We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Facilities Near Grafton Street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Molesworth Court Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Molesworth Court Suites
Save
You added Molesworth Court Suites to your Saves list
Schoolhouse Lane East, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Letterkenny, Donegal, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Average Facilities Near Grafton Street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Was in Dublin for one night and a friend recommended this place. He was through the roof with his praise which maybe set expectations far too high.

It is tucked away in a back lane which is very close to Grafton Street but take directions as even taxi drivers don't know it. Sadly Dublin is plagued by beggars these days and although very close to Grafton Street, the lane itself is not well lit nor has many people about so it might not give a warm sense of security & safety.

The accomodation is suites / apartments so don't expect a hotel / reception / even staff at times. Checking in wasn't smoothe - the woman there didn't seem to have much grasp of the card machine. At one point during the multiple (and ultimately fruitless) attempts she entered 95 Euro for the room then 95 Euro tip! I think the main problem is lack of signal coupled with user incompetence but tellingly she said that Americans often have trouble with cards here - I just think it is her to be honest.

That brings me to price - book directly with them - 33% cheaper than online!

Then the apartments. Size - very good. Kitchen facilities - very good. Cleanliness - very good. General feel - dated. TV - small one in living room, none in bedroom. Wifi - yes, free.

Would I stay again? Unlikely - not for me, but if you want something very central, reasonably priced, and somewhere that you can prepare food yourself rather than eat out all the time, then this could be for you. Just don't expect anything high class.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    35
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
47
17
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We just had a lovely three night visit to Dublin and staying at the Molesworth added to our adventure. I booked a two bedroom apartment for my family, my husband and I had a comfy bed, my two girls shared a bedroom with two single/twin beds and they even provided a pack-n-play/travel cot for our baby boy. Nice to have the kitchen and washer/dryer. My Girls loved the little balconies. Riona and her staff were wonderful, Riona especially. Riona gave us the choice of a room in the front (with balconies facing the alley) but warned us it was noisier or a room in the back with no balconies which are quiter. Plenty of towels were delivered when we requested more. Very comfortable and SO much better than staying in a regular hotel room. I thought the Molesworth was a good value and in a great location. Nothing fancy but great for a family with young children. A little odd to pay extra for electricity usage but I guess that encourages conservation? We only paid an additional €16 for the electric for a three night stay. Highly recommended for families!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and best friend just returned from a nine day visit to Dublin and we stayed here. It is very close to the AirCoach stop on Kildare St. so we had no problem with luggage and finding it. I would almost describe Schoolhouse Lane as an alley and very easy to find. We were greeted by the Manager, Reina who was wonderful. We had booked two one bedroom suites but she upgraded us to two 2 bedroom penthouse suites. While not modern and swanky we found the accomodations extremely comfortable. Everything was there we needed and if we needed anything all we had to do was ask.
I really wanted to give a 5 star rating except for two issues, there is no lift and we were on the third floor so that was a little difficult and we had wifi problems which were eventually resolved.
I would definitely recommend Molesworth and when we return we will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Keep in mind there is no lift if that is an issue for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were four girlfriends on a three nights weekend. We felt very lucky to discover this jem. The location is perfect. Just two minutes from Trinity college and Grafton street. We could walk to all the city attractions. Everything is just around the corner.
Riona, the manager, was extremely sweet and welcoming. She gave us some excellent tips for the stay and tailored them to our needs.
She also upgraded us to the penthouse suite which was just PERFECT.
Very homey, clean, comfortable, with everything you need and very warm feeling. The beds were comfortable and the apartment was very quiet and private. We were all very happy with our stay in every aspect.

Room Tip: I recommend the penthouse suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were lucky enough to be relocated here when our original motel had overbooked us and we couldn't have asked for better.
From the moment that Riona welcomed us we knew we had found a great place to stay, very central, but neatly tucked away.
Loved the 2 story thing with good size bedrooms downstairs and living area upstairs.
Rioana was very helpful with what to do and see as we were only in Dublin for a few days.
Would highly recommend this place as a great place to base yourself in Dublin

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location. Apartment had everything to make our stay very comfortable. Rhiona and her staff run the premises extremely well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

With some extended family just spent 9 nights in Molesworth Suites over the Christmas period and we loved it!!Whilst the decor is getting a little tired the 2 bedroom/2 storey/2 bathroom setup was just perfect for the 4 of us.
The staff were so very helpful nothing was a problem at all. Fantastic rooftop terrace which would be great to use in the warmer weather. The stairs were a killer though as there is no lift but we got used to it after day 2...kitchen well equipped and spacioius enough so we all had a relaxing time.
The location is just perfect in a quiet area but only literally 4 minutes walk from Grafton Street. Would recommend this again and would definately stay there again when we next come to Dublin.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Molesworth Court Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molesworth Court Suites

Address: Schoolhouse Lane East, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Molesworth Court Hotel Dublin
Molesworth Court Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molesworth Court Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.