We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done; 5 star but for lack of pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westbury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Westbury Hotel to your Saves list
The Westbury Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grafton St | Dublin 2, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 175 Hotels in Dublin
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Well done; 5 star but for lack of pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was our last stop after driving round Ireland countryside. What a wonderful oasis of comfort to land in at the end of our journey. The room we stayed in (2 doubles) was large. The furnishings high quality and beautiful decorated throughout the hotel and rooms. Upon arrival we were a little confused as we entered on Clarendon and found no doorman to help us in or valet. This was quickly sorted out and the service from that point on was excellent. The hotel is located proximate to Grafton Street and is within walking distance of just about everything in city centre a tourist would want to see. It is next to Saba, an award winning Thai/Vietnamese restaurant and Bewley's, the historical cafe. The toiletries very nice and they are quite free with the waters and anything you need. The room service prices were exorbitant and the quality was OK but frankly why do room service when you are steps away from everything? Only if you have small children that refuse to leave the room....Wifi is free. The only complaint is there is no pool. For a pool they have an agreement with the health club across Clarendon which is inconvenient as you have to tromp across the street in your suit. But that isn't so bad even in the pooring Irish rain, but rather the 10 euros per person they wish to charge for that. For shame, no 5 star should charge extra for a pool. NB parking is 20 euros a day. Really, a lovely hotel and if you don't care about a pool it is 5 star. PS a huge tour group came in one of the days of our stay and many of them occupied our floor. The team got them in and their luggage organized and whisked into the rooms so quickly it was amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Heavybiztravekker,

Thank you for choosing The Westbury Hotel while visiting Dublin and for reviewing your stay on Trip Advisor.

On behalf of all the team thank you for our very kind comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your room and amenities and our central location to the wonderful array of restaurants bars and shopping areas.

I also appreciate your feedback regarding the pool, however as we do not have a pool on site we do offer the facility from an outside provider, they implement a charge for the use of the pool to us. I realise how these shortcomings can impact on a guest’s experience and I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward, hopefully to welcoming you back the Westbury on your next visit to Dublin.

Yours sincerely,


Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,544
    413
    106
    35
    28
See reviews for
321
913
101
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Returning for a second time in 3 months, this time for a wedding in town. We arrived on a very wet day. The door man came rushing to the taxi with an umbrella and offered help with our luggage. He seemed to genuinely want to do his best to help.

Check in was warm and welcoming. Room was quiet and lovely again. You get what you pay for and to me, this is the best hotel in Dublin. Over 1200 excellent reviews cannot be wrong.

I will definitely recommend The Westbury to anyone and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear CYuenUK,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review on Trip advisor regarding your recent stay at The Westbury Hotel.

I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your return visit to us. I will pass on your words of appreciation to our doormen, concierge and reception teams. Thank you for recognising them they were delighted to have assisted you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westbury the next time your travel plans see you return to Dublin.

Kind regards,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have now had the pleasure to return and stay at the Westbury for one night on business. It is one of my favourite places. The staff are really friendly and helpful, the rooms are fab and the food great. It is in a superb location and when you step outside the hotel you are immediately in the centre of the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Travelelaine,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip advisor following your return visit to us in July.

It is a pleasure to read that our convenient location off Grafton Street was ideal for you.

We were also pleased to know that here at the hotel our team met your high expectations. From all of us here thank you for your kind words.

We hope to welcome you back to The Westbury on your next visit to Dublin and thank you again for your recommendations.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Choose the Westbury Hotel to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. They parked my car, collected our luggage and took it to our room, while we enjoyed a cocktail each in the Marble Bar.John the barman was superb company. He is Swedish with an unsurpassed knowledge of every alcoholic beverage imaginable . For our dinner we dined in the Wilde Restaurant. The food and wine were superb. The staff were very helpful without being overbearing. They also have a great sense of humour.. We ordered breakfast in bed today and a feast duly arrived upon the anointed hour along with complimentary morning paper. Have to say cant wait to return. We shall definitely stay here again. 5* in every way..

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Daviodj M,

Thank you for choosing The Westbury Hotel while visiting Dublin and for reviewing your stay on Trip Advisor.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your recommendations. I have passed your comments on to John in Marble Bar and the rest of the team to enjoy. They were all delighted to have assisted you and thank you for recognising them.

We hope to welcoming you back to The Westbury and we are delighted that we helped make your stay and your anniversary a memorable experience.

Yours sincerely,


Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Gorgeous hotel. My friend and I stayed there for one night during a wee break in Dublin. The best thing about the hotel is probably the location. You are right in the middle of the shops, bars, restaurants etc. The rooms are lovely. Staff make you feel really special. I suppose most people expect that little bit more from a 5 star hotel, and they definitely rose to the mark. Breakfast was probably one of the best I have had. Yummmm! I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear LeahLOO,

Thank you for choosing The Westbury Hotel while visiting Dublin and for reviewing your stay on Trip Advisor.

It is a pleasure to read that our convenient location off Grafton Street with our close proximity to shopping areas, restaurants and bars was ideal for you.

We were also pleased to know that here at the hotel our team met your high expectations. From all of us here thank you for your kind words.

We hope to welcome you back to The Westbury on your next visit to Dublin and thank you again for your recommendations.

Kind Regards,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were there for three nights recently. All I can say is what a fantastic experience my husband and I had staying in this location. When we checked in we were assisted by Adrienne, who was very knowledgeable about the about the area and took the time to answer ALL my questions this being my first time to Dublin (there were many). Working with her started this experience off on the right foot, thank you Adrienne! Our room was near the elevators and I was nervous about the possibility of noise because I am a light sleeper. However, I can honestly say that I was not disturbed on any of the nights by the proximity at all. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the hotel was spotless. Also, we didn't have a car and the location of the hotel was perfect. It was near everything! I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be staying here the next time I get to Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Beverlyhillseast,

Thank you for choosing The Westbury Hotel while visiting Dublin and for reviewing your stay on Trip Advisor.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your recommendations. I have passed your comments on to Adrianne and the rest of the team to enjoy. They were all delighted to have assisted you and thank you for recognising them.

We hope to welcoming you back to The Westbury and we are delighted that we helped make your time in Dublin a memorable experience. Thank you again for your review.

Yours sincerely,

Vincent O’Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands,UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a lovely couple of days in a well appointed room. Our bed was very comfortable and the facilities in the room..nespresso ,towelling gowns, huge bath sheets and lovely biscuits and chocolates were wonderful. Helpful concierge and room staff. Really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr-Vincent-OGorman, General Manager at The Westbury Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Oventry,

Thank you for choosing The Westbury Hotel recently and for reviewing your stay on Trip Advisor.

We are passionate about offering each guest a personal service and so we were delighted to read you thought so highly of us. We believe that a memorable experience starts with a team that is dedicated to handling every detail. I have passed on your very kind words to the team to enjoy.

We very much appreciated your review and thank you for your recommendations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westbury and we are delighted that we helped make your stay a memorable experience.

Regards,

Vincent O'Gorman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbury Hotel

Address: Grafton St | Dublin 2, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#3 Family Hotel in Dublin
#4 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westbury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of The Leading Hotels of the World, and rejuvenated by a multi-million euro refurbishment, The Westbury Hotel is an urban retreat with Dublin city on its doorstep.ocated just off Grafton Street, in the heart of Dublin, this stylish 5-star hotel provides easy access to the city’s best entertainment and business districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, LHW, Jurys Doyle, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westbury Hotel Dublin
Westbury Dublin
Hotel Westbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westbury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.