We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good enough!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dublin International Youth Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dublin International Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Dublin International Youth Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin 7, Ireland (North City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not good enough!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Walked in and straight away felt uncomfortable. The staff were unfriendly and when we had questions to ask, we felt like we were wasting their time or just being in the way.

Bed rooms are ok but there was only 1 PowerPoint for 10 people! Quite ridiculous!!

The location isn't all that great.. Felt unsafe walking down the streets nearby.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    59
    53
    27
    19
See reviews for
6
21
44
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Interesting place. For the price and only needing to stay there one night it was good, but I wouldn't go back and stay there. The breakfast consisted of toast. The beds were numbered and you had to stick to the bed assigned to you at check in. It was not first come first serve. The rooms were tiny, and lacked power outlets, which pretty much deterred me from being able to charge my phone before travelling the next day. It was a long walk from the city center. Overall the staff was nice and helpful, but they were easily distracted.
Decent, but again, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Coloma de Gramenet, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

You need a place to sleep and breakfast and e-mail or whatsapping your friends, sure this is the right place. My family and me (8 persons) spent the weekend visiting Dublin. Hostel is only for sleeping and having breakfast, or taking a shower at the end of the day. 24 hours open, all days. Great when you arrive late by plane as us. don't llok for comfort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Since we had our youth card and got the discount, it was good. We've had our own room, unfortunately without bathroom, but we survived. The room was quite small (just bunk bed, locker, 2 chairs and small table), we didn't mind it but for someone else, that might be a problem. At least it was clean and we felt safe there. What else do you expect from a hostel room, anyway?

The dining room is awesome: it used to be a church! :D

Also, location is good. Just 5 minutes from the O'Connell street :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A lot of not.. not clean is a euphemism, not confortable, without elevator, and I found a person at the reception not welcoming.
I suppose this place make sense, if with the youth hostel card is possible to get a great discount, but isn't the right place to spend few night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

A bit out of the way (which is good for city noise) but it takes a bit of navigating to find (not ideal if you're not from Dublin or are jetlagged)

Clean enough but lacks power outlets.

I will say the staff was great in that I booked for the wrong weekend but they switched my reservation no problem upon arrival.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hostel is only 10 minutes from the city away and it is a lovely old hostel. The breakfast is great. It is a cheap hostel and perfect for travellers on a tight budget. The only thing we had just one plug in a room of 8

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dublin International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin International Youth Hostel

Address: 61 Mountjoy Street, Dublin 7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dublin International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Dublin International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dublin International Youth Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublin International Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.