We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The loudest hotel I ever stayed in!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Custom House Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Obertshausen
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The loudest hotel I ever stayed in!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

I stayed at the Jurys Inn for a business trip- and I regreted from the first minute. The rooms are connected by a door (which is locked)
- but you can hear every word spoken in the room next door and there
is no need to turn on the TV yourself - you will be able to understand everything from your neighbor. Additionally, the street is very loud. The windows isolate quite well, but if you pen the window to get some fresh and cool air, you will even forget your neigbor. Never again, although the location is otherwise quite nice.


  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    500
    200
    61
    29
See reviews for
186
358
71
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

Quite impressed really. I booked my room for just €79. Check in was effecient. Location is excellent. Room was comfortable with a great view out to the river. The car park is adjacent to the hotel. The WIFI is only €10 for 24 hours which is great value. The Bar food was excellent and also good value. The only problem is the €12 per night for the adjacent car park. Apart from that, this appears to be a good value, comfortable hotel in a central location. A pleasent suprise really!

  • Liked — Good Value
  • Disliked — €12 per day car park
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

I stayed here recently for 2 nights. Number one was that I had what can only be called a camp bed as my main double bed in the room.

Number two, at 4 oclock each morning the radiator started banging, apparently this was not only happening in my room. When i complained at reception they just laughed it off and said thats just the way it is.

Number three, there was a game on on the tv in the bar on the thursday evening so I decided to go have a few drinks and watch it. I had twp pints of heineken and they refused to serve me a third as I was consuming alcohol without a substansial meal and there was a danger I might become aggressive. Ridiculous...

Stay away!!

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2007

OK. The glossy reception hides an accommodation area that could do with freshening up, including the rooms.

The good bit was that is was close to the office.

A bit on the pricey side for what it is.

  • Liked — Close to city
  • Disliked — Tired accommodation area
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2007

I booked this hotel for a nights stay in dublin as I was travelling there to see a concert. I had a busy day and didn't arrive in dublin until between 6 and 7. I had a document with a deadline of that evening and I needed to upload it as soon as I was finished it. I was still finishing the document on the trip and I called the hotel to make sure I would have wifi access for my laptop as I had to submit the document online. They told me it would be no problem. I got to the hotel and my boyfriend went to check in as I tried to access the wifi. It didn't work and after much frustration I went up to my boyfriend, who seemed to be having problems checking in. Apparently they had given our room away!!! We hadn't arrived late, they just decided to give our room to someone else and move us to another of their hotels that they assured us was better than the one we had booked. Perhaps it was, but we booked this one for convience and nearness to the venue( the other one was much further away) as we knew we wouldn't have much time between when we arrived at the hotel and when the gig started, plus, all our friends were staying in the same place.
They apologised when we told them why we booked this one and told us that they would pay for our taxi over there. We agreed and told them we would get ready in a friends room and take the taxi to drop our bags off and continue to the concert as we only had an hour. While my boyfriend was sorting this out I asked about the wifi and they took me to a conference room where I could use a LAN connection and gave me a number that would allow me access. Surprisingly, it didnt work either. Sometime later a lad from IT arrived down, clicked a few things, checked everything connection-wise that I told him I had already done and told me he was sorry, he didnt know why it wasnt working. Alas, I missed my deadline. Giving up, I was told the situation from my boyfriend and went upstairs to get ready, we were not five minutes up when they called us to tell us the taxi was already there and wouldn't wait!!!! They had called without asking us and now apparently it was our fault. We had to book and pay for the taxi ourselves!!!! I was livid and after all this we ended up being late for the concert. When we complained about the entire experience they gave us a voucher for a free lunch the next day. Whooppee!

Money grabbing idiots! Will never stay in a Jury's again if I can help it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — They had no idea what customer service is, although they made a slight attempt at it
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2006

Booked this hotel for one night to avoid traffic hassle or taxi fight on concert night,

Lobby area bright and clean but very busy.

Room VERY dated. Thin walls and door meant it was very noisy all night. Bed was hard and had blankets which I found very old-fashioned given most hotels use duvets now.

Bathroom needed a bottle of bleach, did not feel clean.

At €140 for the night it was desperately overpriced.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathroom not clean
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in another hotel
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2006

Stayed one night on November for a concert at the point. Very close to the point (15 minute walk in normal tempo) The room was normally sized and the bath was quite big. It is close to the city centre as well (15 minutes walk). Price was good and parking was available. The staff was friendly and the view very nice if you get a room that looks out on the river.


The only thing I would mention was that the bathroom was not properly cleaned (hair from previous gests was found several places. The Batchroom look like it needed a little TLC. The rod that holds the shower curtain was rusty, the soap holder on the wall was hanging out (someone ripped it out of the wall?)

An average room I would say.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — Room was not properly cleaned
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room with a view over the river
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House

Address: Custom House Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#49 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#65 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House is perfectly located within the city's financial district with the International Financial Services Centre (IFSC) next door and only a 6 minute walk to Connolly railway station - the perfect location for the business traveller. The hotel sits at banks of the River Liffey and offers beautiful views across the river's promenade. Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House is a convenient 14 minute jaunt to Henry Street - one of the city's biggest shopping streets which houses an array of high street stores and malls. The hotel features all day coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar perfect for a relaxing drink after an exciting day in the city. Grab a light bite from the bar menu or alternatively enjoy a delicious meal at our in-house seasonal restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. Guests arriving by car can avail of the Park Rite IFSC multi-storey car park located on Commons Street just behind the hotel. The hotel features 239 spacious rooms suitable for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen MultiChannel TV, and Free WiFi - guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Dublin with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, JurysInn, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Custom House Hotel Dublin
Jurys Hotel Custom
Jurys Inn Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.