We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, affordable place to stay in Dublin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor House Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor House Dublin to your Saves list
Anchor House Dublin
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   49 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland (North City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast Direct
Ranked #46 of 163 Dublin B&B and Inns
Hove, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good, affordable place to stay in Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

Stayed four nights at Anchor Guesthouse. Room was very clean and well maintained. Staff were very accommodating, and location is excellent. It's only a short walk to the main sights on the other side of the river.

The only drawback is its position on a busy road onto which our room faced. This made for a bit of a noisy night, but nothing too bad. Would recommend it to others looking for reasonably priced accommodation in Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    219
    82
    32
    8
See reviews for
79
190
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

According to the Lonely Planet's guide to Ireland, the Anchor Guesthouse offers both economy and charm-laden comfort, and I emphatically agree. Located on Lower Gardiner Street, it is within a minimal walk of the various regions of Dublin that my wife and I wanted to explore (Trinity College, the Killmainham area, St. Stephen's Green, Grafton Street), and within a mere block of the bus stop where one can hop onto, or off of, the "747" bus that runs between the airport and downtown for a most reasonable 7 Euro per person.

The guesthouse itself was precisely what I'd been hoping to find: a cozy, reasonably priced (roughly 77 Euro per night) place to lay both our heads and our luggage while exploring a new city almost entirely on foot. Architecturally, it is, like several of the guesthouses in the area, a townhouse which had been expanded to include an additional set of rooms in a building connected to it via a covered walkway. The main guesthouse retained much of what one would call "traditional" charm -- hardwood floors, a large, richly carpeted staircase, even a beautiful grandfather clock in the foyer. The breakfast room, technically two rooms, is large and comfortable, painted in a surprisingly soothing pink, and with numerous tables and a large fireplace. Breakfast (an extra 8 Euro per person, per day) is simple but tasty fare -- eggs, toast, a variety of cereals, and fresh and delicious coffee. I recommend it mostly for weekends, when few of the places downtown that would otherwise offer breakfast food are open.

The room was cozy for the two of us, spotlessly clean, and appointed with a large and well-mattressed bed....which the extremely friendly and thoughtful concierge (if that's the accurate term for someone welcoming guests at what's essentially a B&B) suggested, when showing us to our room, that I try lying on to ensure that my 6'5" frame would in fact fit.

Overall, my experience left me feeling as happy about my choice of lodging as with my choice of guidebook; the Lonely Planet guide was spot on. I'd encourage anyone hoping to see Dublin to stay there; the prices further out in the suburbs are only marginally lower, and there's definite value in a place where one can stop, midday, to take a breather from sightseeing, without the added travel time of a bus or taxi (the latter being a somewhat costly proposition in Dublin).

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

Excellent location for the money only ten mins walk to most attractions etc. Very close to transport links to airport and to city etc. Neighbourhood was good. Rooms clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Only downside was the breakfast - 8 euro for a small beans on toast no full irish breakfast in sight!!!

  • Liked — Friendly Welcome
  • Disliked — Price of Breakfast
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

Nice, well-kept guest house - the staff are great and the rooms are "cozy" (ours was tiny but serverd it's purpose well); the neighborhood is okay - not as nice as the southern side of the Liffey (which makes this more affordable).

  • Liked — Interior well kept
  • Disliked — tiny room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

Cozy, comfortable, friendly place to stay in Dublin! This is a family-owned and operated property located within walking distance to Dublin's Talbott Street, O'Connell Street, Temple Bar and Grafton Street. It's not uncommon to have the owner meet you at the door. We have stayed here three times over the past five years, and have never been disappointed. There is a city bus that takes you from the airport to within a couple of blocks of the Anchor. The front of the guest house (where the breakfast room is located) is a lovely Georgian building. We have always stayed in one of the rooms in the new wing, which has Ikea-style furniture and bathroom. The staff is dedicated, friendly and competent, the property is clean and well maintained. Our room has always been quiet, which is amazing in busy Dublin. Also, the guests at the Anchor always seem to be nice, friendly, responsible people from all over Europe and the US. Breakfast is included, and one couldn't expect more than a freshly-prepared "Full Irish," but the Anchor also provides cereals, fruit, yogurt, etc. If you're lucky enough to eat at the table overlooking the street you'll see regular Dubliners heading to work or weekend shopping.
The location is on a street with many tourist hotels. There are many stores on Talbot street with anything a tourist could need. There's even a laundry a block away that will wash and fold your clothes and have it back the same day.
Of course, this is not the Plaza hotel in Manhattan - but it is a lovely little place to stay and explore Dublin.

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere, great breakfast, terrific value
  • Disliked — no complaints, good deal for the price
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

Great quest house, on main bus route from airport and within 10min walk from town centre/temple bar. Clean rooms and lovely breakfast. I would definetly stay here again!!!

  • Liked — location & staff
  • Disliked — no wireless availible in room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

We had a really wonderful stay at The Anchor. It was by far and away the best value option we found for standard and location. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming, the room was bright and clean, as was our bathroom and the breakfast was delicious.
I would recommend it very highly.

  • Liked — The value and location
  • Disliked — No tea and coffee in room (although if you ask it's 6 euro for the whole stay)
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor House Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor House Dublin

Address: 49 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor House Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3* family run guesthouse in Dublin City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Anchor House Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor House Dublin Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor House Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.