. Started with super tempura prawns reasonably priced at e8 approx. I had chilli beef tacos and friend had a great beef burger. Good menu with well balanced choice of healthy fish or salad options plus plenty of tasty less healthy options too.
Couldn't fault the place. Recommend.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Cute decor but the bad service & poor food let it down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I wanted to love here and first impressions were great, the decor is cute and kitsch and even though we had a 15 minute wait to be seated we didn't mind as it looked promising from the outside... but once seated we were almost forgotten about. Staff took 10 minutes to come along to tell us the specials then another 10 minutes to come back for our order... cleaning empty tables was more important than returning our order to the kitchen.

The food took forever to arrive!
And when it did, it was far from special.
Boring shop-bought chips - the kind you'd get in McDonalds set the standard for what was to come.

My breakfast pie was dry, obviously prepared hours (or days) in advance - absolutely zero love or passion gone into the dish. An egg might have livened up what was the most boring brunch I've ever tasted.

The eggs royale that my friend ordered were also disappointing, the poached eggs were tough/hard (possibly cooked in advance and just reheated in hot water) and the sauce flavourless and runny.
It was a nasty brunch experience.

After a disappointing feed, we waited and waited and waited at least 25 minutes for the bill and after another 15 minutes wait no one showed up to take our payment. We walked to the till and paid in person because no staff came near the table.

On looking around other people had similar bad service, the girl next to use also had to go up to the till to pay her bill.

Maybe this is a sunday morning thing, they were busy (why? I'm not sure!)
but I haven't seen such bad service in Dublin ever.

I will never ever return!

  • Visited October 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outrageous ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Me and my sister came to visit the tea rooms after visiting the grave .... My sister had to feed her 2 week old baby and was asked TWICE to stop breast feeding her child... Victorian tea rooms , fitting as the behaviour of staff appeared to be from this era .... Would not visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We had a great dinner with some friends, excellent friendly service and the food was excellent. The fish special on that evening was a winner. We have also been there for brunch and I would highly recommend that also. We will be back!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayfield Deli & Eatery also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Mayfield Deli & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfield Deli & Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.