We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“located well for shopping/bars etc” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Custom House Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“located well for shopping/bars etc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

i booked this 3 day break for my boyfriend becoming a teacher and having stayed in the jurys inn before, thought i couldnt go far wrong.
we arrived off our flight in to the centre of dublin - with the bus station 5 minutes max from hotel - at 9:00am and were given our rooms straight away. staff were friendly and welcoming.
after unpacking/showering in our clean, but kind of dated room, we found it was a fine location in regards to walking in and out of town. we never found the traffic a problem in our room....

bar food was great and value for money - bar was lovely and relaxed for a late night-cap.

as it turned out, my boyfriend is now my fiance after asking me to marry him on our trip to dublin.... so smiley faces all round!

one thing i would say, is the area is quite dodgy at times. several drunken men hang around on the paths surrounding the river and it can be quite daunting. also at night, i didnt feel very safe walking back to the hotel, as the area is quite derelict and very quiet. id advise a taxi back late at night, which only cost a few euros.....

  • Liked — able to check in early was the biggest bonus, considering we had been up since 4am that morning
  • Disliked — the area felt a little unsafe
  • Tips/Secrets — there is a lovely pub behind the hotel, beside 'the lock'...... if you dont fancying trailing in to town for a drink
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    497
    199
    61
    28
See reviews for
185
354
71
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

I made a next-day booking of a twin room here for two foreign friends. Later that day they called me back and said that due to an error they had no available rooms. Which was ok, because they transferred us to the 4-star Burlington hotel, which was fine by me. See seperate review of Burlington.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

A nice 3*hotel located fairly centrally (15 min walk from Temple Bar/ Grafton St. main shops, attractions) on the North side of the Liffey. However the main Rd to the port runs just outside the hotel with 1000s of lorries chugging into the city. The quadruple glazing sorted this out when the windows were closed! Nice swanky lobby and coffee bar/ restaurant. Good value for €93/ room/ night - (booked via hotwire but internet rate on their website is the same).

  • Liked — Good value for money
  • Disliked — Noise of traffic and view of the lorries!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, N. Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times as, using discount websites, it is about the best value in Dublin.
We find the rooms to be very comfortable and spacious. Rooms have always been clean, with clean towels and linen provided daily. Front facing rooms can be noisy at times due to Port traffic but we have never found this to be problematic.
We have always found the staff to be heplful and polite. Service in the bar can be slow but only at busy times.
The hotel is slightly further out than most, however, if you like a bit of a stroll then it's fine. In about ten minutes you are in the heart of Dublin and i'm no speed walker by any means!!
The hotel also has a large Car Park attached which is hard to find in Dublin city centre which is very handy and also not overly expensive. Car Park is also biker friendly as we have made the trip on two wheels a few times! And found no adverse reaction from staff when we arrived in reception brandishing helmets, jackets, panniers etc etc!
We will definately stay here in the future and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Value for money and parking facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing we can think of!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared for a short walk to the City Centre.
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

Great Hotel. Excellent value for money and a great bar. We requested a room at the back which in hindsight was great, as we needed to get some sleep. I can imagine the traffice coming from the docks being a nightmare. We had some bar food, which was great value and really tasty. Will use it again when visting Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

Stayed here for one night before boarding a bus tour of Ireland which left from around the corner. Reasonably priced, friendly and helpful staff, well located for Temple Bar etc. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if passing through Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2006

Stayed here admittedly only for one night on a business trip 07/06/06 but was a little dismayed with the amount of traffic that passes this hotel. It is as it states on the waterfront but fails to advise the traveller that the main road to the port runs right outside and this is filled all day and some of the night with huge container lorries. The amount of traffic makes it impossible to open the windows as the noise is terriffic but the rooms are so stuffy that you need to have a window open!!!!! The rooms are adequate although a little dated and I was rather confused as to why I need both a double bed (very very comfortable) and a double z bed in the room as I was on my own. The hotel have an arrangement with the multi storey car park next door for reduced overnight rates for parking which is handy. We had booked and received confirmation of bed & breakfast but we were not listed on the breakfast list so this had to be checked luckily I had all the confirmation paperwork. Breakfast was very good but steer well away from the black pudding it would have served one of the ever incumbent lorries well as a spare tyre. My collegues and I visted Temple Bar and enjoyed some very good Guiness and music and had a wander round, I and another collegue had wanted to visit Dublin for some time and although we want to return to Ireland we both agree that we are unlikely to stay in Dublin again. The staff at The Jurys Custom House are welcoming and efficient it is a shame about the location had this hotel been anywhere else than on the road to hell I would probably stay here again. Don't let this review put you off though go and have a look, it does make a reasonable short term base for a stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House

Address: Custom House Quay, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#49 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#61 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House is perfectly located within the city's financial district with the International Financial Services Centre (IFSC) next door and only a 6 minute walk to Connolly railway station - the perfect location for the business traveller. The hotel sits at banks of the River Liffey and offers beautiful views across the river's promenade. Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House is a convenient 14 minute jaunt to Henry Street - one of the city's biggest shopping streets which houses an array of high street stores and malls. The hotel features all day coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar perfect for a relaxing drink after an exciting day in the city. Grab a light bite from the bar menu or alternatively enjoy a delicious meal at our in-house seasonal restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10pm for dinner. Guests arriving by car can avail of the Park Rite IFSC multi-storey car park located on Commons Street just behind the hotel. The hotel features 239 spacious rooms suitable for up to 3 adults or 2 adults/2 children sharing. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious and modern bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen MultiChannel TV, and Free WiFi - guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Dublin with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, JurysInn, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Custom House Hotel Dublin
Jurys Hotel Custom
Jurys Inn Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Dublin Custom House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.