We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Townhouse to your Saves list
The Townhouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland (North City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Offer
Ranked #95 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Once again myself and my partner have stayed at this wonderful Hotel its just fab...been staying here since 1996 its home from home, always feel welcome the staff so kind David and Muriel make you feel so welcome a great location next to the Bus Station; Trains and Tram all the shopping of O'Connell Street and the fun of Temple Bar. The Breakfast is a healthy mix of cereals, fruit and hot Irish Breakfast Irish soda bread and great Coffee, have stayed here on my own and with partner and friends can only speak highly of this great hotel look forward to our next visit
Paul and Maureen

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    223
    91
    38
    30
See reviews for
68
152
66
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I've stayed in the Townhouse several times and I would stay here each time I visited Dublin if it was easier to get a booking! It is a great place to stay. Good central location, friendly professional staff, no real noise issues, always clean, well run, and above all an excellent breakfast. I have no hesitation in recommending it highly.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms to the rear face onto a large generator and are quite noisy. Rooms to the front a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DublinMurielO, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hi Saoire_Saoirse09

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us in The Townhouse Dublin. We very are happy that you enjoy staying with us and continue to return.

We are coming into the busier season and rooms do book out very quickly, however we always try to look after return guests so if you contact us direct we will try our best to accommodate you. I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff.

Thank you for BOOKING DIRECT with us, we really appreciate your business. As you know you get the FREE full Irish breakfast when you book direct, we also guests who book direct are kept up to date on all our offers and free draws on Facebook.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon in the Townhouse Dublin.

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate to find this hotel for a 2 night stay prior to joining a tour. The family-owned facility is walking distance to Temple Bar, shopping and restaurants, but far enough away from the late night pub noises. The room was a good size with a comfortable bed, small table and chairs, and a large bathroom. Everything was very clean.

We kept the windows open at night, and occasionally heard conversations, but nothing that kept us from sleeping well.

Breakfast was included in our booking, and was a good buffet style hot meal.

One of our group members participated in a free walking tour that started in the Townhouse lobby. She found it to be an excellent introduction to a great city

We would certainly stay here again

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DublinMurielO, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi Donna S

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us in The Townhouse Dublin.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here in The Townhouse and in Dublin. Yes we are an ideal base from which to explore Dublin, as we are within walking distance to a lot of the main attractions, shopping streets (Henry Street & Grafton Street) and there are many good restaurants located nearby.

Our main focus is providing guests with comfortable, clean rooms that offer the best value for money. Thank you for the lovely comments about our rooms.

There are a number of tours that depart from our property, as you mentioned the FREE walking tour departs each morning from reception and we would highly recommend. Also the Wild Rover Tours depart from directly outside - these are day tours of the Cliffs of Moher or Glendalough or the Giants Causeway and many more. Our reception staff are happy to help with any questions you have and help book the tours.

Thank you for BOOKING DIRECT with us, we really appreciate your business. As you know you get the FREE full Irish breakfast when you book direct, we also guests who book direct are kept up to date on all our offers and free draws on Facebook.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the Townhouse Dublin.

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I was fortunate enough to select this hotel as my base for 4 nights on my first visit to Dublin in April. The airport bus dropped me off within a block of the hotel. To me that was a good first sign. I was assigned a room in the annex building--I had to make my way to some steps in the back of reception and into another lift. There was a decent view of the courtyard and the sky that allows quick checks of the weather. That was enough for me. The room itself was quite clean, bright, and had ample space for a desk and even a small round table. I'm a small person so I did not mind the shower.

After settling in, I checked the map they provided and found out that it was a short walk across the Liffey to the south side where most of the attractions were. Again another plus for me. I had initial issues with the wifi signal but the friendly and helpful desk staff did some troubleshooting and all was well when I returned from sightseeing.

The only comment I have about the Townhouse has to do with breakfast. This is the very first time I've experienced anywhere I've visited in Europe where breakfast was not self-service. You have to ask for almost everything and feel pressured to make quick decisions due to the server waiting to fill your plate for you behind a counter. On one unpleasant occasion, the server even commented, "You want two eggs???" when I asked for them.

Room Tip: I would avoid being on the Lower Gardiner street side if there are such rooms. The street is relativ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DublinMurielO, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi REA-WashDC

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us in The Townhouse Dublin. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here in The Townhouse and in Dublin.

Transport to and from Dublin Airport is really easy - the Airlink 747 bus is ideal if you have a lot of luggage, there is dedicated luggage bays on the bus – also the Dublin Bus number 41 collects from directly outside The Townhouse.

We are very proud of our little garden, it is the ideal space to come back to after touring Dublin all day. It is a quiet area where you can sit out and have a cup of tea or coffee - you wouldn’t even know you were in the city centre.

No our breakfast is not self-service, however you can ask for anything you wish from the selection, even two eggs. We have a wide variety of options to choose from – cereal, fresh orange juice, cooked breakfast (bacon, eggs, sausage, beans, tomato, toast) and a selection of fresh brown breads. All with either tea or coffee. I am sorry if you felt pressured into making a decision, that is not our intention.

Thank you for booking with us, we really appreciate your business. Next time you come to Dublin BOOK DIRECT with us and you will get the full Irish breakfast FREE, also guests who book direct are kept up to date on all our offers and free draws on Facebook.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the Townhouse Dublin. The contents of your review have been noted and will help us to continually improve our products and services.

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel/hostel in Dublin: great value and wonderful staff. The Townhouse Hotel is in a beautiful historic house. It shares some facilities with the Globetrotters Hostel, which means that there's a kitchen & lots of public space for relaxing. This is great after a day of seeing the sights -- one can cook a meal (or heat up a Tesco ready meal!) and eat in pleasant surroundings. The staff during our stay were wonderful -- unfailingly patient, helpful, and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DublinMurielO, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi Redbookish_13

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us in The Townhouse Dublin. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here in The Townhouse.

The Townhouse Dublin is an old Georgian building with a lot of history. There is a FREE walking tour that departs every morning from reception that tells you all the history about Gardiner Street and the surrounding areas.

We have a lot of public areas for guests to choose from. The small garden is a lovely area to sit out and have a cup of coffee. We have a small seating area with computers for guests, also a small mezzanine for you to sit and use your laptop.

Thank you for the lovely comments about the staff, I will let them know. Our reception staff are always happy to help guests with any questions they have, help them book tours or even recommend a good restaurant for dinner. Our reception is open 24 hours a day.

Thank you for booking with us, we really appreciate your business. Next time you come to Dublin BOOK DIRECT with us and you will get a FREE full Irish breakfast, also guests who book direct are kept up to date on all our offers and free draws on Facebook.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the Townhouse Dublin.

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was a nice hotel in a great location for exploring Dublin.

The staff were very friendly.

The room was nice, although the bathroom smelt. There was also a little noise from traffic.

The breakfast was quite good, although cutlery always seemed to be running out. Seemed to be a little stingy on servings too.

All in all, a nice place at a reasonable price for Dublin. Book through their website direct for free breakfast.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DublinMurielO, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hi Jim K

Thank you for taking the time to offer an opinion of your recent stay with us in The Townhouse Dublin.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here in The Townhouse and in Dublin. Yes we are very centrally located on Lower Gardiner Street, we are only a couple of minutes’ walk to O’Connell Street and Temple Bar. We are an ideal base from which to explore Dublin. Also next time you stay please let us know you would like a quiet room and we will try to accommodate you.

Our staff our always happy to help guests with any questions they have. They will also recommend a number of Dublin tours, attractions, restaurants, bars etc… All you need to do is ask 

Thank you for BOOKING DIRECT with us, we really appreciate your business. As you know you get the FREE full Irish breakfast when you book direct, we also guests who book direct are kept up to date on all our offers and free draws on Facebook.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the Townhouse Dublin. The contents of your review have been noted and will help us to continually improve our products and services.

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Booked a single room which was located at the back of the hotel. Room was clean, bed was comfy and bathroom massive! Good location with a 5min walk into the city centre. Free breakfast which is a bonus! If you need a cheap, clean, comfy hotel near the centre then this ticks all the boxes. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DublinMurielO, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hi Steve W

Thank you for taking the time to offer an opinion of your recent stay with us in The Townhouse Dublin.

Our main focus is providing guests with comfortable, clean rooms that offer the best value for money. Our informative front of house staff are always happy to help.

Thank you for BOOKING DIRECT with us, we really appreciate your business. As you know you get the FREE full Irish breakfast when you book direct, and also guests who book direct are kept up to date on all our offers and free draws on Facebook.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the Townhouse Dublin. I will pass on your lovely comments to my staff.

Regards, Muriel O’Connor, Proprietor, The Townhouse Hotel Dublin City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Address: 47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Dublin Townhouse
Townhouse Dublin
The Townhouse Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.