We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and lovely rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Townhouse to your Saves list
The Townhouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland (North City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Offer
Ranked #97 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
derry
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location and lovely rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the room was, and lovely decoration/furnishing thoughout the hotel. Good wifi, and also plenty of space available in the reception areas for those who wanted to work/read outside of the rooms. Secure parking, and staff kindly let us keep the car in the garage for a couple of hours during the day before we headed out on a daytrip, though it was a €10 to park overnight when we returned.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    225
    91
    38
    30
See reviews for
69
152
66
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here three nights, and were pretty pleased with most aspects of our stay.
The staff were absolutely fantastic - so friendly and helpful, and always available. Breakfast was also stellar - an excellent variety of cooked and continental options, with a range of drinks and spreads. The location is great - far enough from the main drag that it´s not as crazy, but still within easy walking distance of everything. We think our stay was absolutely value for money, and would consider staying again in future.
Our only gripes were likely as a result of it being an older building with an older set up - we were on the top floor, and could never get hot water in the sink. The shower was lukewarm at best, and while I´m sure everything was clean, it gave off an air of being a bit tired and maybe ´ugh´ around the edges. Our bed was pretty hard, which isn´t our preferred choice, and I´m glad I brought my own pillow.
That being said - we are not precious, and these things don´t really dampen our stay. I also have no doubt that if we had any serious issues, the staff would have attempted to help in any way possible. As it was, there was nothing that we felt we needed to bring up with them.
Overall we are very positive about our experience, and we want to thank The Townhouse for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights here at the Townhouse Hotel. We wanted to change our booking dates a few days prior to arriving and tried calling the hotel. The phone number provided on their website and booking confirmations did not work. We tried emailing them and there was no reply. Rooms itself were moderately clean. Bathrooms were moderate to poor in cleanliness. Significant amount of mold growing around side of showers (not where you stand) and shower drain did not drain properly so you were left standing in a puddle at the end of the shower. Breakfast was disappointing compared to all the other breakfasts in Ireland we've had - poor organization and long waits for trays/cutlery probably because of the extremely busy dining room. Wifi only available in main dining room area. Price was high but very good for this central location. 10 minutes from Temple Bar area and 5 from O'Connell Street. Bus stop to airport literally directly in front of front door - extremely convenient. Staff at from desk was helpful. Quite loud due to being on a main street and proximity to bars. Limited free parking available - (safe) paid parking was 10 minute walk away. Recommended if you don't mind budget accommodations with a little bit of a dirty bathroom!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

You can't really beat the location for convenience and, depending on the Celtic pub round the corner, quietness. Stayed here twice recently: first time for an overnighter before travelling on and second time for a week long stay in Dublin city. There is a good vibe in this hotel because of the sharing of facilities with the hostellers / backpackers. Nice to see a lounge area (the mezzanine) that people did actually use to read a book, have a nap or catch up on work/emails etc. Huge bonus to have free internet and computer facilities - can't always bring your PC with you, so much appreciated. Great staff on the front desk, both day and night. Comfy bed, though could have done with an extra blanket as the nights were a bit chilly. See if you can get a balcony room facing the courtyard - nice view and nice touch. Standard breakfast but hardworking kitchen staff! Close to shops, Luas, Connolly Station, city buses and airport bus stops - oh, and a few pubs! Robert Reade is close by and does great meals. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing in to the garden. I stayed twice and the first room faced the next door bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We found this hotel in the Rick Steve's travel book, we always know that we can trust his judgement. We were happy with the price and the hotel. It is next to/connected to a travel/hostel type of hotel. It was in a very convenient area, around the corner from the bus station, walking distance to Temple Bar, Trinity College, Millenium Spire, etc. We picked up the "hop on, hop off" bus nearby too. The rooms were fine, had the amenities that were needed, nothing more. The breakfast is served in a cafeteria style but it was a full irish breakfast and worked to fill us up. I would definitely recommend this place for the price and area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great central location, the intermingling of young packpackers with older hotel type guests at breakfast is refreshing. Only minor critism is that I wish we had been offered inclusive B & B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed there for 1 night. Very convenient location...close to the city center. Great rooms and comfortable beds. Only negative is that they charge a very steep price for breakfast. Other than that a great stay. Definitely recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Address: 47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Dublin Townhouse
Townhouse Dublin
The Townhouse Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.