We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quiet rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westbury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westbury Hotel to your Saves list
The Westbury Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grafton St | Dublin 2, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“a quiet rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

we stayed in this hotel and from the moment we arrived to when we left everything was top class.when we checked in the lady informed us we had been upgraded to a suite which was a lovely touch.the room was fantastic ,it even ha a t.v. in the bathroom.Every night there was a choclate left on the bed and the bed turnedown.the breakfast was on of the best I've had with a wide range of food (something to please everyone)and I dare say nobody will ever go hungry here.The lounge in the evening is a lovely place to relax and have a coffee or a drink, it has a very calming feel about it .Overall a really great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Megane17,

Thanking you for leaving us such nice positive review.

I am delighted to read our comment about our facilities and service. We always try to provide the best service ever and to maintain our high standards. I am glad that the extra little touches like the turn down service and chocolates helped to make you stay memorable. I am also delighted that our breakfast had the “wow” factor and that the lounge had a charming and relaxing feeling.

It was a great pleasure to have you stay here at The Westbury and we hope that you will return to stay again soon.

Regards,

Vincent O’ Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,740
    482
    124
    40
    29
See reviews for
366
1,045
109
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Westbury Hotel is a luxury hotel in Dublin. We enjoyed our stay. The service and the food were excellent. It is right in the heart of Dublin. The staff was very attentive to our needs. The only down side was the check in which was rather late in the afternoon. All in all, we liked the hotel and its staff.

Room Tip: If you have a wheelchair make sure there are no steps as there are some on some floors..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Elaine A

I am delighted to read you had such a great stay with us, thank you for reviewing your stay and telling others about your wonderful stay at the Westbury.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I am so happy that we ticked all the right boxes, from our extremely comfortable rooms to our ideal location and our wonderful staff.
I hope we will now be your preferred choice whenever in Dublin.

Thank you for choosing us and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes
Vincent O’ Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Lovely rooms, modern, bright and beautiful decor & great food - we also loved the brasserie/cafe downstairs but best of all the happy and helpful staff just made our stay. Travelling with exuberant 3 year old but felt welcomed and relaxed. A 5* hotel as they all should be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear JennyJones2008,

I was so glad to read your feedback following your recent stay at The Westbury Hotel.

I was delighted that you enjoyed the ambiance of our rooms and I am thrilled that you enjoyed Café Novo along with your 3 year old child.

I am very proud that my team delivered the best levels of service to you and that we met your expectations. As always I will be passing your kind words on to my great team. I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’ Gorman,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

We had two studio suits in this wonderful hotel last month for my family of six. I just walked in from grafton st to book one week in advance for our stay. The reception staff were very professional and absolutely courteous in all their handling of my booking. I already gauged the upcoming stay experience from just that. That was just a fraction of the experience of our stay.
Upon arrival the bell captain, the reception, all staff were just great. The rooms are top class and I have been a guest in palace like hotels elsewhere around the world. The staff at all levels were all attentive, kind, and welcoming I was amazed how a city center hotel can have such service.
The studio suits are spacious and wonderfully appointed with great design and amenities. The bathrooms are first class.
We all enjoyed our stay with key aspect being service as first. The checkout staff even made the experience more exceptional. Checking out at 5.30am and getting happy and attentive staff just sealed our super star experience.
My final word: if in Dublin looking for top and super star service look no further than Westbury. Excellent location and service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Waleed A,

A pleasure to read your review, thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience at the Westbury.

I am thrilled that you had such a super star experience and I am delighted that our service really stood out and exceeded your expectations. We have an exceptionally passionate and enthusiastic team of individuals who truly enjoy being part of our guest’s experiences and simply love what they do. Your wonderful feedback is incredibly motivational for us all and is greatly appreciated, thank you.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and I hope that you will return to stay with us soon.

Best wishes

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I can only describe this hotel as fabulous.
We spend two night exploring Dublin and it was a treat to go back to the hotel, the location is in a perfect location.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, the restaurant was excellent, a breakfast to die for.
We stayed in a room designed for disabled use and I can only say that the bathroom was not to the same standard as other rooms in our party.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Nicolas2,


I am delighted to read you had such a great stay with us, thank you for telling others about your “fabulous” experience at the Westbury.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time in Dublin and that the location was suitable for you to explore Dublin and that you enjoyed your dining experience.

I am sorry to read that there were aspects of your stay that did not reach your expectations. The layout of our bathrooms do vary from room to room and some of them may not work for all our guests. We do however have a variety of rooms and we will be happy to offer you an alternative room type when you next travel to Dublin.

I hope that you can come back and stay with us soon again.

Yours sincerely,


Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Westbury is a really beautiful hotel right in the hustle and bustle of Dublin's Grafton street.
I had a friend meeting me in Dublin from Amsterdam and we were celebrating her 30th birthday. As part of that, I had booked afternoon tea here. I let them know in advance that we were celebrating a special occasion and the fantastic staff went out of their way to make it a really special day: we had a wonderful table with a view of the high street, the service was impeccable and they brought us a little cupcake on a plate that was decorated with happy birthday! We went for the champagne afternoon tea for 36euros which I thought was really good value for money considering some of the other places Ive had tea at. As regards the content of the spread itself, (whilst I hate to say it it)- I found the sandwiches particulary average, but the fruit scones, petit fours and macaroons where to die for! I particularly liked the passionfruit one! In such beautiful surroundings and with such attentive hosts, I would definately recommend spending an afternoon at the Westbury!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear ToxicBuni,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind words following your recent visit to The Westbury for Afternoon Tea.

I am delighted that we made your friend’s birthday celebrations a memorable day and that you enjoyed the little extra treats which helped make the day special. I have noted your comments regarding the sandwiches and I have passed this on to our Executive Chef Thomas so he can address this with his team. I am glad that overall you had a fantastic time and you enjoyed our home made scones, petit fours and delighted that the passion fruit macaroons were a hit with you.

I will pass your comments on to the team for them to enjoy and I hope that you will come back and join us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’ Gorman,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Excellent hotel. Wonderful, friendly service. The staff at all levels are terrific! The small downstairs restaurant is great (try the fish and chips). Also a perfect location for strolling around the heart of the city. Will be back !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Michael J,

I was so glad to read your feedback following your recent stay at The Westbury Hotel.

I was delighted that you enjoyed the brilliant service we provide to our guests and I am glad that you enjoyed Café Novo and that the fish & chips met with your approval.

I am very proud that my team delivered the best levels of service to you and that we met your expectations. As always I will be passing your kind words on to my great team. I do hope that we get the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.


My kindest regards,

Vincent O’ Gorman,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury Hotel

Address: Grafton St | Dublin 2, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#7 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World, and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury Hotel is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep.ocated just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city’s best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jurys Doyle, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.