We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandymount Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sandymount Hotel to your Saves list
Sandymount Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Wedding venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had our Wedding in the Sandymount hotel in September 2013. I cannot rate the experience highly enough. The staff are so friendly and we got so many compliments about the food from our guests. The rates are also very reasonable. It really was the perfect day thanks largely to the team at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Louise,

Thank you for your glowing review. We are all delighted that you and your guests enjoyed a “perfect day”.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    373
    129
    39
    30
See reviews for
168
364
49
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Got room 611 and had to ask to be moved. I swear there was a smell of cats pee in the room. Cobwebs on the ceiling broken toilet seat and dirty carpets. Pure filth! We had come from a two night stay in the Pembrooke in Kilkenny which was heaven.. Would never stay in Sandymount again even if I was given it for free! Oh yeah got a show from the couple staying above us once before we went to sleep and once when we woke up! That was the highlight..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Stephen,

Thank you for your review.

I apologise that your experience was not what we try to provide. Your comments have been brought to the attention of my Housekeeping Manager.

The hotel has an on-going programme of bedroom refurbishment. Room 611 is due for refurbishment this winter.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

When we 1st booked this hotel we wanted somewhere close to the City Centre, but quiet as well, we also wanted a Hotel that could accomodate a wedding and give us the perfect day and also a comfortable stay as we were there for 5 nights. As we live in Wales all the booking and setting up was basically done by e-mail and phone calls, Did this work out? It did. What an amazing time we had. The Hotel was everything we wanted, relaxing, friendly, clean and as for the wedding, we had our perfect day. The room set up was amazing, the food was excellent and the staff from reception to bar to kitchen were brilliant. I want to mention a few names. Marie and gang that fed us for Breakfast and did an amazing job looking after us for the wedding. Daniel and Syivia that looked after us in the bar and also the girls on reception especially Siobhain. And a BIG thank you to all the other staff that worked in the back ground that we never saw and the people that I´ve forgotten to mention. Last but not least Gail. I must have driven her mad with all the phone calls and e-mails. But she helped organise our perfect day. Regardless of the reason for travelling to Dublin. This is the hotel that I think will cater for you time in Dublin. 5 days that my wife and I will always remember and for All The Right Reasons. Thank You Sandymount Hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a glowing review. It is a great boost to my staff when their efforts are recognised.

We recently had a couple back in the hotel where they spent their honeymoon 50 years ago. Wishing you both a similar long and happy married life together.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Made to feel really welcome by reception staff. The room was comfortable and spotless providing all we required. The restaurant for breakfast was very attractive and the breakfast itself was good. Unfortunately wedding guests on our floor kept us awake singing and shouting from 2.00am until 5.00 am. The night manager did his best but really the guests were totally unreasonable and had drunk too much. I have to say that the following morning the reception staff were very apologetic and dealt with our complaints in a very professional manner. As a result I would think that our unfortunate experience was a one off and I would return to this hotel, but maybe ask for a quiet room. It is a family run hotel and they really do aim to please their guests .

Room Tip: Ask to be kept apart from any wedding party guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Debbie,

Thank you for your review. I apologise for the disturbance. We took a decision this week not to take any more weddings as they are not conducive to the quiet family hotel ambiance.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Would book again. Very friendly clean and value for money. Location very good. Made my stay there very welcome. Home from home rooms very clean and well equipped . Very busy when we stayed there in October.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and positive review. We have had our busiest October for seven years, and are delighted when guests such as you show your appreciation.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I always stay in The Sandymount when in Dublin. Its perfect quiet location and the staff are very helpful, especially Beatrice at reception. The rooms are good and the Food is excellent in the bar. Someday I hope to stay for a long weekend for a leisure not just work. The hotel is right next door ti the Aviva stadium, so tying a match to the trip would be excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Nigel,

Thank you for your kind review. We are all extremely grateful that you always stay with us when in Dublin. Beatrice who is with the hotel 33 years is a gem. Looking forward to your next visit.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

7 week stay on business. Couldnt have asked for better. Extremely helpful staff. Always very friendly. Rooms kept clean. Good food. Nothing was too much trouble. No hesitation in recommending this hotel for business or leisure. In fact I'm going back on a leisure trip next month.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandymount_Hotel, Owner at Sandymount Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and positive review, and in particular your praise for my staff. I think I have the friendliest and most caring team in Dublin. We all look forward to your return next month on your leisure trip.

With kind regards,

John Loughran
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandymount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandymount Hotel

Address: Herbert Rd | Sandymount, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Mount Herbert Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Business Hotel in Dublin
#29 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandymount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 10 minutes from Dublin city centre, 14km from the airport and two minutes from the DART train station which links you to all Dublin's main attractions in minutes, Sandymount Hotel is the perfect hotel for every visit to Dublin. The O2 Arena is less than a 5-minute drive from the hotel and the Bord Gais Energy Theatre is 1 stop away by DART rail. There is free parking and WIFI also available. A family run hotel for the last 59 years it's the people that make your stay special. A full Irish breakfast is served daily in Whitty's Restaurant and we have a casual dining menu available all day in Line Out Bar which features a terrace overlooking private gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandymount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Herbert Dublin
Hotel Mount Herbert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandymount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.