We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location without the drunken Temple Bar crowd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinlay House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kinlay House to your Saves list
Kinlay House
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   2-12 Lord Edward Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Morgantown, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location without the drunken Temple Bar crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I love the location of this! We stayed here all the way up to the Heineken Cup so I think the hostel was a little more rowdy than normal. The only issue we had was the night before we left, there was a large group of guys (18-19ish) who decided to have a drunken rave above us at 3-4am. We thought we could tell them to keep a bit quiet and resolve everything, but that did not work. We finally told the main desk but it was not resolved but I do not believe it was from lack of trying. The breakfast was adequate and the staff was helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and for understanding that sometimes guests will just not keep the noise down, no matter how hard we try to get them to do so.
If you are returning to Dublin please get in touch and we can offer you a 20% discount off your next stay.
Best Regards
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    160
    86
    34
    25
See reviews for
16
84
78
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good. My room was lovely, really spacious and the bathroom was always clean. They have a decent kitchen and plenty of common space, and the laundry facilities were handy as well. Not the most central hostel in Dublin, but still pretty close to everything. Just across the road from the oldest fish and chip restaurant in Dublin!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for reviewing our hostel and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please contact us if you are returning to Dublin and we will give you a 20% repeat stay discount.
Best Regards
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed in Kinlay house for 13 days as I needed a place where to stay while waiting for the flat to be ready and it was really good. I've been in many hostels around Europe and this is so far the best one. The name is right, is more of a cosy house. The kitchen is not bad, is quite furnished for being a hostel kitchen and the dining room is nice. The cleanliness was really good, especially in the toilets, wasn't that bad to have to shower in a shared toilet for the first time. The staff was really friendly and helpful anytime I needed anything. I'll recommend this hostel to every friend coming to Dublin to visit me. Good experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best Regards
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We came here after having a great experience at Kinlay in Galway. It's was great too. Less food options, but the same great atmosphere and people. After figuring out I lost my passport (nightmare) the staff helped me SO much and I ended up finding it (back in Galway...). Needless to say, I owe them big time. They're fantastic. The facilities are great. It's clean and cute and wonderful. The location is perfect too! Stayed at the Generator in Dublin too and this was FAR superior. Stay here!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. Do get in touch if you are coming back to Dublin and we can offer you a 20% discount off a repeat stay.
Happy traveling
Mary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've stayed here twice before the most recent occasion and would be my first choice to stay in Dublin on a low budget. It is quite a good location only a few mins from Temple Bar and approx 10 to O'Connell street and Grafton Street.
Breakfast consists of bread(for toasting), cereal and assortment of condiments. The kitchen is well equipped. The staff are lovely and helpful.
Bedrooms are a mixture depending on which room you get, as some of the rooms are a bit dated and a small bit shabby but not enough to be really noticeable. The lobby contains a tour desk and the staff will gladly point you in the right direction. Lockers for left-luggage can be rented for a small fee and dorm rooms contain cages(private rooms have a secure door)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, General Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. Please contact us next time you are coming to Dublin, we can offer you a 20% discount off a repeat stay.
Best Regards
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at Kinlay House for 3 nights. As my first experience staying a hostel it was pleasant enough. Had internet access, very simple breakfast (toast and coffee), comfortable bed. It was clean but run down. The common room as smelly and the most run down so did not stay in there very long. Lol! Front desk was fairly helpful. I would stay again mainly due to location and price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. If you are returning to Dublin please contact me and I will arrange your booking to include a 20% repeat stay discount.
Best Regards
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Staying at Kinlay House is a good experience. It's the most convenient to go around the city due to the location in Temple bar (i.e. the inner centre), the ratio price/quality is also a good advantage for low budgets travellers. The staff and the facilities are also putting a real good atmosphere on your staying there. Do not hesitate!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, Manager at Kinlay House, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to review our hostel. If you are returning to Dublin please contact me and I will arrange your booking to include a 20% repeat stay discount.
Best Regards
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinlay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlay House

Address: 2-12 Lord Edward Street | Temple Bar, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre , Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kinlay House 1*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dublin’s most lively hostel, in the vibrant Temple Bar District – friendly, safe and clean! Free WIFI & Internet access and free light breakfast. In the famous Temple Bar district, Kinlay House is surrounded by the best selection of Dublin’s bars, cafes and restaurants and within easy walking distance to all of Dublin’s top attractions, including Guinness Storehouse, Dublin Castle, and Trinity College. We have a great team that go out of their way to make sure you enjoy the ‘Irish craic’ and we have all of the facilities you would expect from a leading hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kinlay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinlay House Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinlay House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.