We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel, careful in the shower” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marlborough Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marlborough Hostel
Save
You added Marlborough Hostel to your Saves list
81-82 Marlborough Street, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Victoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice hostel, careful in the shower”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

My friend and I stayed at Marlborough early February for two nights. We found the reception to be a little on the cold side, they could have been a little bit more welcoming.

Once inside, the lounge is inviting but you would not spend your nights there. There is free Wi-Fi available in lounge area only, and computers with a connection are available at a small fee. They are, however, located in a freezing part of the hostel. Bring a jacket.

The rooms are basic, but there is locked storage under all beds, which comes in handy. Reception provides a lock and key for you upon arrival.

Toilets are clean, showers are clean BUT, due to the push button system, you can not control the temperature and at the time of our visit, it was scorching hot and you could not shower for fear of burning you skin (mine was all red after a short time and I had to step out).

Location is very good; located one block from O'Connell Street. Look for a church and it's next door. You will have to ring to gain entrance, and it might take a few minutes if reception people are away from their desk. Keep ringing. Ten minutes walk to Temple Bar area.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Showers
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
1
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

I am an American student studying abroad in London for the semester and Dublin was our first weekend trip outside of London. We found the hostel no problem but the neighborhood it was in was a bit on the shady side. There were a lot of homeless people on and around Marlborough Street and it wasn't very clean. On the bright side the hostel was in walking distance to O'Connell Street and Temple Bar.

The hostel its self was average at best. The shower room was not very clean however the bathroom itself was spotless. The building is pretty old and our room reflected that very much so. At the hostel itself there wasn't much to do.

All in all if I were to head back to Dublin I would probably find a different hostel to stay at.

  • Liked — The location as it pertains to
  • Disliked — It was old and dirty
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clydebank, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

I was with a crowd of 7 30-something female friends celebrating one of their birthdays. We go on holiday together once a year but normally stay in 3* hotels so we were all slightly nervous at staying in a hostel for the first time - thankfully all of our worries were unnecessary.

On other websites there were reviews of the showers which made us all really apprehensive - obviously some people have unrealistic standards and expect 5* facilities for hostelling prices - the showers were OK but I would advise taking some kind of footwear as there was a slight problem with the drainage in the changing area. However, we were advised that the showers would be undergoing major renovations in the next few weeks - if the recently refurbished toilets are anything to go by then they will be great!

For us one major bonus was the back garden as we could sit out and relax with a few beers while waiting on the others getting showered and dressed and this also gave us the opportunity to meet other guests and Michael (who manages the hostel and was really lovely and looked after us).

Overall I would recommend this hostel and if I was on a budget going to Dublin again I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2005

I read some of the other reviews before i went and was not hoping for a lot of good in the hostel, BUT it really is a good hostel!!I stayed in the Marlborough for 3 nights in a 8person dorm. The room looked really ok, just bring you own sheets and you'll have a perfect stay! Y0u also get you own locker to store your stuff. Staff was friendly and can answer any questions you have. Showers and toilets are also ok and kept clean!

Stayed May 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2003

The location of the hostel is really the only good thing about it. The staff was not overly friendly and even sometimes cold. The rooms had dirty sheets, little heat and squeeky doors throughout (which as you can imagine makes sleeping difficult with people often coming and going). Showers and bathrooms were dirty and in need of upkeep and maintenance. I would not recommend the Marlborough Hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2003

Well located, just off O'Connell St but at the seedier end of town. All the decent action is south of the river, about 10 mins walk.
Hostel is poorly equipped, kitchen overcrowded, breakfast just bread and jam. Showers OK but often queues. Kitchen & shower hours restricted. Bedrooms dirty with broken fittings. Guests get a very old sheet & pillowcase to put on the bed. Quilt covers washed 'sometime'. Relatively expensive for what you get. No curfew. Would rcommend looking elsewhere or take your own bedding and flea powder if you must stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marlborough Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Hostel

Address: 81-82 Marlborough Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Number of rooms: 23

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlborough Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.