We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandymount Hotel to your Saves list
Sandymount Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #39 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I would happily recommend the Sandymount hotel. I have stayed here many times and return due to the excellent customer service, comfortable and spacious accomodation, food and location. Free parking is also an added bonus.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

Most local hotels charge for parking which takes from customer value.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    423
    138
    42
    33
See reviews for
189
410
52
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The stay here was very much quit relaxing, I enjoyed my stay as I had a lovely dinner and lunch the soup here I lovely along with the breakfast very filling and the waiters and receptionist are very kind and nice

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Olwen,

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to having you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I've stayed here three times and will be staying here again at the end of march!
The Hotel is situated 2mins walk away from the AVIVA Stadium and Lansdown Rd Station.
The Service here is top standard!i have never had any problems whilst staying here.
Staff are lovely and friendly and very approachable for any matter.
They have a shuttle bus service that will bring you to the 02 Arena in North Wall Quay at €4 Per Person.
Overall lovely place and surrounding areas are too.
I will only stay here on my trips to Dublin and will continue to do so for many years to come.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Hi Katie,

Thank you for your glowing review.

It is a great boost to everyone here to have our efforts appreciated. We look forward to having you back.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Very charming hotel in a great location. I would recommend the Sandymount. The service was great. I was late to get to the O2 for a concert and the taxi was taking too long to arrive so i was offered to be taken there by a member of staff free of charge. The room was spacoius and the comfortable. I will definately be returning on my next trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am delighted we got you to the concert on time.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Exceeded expectations. Warm friendly greeting from the receptionist Siobhan who gave us helpful maps of Dublin, and the local area. It was our first time in Dublin and Siobhan gave us lots of hints and advice on making the most of sightseeing attractions. Room was immaculate with lots of complimentary goodies including a bottle of wine. Perfect meal in bar area at the end of a busy day. Staff all so attentive and personable; nothing was too much trouble. We will be making a return visit. Thank you all so much. Barbara and Ted

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Barbara and Ted,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

We are lucky to have Siobhan with us. In fact a recent guest said she was one of two hotel staff worldwide to whom he would give 11 out of 10! Looking forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We always stay in the Sandymount. It is a lovely hotel. Staff at reception always attentive and helpful. Rooms pleasant and comfortable and quiet. The beds are perfect. TV and wifi very handy Parking always available. We got a very nice offer on this visit. B&B and evening meal. It was beautiful. Service in restaurant is excellent. Mr Loughran(owner) spoke to us whilest we were in the bar. It is a very personal kind of hotel. As usual we enjoyed our stay and will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review.

I hope I wasn’t boring you with my conversation in the bar. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stay at the Sandymount Hotel whenever I am in Dublin. It's very conveniently located and has great facilities, but the same can be said for other hotels. What can't be said for other hotels is the the atmosphere and the welcome you get at the Sandymount. Prices are very competitive, the rooms are nice and the beds are comfortable, the bar menu is varied and good value, WiFi is free and it works everywhere. But most of all, the staff are so friendly, welcoming, and helpful. I would recommend it to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Frank,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

My staff and I are proud of our genuine care for guests that won’t be found in other hotels. It is a great boost to know that our guests feel the same.

We look forward to looking after you for many years to come.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Dublin
#17 Business Hotel in Dublin
#38 Family Hotel in Dublin
#45 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandymount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The O2 Arena is less than a 5-minute drive from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. A family run hotel for the last 59 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and we have a casual dining menu available all day in Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandymount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.