We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westbury to your Saves list
The Westbury
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grafton Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We spent couple of weeks ago at the Westbury? How could I describe our staying in one word? Perfect. The staff was lovely. The room quiet, elegant, clean and very comfortable. Perfect location. Everything was wonderful. We also havd breakfast in the Cafe Novo, and it was great. We really enjoyed our 3-night stay at the Westbury, ad when I'll go back to Dublin, have for sure I will visit the Westbury.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictoriaPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear victoriaPe

Thank you for having chosen to stay at The Westbury Hotel Dublin and thank you for having taken the time to review your experience of our renowned establishment on Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is important to us and your feedback is most appreciated indeed.
Comments from our guests allow us to carefully monitor and ensure the very best of standards associated with those of Leading Hotels Of The World.
I do hope that it will not be too long before I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel and thank you once again for your comments and custom.
Kind regards,
Lynsey White
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

As someone who has stayed in a number of Dublin city centre hotels this is my number one choice. Its beautiful, elegant, spotless, comfortable, not all pretentious, has fantastic friendly service - concierge in particular, and the location a few steps off Grafton St couldn't be better for shopping, eating and sightseeing.
I got a very good deal on the price but for the overall experience i would have been happier to pay even more. I didn't bother with the breakfast as Bewleys is just around the corner and much better value, in fact we ate all our meals out and in the immediate area - all excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miskawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear miskawn

Thank you for having chosen to stay at The Westbury Hotel Dublin and thank you for having taken the time to review your experience of our renowned establishment on Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is important to us and your feedback is most appreciated indeed.
Comments from our guests allow us to carefully monitor and ensure the very best of standards associated with those of Leading Hotels Of The World.
I do hope that it will not be too long before I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel and thank you once again for your comments and custom.
Kind regards,
Lynsey White
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed in one of the suites and it's truly 5-star. I have to say there is not too much wow factor, but we are impressed by everything. It's quite difficult to find a hotel when everything is just right. Not a very big bathroom but decorated nicely and comfortable. The living is comfortable, decent size(big). The writing desk is the right size (bigger than those in the suites of other 5-star) where you have enough space for your laptop and papers and other stuff. The bedroom is again well decorated and big. The front desk is helpful and polite . Location is perfect. Restaurant offers decent good food.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangerabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear orangerabbit

Thank you for having chosen to stay at The Westbury Hotel Dublin and thank you for having taken the time to review your experience of our renowned establishment on Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is important to us and your feedback is most appreciated indeed.
Comments from our guests allow us to carefully monitor and ensure the very best of standards associated with those of Leading Hotels Of The World.
I do hope that it will not be too long before I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel and thank you once again for your comments and custom.
Kind regards,
Lynsey White
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

Top location just off Grafton Street close to everthing. Staff very professional and courteous right from outside to the room. Good price from hotels own website on 3 nights for 2 offer, with the poor exchange rate from GBP to Euro that was welcome! Dublin is expensive for us Brits at moment with a pint of the black stuff around €5.50 (£5)or more. Very nicely decorated throughout. Room a "superior" which was a good size, very well appointed with a lot of nice touches you would expect of a 5* hotel from a nespresso coffee machine(great coffee, the girlfriend is a tea drinker and no tea making facilities so it didn't impress her!!) to dressing gowns and slippers and crystal glassware. Room was very clean and a turndown service in evening again a nice touch. Will certainly look to book on our next visit to Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear ukgator

Thank you for having chosen to stay at The Westbury Hotel Dublin and thank you for having taken the time to review your experience of our renowned establishment on Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is important to us and your feedback is most appreciated indeed.
Comments from our guests allow us to carefully monitor and ensure the very best of standards associated with those of Leading Hotels Of The World.
I do hope that it will not be too long before I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel and thank you once again for your comments and custom.
Kind regards,
Lynsey White
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

Really enjoyed our 2-night stay at the Westbury - great location, friendly welcome, very comfortable rooms. The reception area is fantastic for people watching. Only slight niggle was having to ring reception every day to have our coffee supply topped up, despite leaving the box open on the side so that it was obvious it was empty. Also, having to ring for a hairdryer. That aside, absolutely loved it and want to go back soon.

For anyone visiting Dublin for the first time, beware of being ripped off by taxi drivers at the airport - we were charged €48 to get into the middle of the city (and only €21 for the return journey, arranged by our hotel). Also, Dublin suddenly seems expensive since the last time I visited (€5-€6 for a pint of lager) so take lots of cash and you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJHenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

Probably the best location in Dublin, just off Grafton street. Friendly staff, large spacious room with nice 5 star touches such as fresh summer berries, robes, slippers and a turndown service. Large bathroom with plenty of quality toiletries and nice big soft fluffy towels. Near some of the best shops, bars and restaurants in the city. Rooms nice and quiet with no outside noise.Lovely foyer and bar. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOELK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestburyGM, General Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, May 23, 2009
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us. As you mentioned, The Westbury is ideally located on Grafton Street - Dublin's premier shopping street. We are also within walking distance of most major tourist attractions.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back to The Westbury Hotel Dublin in the near future soon.

Kind regards

Glenn Valentine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

It was my Mum's 60th Brithday last weekend and she was gong to be in Dublin for it, and as a surprise us 6 kids booked her into The Westbury for a bit of luxury. And luxury it was, from the friendly staff to the beautiful interior of the room. We also celebrated with dinner in the Wilde restaurant, and the delicious meal was far above expectations. We were all delighted with how pleased Mum was with her birthday weekend.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank fitzyrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WehManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Westbury, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear fitzyrichard

Thank you for having chosen to stay at The Westbury Hotel Dublin and thank you for having taken the time to review your experience of our renowned establishment on Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is important to us and your feedback is most appreciated indeed.
Comments from our guests allow us to carefully monitor and ensure the very best of standards associated with those of Leading Hotels Of The World.
I do hope that it will not be too long before I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westbury Hotel and thank you once again for your comments and custom.
Kind regards,
Lynsey White
Assistant Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 171 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 stars 2,350 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,448 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Shelbourne Dublin, A Renaissance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,479 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#15 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury

Address: Grafton Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#2 Family Hotel in Dublin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#9 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep. Located just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city's best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, LateRooms, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing