We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please RECONSIDER!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor House Dublin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor House Dublin to your Saves list
Anchor House Dublin
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   49 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland (North City Centre)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast Direct
Ranked #46 of 163 Dublin B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Please RECONSIDER!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Definitely do not feel welcome during our 1st day check in. Host did not even offer to help with luggages. Bed was terrible with 1 side sunk in! & shower area was super small, you'll probably bang onto the closings....only consolation - Breakfast & location was ok.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    218
    82
    32
    8
See reviews for
79
190
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Anchor House for 3 nights last week. While the room itself was fairly basic, we had a very nice stay. The location was great; we were able to walk almost everywhere we needed to be.

We had a morning flight from London, so we arrived at the B&B before check-in time with the intention of just dropping our bags and exploring for a while. They had our room ready already and the we were shown to it right then, which was awesome. The staff was very helpful and friendly for our entire visit. You have to drop your key in a box each time you leave, and then buzz to get back in the front door, which was a little odd, but not a terrible inconvenience.

Parts of the hotel are definitely a little dated, but overall it was a great value. We also very much enjoyed the sitting room on the ground floor; the fireplace was perfect after a day of being outside in the cold. We will definitely return if we ever make it back to Dublin!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our second visit to this lovely B & B and as good as our first.
From arrival to departure the staff are so welcoming & friendly you feel right at home.
The room was spotless, comfortable and quiet.
Breakfast was very good with excellent service.
The B & B is well positioned for everything -shopping, 02 , Luas, restaurants & Bars.
The car park is very welcome ( Pre-book first )
I would recommend this without hesitation,,
see ye soon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

When we arrived at the b & b at about middayish, we had to press the bell and wait to be let in. This was fine but did become a pain as I will explain later. We were directed to the front desk which was through another door and down the hall. The lady at the desk asked us if we had a reservation and took our name and then told us, not very politely, that she was in the middle of something and that we would have to wait in the sitting room. Both myself and my husband found her manner quite rude and not friendly at all (as we had read about the staff in some peoples' reviews). We sat in the downstairs sitting room which was nice and quaint and was in the old part of the building. We were then shown to our room which was room 2. This was situated in what appeared to be a more modern building which was connected to the older building by a strange roofed walkway (difficult to describe). The room in itself was fine. Clean but very dated and tired looking, The bathroom was quite small with a shower which had seen better days. It had paint flaking off at the bottom and the radiator in the bathroom was a horrible off white/ yellow colour. The shower also flitted from hot water to cold water but was useable. The room had large windows/ doors which opened inwards like patio doors but there were bars on the other side and the doors opened up to show a lovely view of an alleyway and some loading areas. Considering the size of the windows the room was very dingey. This was probably something to do with the large buildings next door that blocked out all the light. Lets just say the view was pretty dire! Oh well only staying the one night so didn't think to mention this to the hotel staff. Didn't seem important. We left the room to go explore Dublin and were told that we needed to leave our room key at reception before we left the b & b and that we would have to buzz to be let in each time we came back. This was not a real problem in itself but did become quite annoying. When we got back to the b & b that night we asked the reception staff (who was a different person to who we had checked in with) for our room key 2 and they just gave it to us. Didn't check our name or anything. We could have been anyone!! Anyway we went to bed that night and the room was pretty cold but to be fair the radiator worked really well and half way through the night I woke up boiling hot. At about 8am me and my husband were rudely awoken by the noise of a lorry which was parked in the alleyway and was unloading cargo or whatever into one of the loading bays/ warehouses. The engine was running for absolutely ages. When it finally went away we were only graced with about another 20mins quiet before another vehicle made an appearance. Luckily we didn't want to get up too late but if we did we wouldn't have been able to!!

We went to breakfast at about 9:15am and the breakfast room was nice with high ceilings and a piano. We helped ourselves to a yoghurt before the lady came an took our breakfast order. We both order a full breakfast which consisted of bacon, sausage, beans and scrambled egg with toast.The breakfast was ok except that the scrambled egg was disgusting and watery. Both of us left most of it and the lady serving did ask my husband if he wanted something different but we declined. Nice to offer though.

Overall the b & b was ok and the staff were average but it's not the best place I've stayed and not the worst. I don't think that this is anything to do with the price of the B & B as I have stayed in plenty of places at a similar cost and most of them have been a lot better than this one.

Room Tip: Do not take room 2!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the anchor house and although the breakfast was definitely not great and the rooms pretty basic, the location was so good and the owner so nice it didn't matter. We were ale to park a very large van and arrive late at night and they had no problems. it would suggest they improve their breakfast but otherwise I would definitely stay there again because we found it to be a good value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The Anchor House B&B in Dublin was a perfect place to stay on our 3 night trip. It was close walking distance to Temple Bar Street with tons of bars, live music and restaurants. The rooms were really basic, but had everything you could need during your stay - clean bed, room service every day, good water pressure, coffee and small TV.

All staff members were extremely friendly and accommodating. There was no hair dryer in the room, but they had one readily available for me to use during my stay. They also provided us with converters for the outlets and printed something for us at the desk.

It's the little things that count, making this a wonderful place to stay on your trip to Dublin. Not only was the value of the room great, but a free Irish Breakfast was also included every morning (at breakfast, we also had very friendly service!)

I would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Anchor Guesthouse for two weeks in Jan / Feb 2013. It is located on Lower Gardiner Street so that it is right on a bus line, only a few minutes walk from the Luas line and also close to the airport link.

The guesthouse is run by Joan and Gerry both of who are warm and very welcoming. The rooms themselves are clean and spacious with very good bathroom facilities. A free breakfast is included each day of your stay if you book via the anchor guesthouse direct website rather than via booking.com or some other booking site. The breakfast is very good with cereals, fruit, yoghurt and juice available and a cooked breakfast prepared as you would like it.

The Anchor is one of the best quality guesthouses I have stayed in and I will be recommending it to friends looking for a welcoming, central and good value place to stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor House Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor House Dublin

Address: 49 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor House Dublin 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 3* family run guesthouse in Dublin City Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Anchor House Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor House Dublin Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor House Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.