We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maze!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beresford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beresford Hotel to your Saves list
Beresford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Store St, Dublin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Galway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Maze!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Hotel room is quite decent for the price. Bed is good to sleep in. Bathroom is functional but nothing too fancy. Hot and Cold taps are independant. Quite frequent in old dublin house but impracticle.

TV is quite poor with bad receptions and few channels to choose from.

Rooms are not easy to access, especially with a luggage... Would anyone ever go to a hotel without a piece of luggage.

To go from reception to my room is like a maze...
Go up 1 floor with the lift, walk through corridors for few mins and then go down and up a few stairs here and there and then down a floor... A bit crazy considering I started on the ground floor and ended up in an underground floor via the 1 floor... Looks like 2 buildings got converted into a hotel but very annoying to walk around plus up and down to get to my room with my suitcase.

And the same to get out...

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Antoine-Shannon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Beresford Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Our reception team should have informed you that you have been allocated one of our Georgian Building rooms. Unfortunately during times of high occupancy these rooms are used without request, however you should have been made aware of this at check in and offered a help with your luggage. Thank you for your feedback and please be assured it will be utilized fully.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    208
    106
    47
    27
See reviews for
60
214
29
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

For our next stay in Dublin we would like to choose it again. The location is ideal for exploring the city and the country. Every main sight is within walking distance. The bus and train stations are nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Marianne S,

Thank you very much for providing feedback on your experience at Beresford Hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. The team and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Beresford Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

stayed at the Beresford for 2 nights whilst in Dublin on business. Getting hotels near to the exhibiton centre is a challenge to get them at a reasonable price but the Beresford has rates that are not bad. if you don't know the area, its close to the bus station and the railway and the trams run by the front of the hotel. They are very conscious of locking the building in the evening to stop people sleeping rough from coming in. don't get me wrong we we had no issues but it makes you aware that you are in the city. Rooms are fine if a bit dated and the shower in my room was powerful, not sure it was intended though. enjoyed breakfast and a few drinks. So for my colleague and I it gave us the base we needed without the need for taxis. and we went out in the evening and enjoyed a good walk but found we weren't too far from things. After a few pints the walk was frankly welcome

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear GordonM718,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at Beresford Hotel. It is great to hear you had an enjoyable trip and the hotel was convenient for you. The team and I hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to Dublin.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

This is a fine hotel, situated perfectly for a stay in Dublin. Situated 200 metres from the Glorious customs house, in an area of mixed stainless steel and glass, mixed with buildings supported by the panoply of Greek/georgian corinthian pillars, which is the face of the modern city.500 metres to the Liffey.
The ruinous state to which the recession has reduced Ireland can be witnessed by strolling a few blocks outwards; there is good shopping though by heading towards the Post Office.
Excellent, generous breakfasts, with all that the heart could desire; nice bar, excellent friendly staff, who were most helpful.
We had room 562, quite a hike from reception, but in splendid isolation at the top of the building. It was very quiet, large, and equipped with a good bright functional shower room,and otherwise well appointed.
Thorougly pleasant stay, with tram stops outside, and a short walking distance from the heart of this amazing city.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear John H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Beresford Hotel. While it is great to hear that you found the location of the hotel excellent, it pleases me even more that you found the staff so helpful. I will make sure to inform the team of such praise. We look forward to welcoming you back to Beresford Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I visit Dublin a couple of times a month and now choose this hotel above many others for several reasons. Firstly the staff are, without exception friendly and helpful and a credit to the hotel. The restaurant serve good quality food at a sensible price. The menu is not huge which is generally a good sign since it allows the chef(s) to focus on the quality.
The rooms are well serviced with all the facilities you would reasonable expect and the location is very convenient for the center (O'Connell street is a few minutes walk) transport links could not be better. The bus station is across the road, the trams pass close by and Connolly rail station is a few minutes walk.away.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear LastLegsDave,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your several experiences at Beresford Hotel. It was an absolute pleasure to read your comments. I am truly delighted that you are enjoying your stays with us in Dublin. Please be assured I will pass on your glowing comments to all the team. We all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had our wedding reception in restaurant last week and want to say a big Thank you to Bogdan- the food was DELICIOUS, you couldn't hope for more, tortellini tasted divine like everything else; venue lovely! Thanks so much!!!! The room was spotlessly clean, beautiful and spacious, hotel staff friendly. Thanks Janet for arranging everything to look so perfect and Thank you Rodica for making sure we had an enjoyable stay! Benny & Anna

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Benny and Anna,

Thank you very much for providing feedback on your recent wedding reception and stay at Beresford Hotel.. I am truly delighted that your experience was an amazing one. Please be assured I will pass on your compliments to our kitchen team in regards to your wonderful meal in restaurant. It is fantastic that throughout the departments all the team looked after you and your partner well. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Beresford Hotel in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

On the positive side the hotel is well located close to the city centre, the rooms were spotless and the breakfast was absolutely delicious! On the negative side the rooms were very small, the corridors were dark, very narrow and did not smell very fresh and the rooms were overpriced due to staying for the One Direction concert. Okay for a one night stay only.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liina V, Front Office Manager at Beresford Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Nicky F,

Thank you for your review of Beresford Hotel and for providing your feedback. We really appreciate our guests taking the time to review the hotel and provide us with some constructive feedback where we can learn and improve our services. I am sorry to see you were dissatisfied with some parts of your stay. I do hope this will not deter you from staying with Beresford Hotel in the future.

Warmest Regards,
Liina Virunurm
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beresford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresford Hotel

Address: 21 Store St, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beresford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beresford Hotel is a superb hotel in the very heart of Dublin City Centre. Overlooking the magnificent Custom House, Beresford Hotel is the perfect location for anyone who wants the city on their doorstep just minutes from O'Connell Street and Temple Bar and opposite the Bus, Luas and Train stations. The O2 Arena, Croke Park and a host of tourist attractions as well as Restaurants, Bars and Shops are all within walking distance of the hotel. The Aviva Stadium, Dublin Mountains and sandy beaches are a short train ride away. So whether you are looking for a city break to Dublin, are attending a special event or fancy a shopping trip to the city, stay with Beresford Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Beresford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isaacs Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beresford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.