We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly, won't be staying there again.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Townhouse to your Saves list
The Townhouse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland (North City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Special Offer
Ranked #97 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
San Bernardino, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sadly, won't be staying there again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I had stayed here with friends in 2009 and all was lovely. The hotel is walking distance to everything, staff is friendly, food was good. Unfortunately this time the room was not clean, mould in bathroom, breakfast was mediocre, hairdryer hose was broken -- get the picture? Also, they no longer serve dinner. When we notiied the desk about the hairdryer, they sent up a new one. The hotel was full so we didn't ask for a new room. When checking out, the gal at front desk said we should have told her about the mould and dirt and someone would have taken care of it. Seems to me they should have taken care of it before they rented the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    224
    91
    38
    30
See reviews for
68
152
66
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We couldn’t wait to get back again after last years holiday and we weren’t disappointed.
We got a lovely welcome at reception on arrival and were shown to a beautiful bright clean room. It didn’t take us long to get our bearings again with the help of the hotels very friendly staff. We felt very safe and secure staying here knowing reception is manned 24 hours a day. It’s an amazing location just a short stroll from O’Connell Street at a great price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had a fab time staying here, only a walk away to great night life and the shops, so no taxis!
Our room was bright an clean and we had a lovely big breakfast every morning.
The staff were fantastic and very helpful in advising us on the best pubs and clubs in the area.
Overall we had a great time and will be back soon.
PS airport bus stops right outside.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Lovely hotel full of character,
Bright clean room,
Friendly reception,
Good big breakfast,
Great location,
Airport bus at front door,

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Hi, there. I had done a lot of researching here & on Frommer's and came across the Townhouse as a well-reviewed value for lodging in Dublin prior to and after our escorted tour (with Paddywagon Tours). I wanted a place close to the Paddywagon office, close to Dublin's main sites, and affordable. This place fit the bill completely. We were able to walk a short distance to our tour office before & after our tour. We could walk to pubs (esp. O'Shea's), to some mild souvenir shopping, to food areas, and to the pick up/drop off areas of the busses and other transportation options in the heart of Dublin.

They offer a free/included breakfast in the morning that was very generous and tasty. People at the front desk and in the breakfast area were all very friendly and helpful. The room (we had a room with 2 singles as it was me and a girlfriend on this tour) was comfortable and had all the necessary items. We had, as recommended by others in my researches, requested a room in the new annex area. This meant we had to go through a ways to the back of the building, and up an elevator to get to our room. This was not a problem but be aware that the waiting area around the elevator was really, really rank with the smell of stale cigarette smoke. And, sadly, wifi didn't work way back in our room. It did work out towards the elevator area, where there was a chair so one could sit, and down in the lobby areas, where there were often youth/young people socializing. This property is connected to the hostel, and shares the breakfast areas with it. I had bought and brought with me an international electrical adapter that was supposed to work, but had no luck. My travel buddy, luckily, had a better outcome with hers. We failed to use the adaptor thingee with it and I ended up frying my large barrel curling iron! So, beware or be prepared for potential electrical difficulties if coming from the US to Ireland....as we encountered this all places we stayed at.

If you're looking for a value-minded place to lay your head, and if you don't require a lot of pampering or high-end ammenities, this might be a place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer area if you want less noise, older area if you want more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I stayed at the Townhouse one night in July and 3 nights in August with my boyfriend. The location is perfect within walking distance of the city centre, true that the area might be a little dodgy, but the street is lined with B&Bs, so I didn't feel uncomfortable at all. It can be quite noisy at night though.
The staff was just great and super friendly and helpful. The rooms could use a little update, there was a tile missing in the bathroom and a lamp shade missing in the room, but it was clean and relatively cheap.
My only issue is the greasy breakfast served in a noisy cantine style room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Decent location, within walking distance of Central Dublin. Though in a rather run down area of town on the verge of either gentrification or slide into drugs and crime. The hotel somewhat reflects this overall seediness and definitely does not merit the 3 stars on its website based on mediocre cleanliness and ongoing deterioration. The list price on the website is entirely fictitious as well and the permanent "special rates" are more in line with the hotel's quality and location among a row of cheap hostels.
We had a booking.com contract stating that the hotel offered free parking (one of the main reasons for choosing the place) and no parking reservation was necessary. When we arrived the parking at the hotel itself was full and we were sent to what was called their overflow parking a 10 minutes walk away in a parking garage, but assured that this was also free and we just needed to have our parking ticket validated when checking out and present it to the garage staff. We validated the ticket at checkout and the hotel confirmed again that the parking would be free. However, at the garage we were told that this was not the case at all, but the validation only entitled us to a not very discounted rate. The day receptionist was exceedingly rude and threatening about this matter and the hotel manager was unwilling to honor the printed hotel policy on my reservation. He ended up somewhat reducing the parking fee, but the whole experience was unpleasant and I would not trust the hotel's stated policies.

Room Tip: Find a better place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Address: 47-48 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Townhouse Hotel Dublin
Dublin Townhouse
Townhouse Dublin
The Townhouse Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.